Old 28th April 2009, 09:49   #1
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Computer lags on song change.

Hey,

I've got this problem that my pc lags a few seconds when changing a song. I've already increased the song buffers.
What else can I do to stop this ?

it happens with both my 23354 track playlist and a 63 track playlist.

Can it be caused by my library containing 23354 songs ?

Thank you for your time and attention, Xeross
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2009, 15:20   #2
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Sorry for double posting but this is really annoying during games etc
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2009, 13:26   #3
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Bump
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2009, 14:59   #4
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
bump
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 00:58   #5
deags
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
yep i get the same thing. my music is on a different hdd and everything. It's not like my PC is bad. Lags really bad on song change(like right fricken now while i'm typing). been doing it for a while now. it happens if i'm just playing 1 song. can someone help.

Vista x64
deags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 09:16   #6
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
My Specs/Info:

OS: Vista Ultimate x64
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 5200+ 2.70Ghz
RAM: 4.00GB
Music is on another hdd then windows but it's a built in one so shouldn't matter.
Music library contains 29000 Tracks.
It even lags if i stop and start a single song or a radio stream.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 10:01   #7
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
full uninstall and reinstall
Information required when posting

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 10:02   #8
deags
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
I just did a clean install(backed up library). http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#clean

song changes are much quicker. i also ticked wait 5 seconds before tracking items. Settings -> Media Library -> Local Media.

Reinstalled my plugins (gen_msn, ml_audioscrobbler, oddcastv3, ipod support). It's alot quicker(doesn't look like it was my plugins doing it). If I try to skip forward like 4 songs by pressing the fast forward button then it's a bit slow(maybe one second but no lag like before where stuff just stopped). Heaps better than before.

It looks like my setup is much like yours. Vista Ultimate x64, AMD 9550 X4, 4GB Ram. My library is 31000.

Try that xeross and let me know how it goes.
deags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 10:17   #9
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
i cant find the Settings -> Media Library -> Local Media. wait 5 seconds, i'm using the dutch language version.
What tickbox is it i got 7 which number should be that option.

After a clean install it did decrease but it's still there.
i'll try increasing my buffers.

Edit: Still lagging 1-5 seconds
Edit2: It seems lag is tied to buffer length, experimental anti overload also makes it worse, now set the buffer to 400/200/200 ms
Edit3: Still lagging 3-5 seconds
Edit4: Wait I'm playing wow, but that shouldn't affect it right ?
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 10:38   #10
deags
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
nah wow shouldn't cause much lag. the only thing different on mine is that 5 second thingo. i unticked it and it did not make a difference.

Just checking you deleted the winamp folder after you uninstalled? (kill elevator.exe in task manger if it wont delete)
deags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2009, 10:42   #11
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
i followed the clean install instructions. deleted everything.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2009, 17:50   #12
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Guys I just thought of this, can this be caused by a usb sound card ?
Edit: just tested still there with my normal sound card.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 13:34   #13
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Bump
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 15:14   #14
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Bump
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 14:48   #15
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
So I guess I'm the only one with this problem ?
Great.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2009, 13:10   #16
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Ok, BUMP.
I'll pay 5€ for the golden tip.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2009, 23:29   #17
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,121
Quit you stupid bumping and follow the instructions given to you.

(some people are soo stupid sometimes, it's mind boggling.)

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs
Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 08:27   #18
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Already had computer specs in the thread, I'll add the rest.

OS: Vista Ultimate x64 SP1
Motherboard: Asus M3N78CM
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 5200+ 2.70Ghz
RAM: 4.00GB
GFX Card: nVidia GTX 260
Winamp Version: 5.552
Install Type: Full
Sound Card: Hercules DJ Console MK2 (Through USB, Also tested on-board sound card).

And yes I completely forgot that I had to add these, My apologies for that.
Attached Files
File Type: zip data.zip (16.5 KB, 157 views)
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 08:44   #19
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
1. Remove all third-party plugins, including
Streamripper For Winamp [gen_sripper.dll]
And see if the issue persists

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2009, 08:58   #20
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Already had it before installing streamripper will uninstall all to see if it works.

Ok I removed Streamripper, ML_ORB and One for Nunz.
What else is 3rd party ?
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2009, 11:52   #21
deags
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
yeah my problem seems to have worked its way back. trying foobar... it's using 170meg of ram atm. :/
deags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2009, 15:11   #22
xeross
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to xeross
Winamp is the best music player I ever tried but this wants me to change music player. however cant find any as good as this one.
xeross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 00:00   #23
deags
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
well i found a good alternative last night. The KMPlayer.

Does everything i want bar one thing. It does msn song title, ipod support, last.fm.

I tried foobar it's crap. Was using 170meg ram. Library was shocking even with plugins.
deags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2018, 15:10   #24
maytinhanphat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Quit you stupid bumping and follow the instructions given to you: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#specs

___________________________________________________________________________
http://maytinhanphat.vn/
maytinhanphat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump