MPEG (2) Layer 3 Audio Files won't play?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • deathbunnynoir
    • Jan 2013

MPEG (2) Layer 3 Audio Files won't play?

I have several audiobooks (and a few mp3 tunes) that I can't get Winamp to play. Oddly, though, IrfanView plays it just fine. I'd rather use Winamp, though.

I attempted to research it but couldn't find an answer.

I tried at first downloading lots of codecs and then finally unintalled Winamp completely and reinstalled it with no extra codecs. Still nothing.

When I right click in Windows 7 (64 bit) and read "properties" I see it is an MPEG Layer 3 Audio File.

File info in Winamp says this:
    Payload Size: 9356256 bytes
    Header found at: 27284 bytes
    Length: 2339 seconds
    MPEG-2 layer 3
    32 kbps, approx. 89964 frames
    22050 Hz Mono

I've tried to rename the file .wav, .m4a, mpeg...
  • MrSinatra
    Forum King
    • Dec 2004

i'm no expert, but only mpeg1 layer 3 is a true mp3.

i don't really know much about mpeg2. the link seems to suggest it can contain differing audio formats.

try playing the file with VLC or examining it with gspot. it might just be that some extra codec is all thats needed.
    PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
    --
    BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
    Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
    Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing

Comment

• deathbunnynoir
      • Jan 2013

Vlc

Thanks for your response. I downloaded VLC and the files play fine with that program. I also downloaded GSpot, but have no idea how to use it I did try and get a proposed solution, but I am unsure how to apply the output. I've attached an image of it.

Thanks again for responding.
      Attached Files

Comment

• MrSinatra
        Forum King
        • Dec 2004

i was hoping someone else who knew more would respond by now. hopefully someone still will.