Old 17th October 2003, 05:12   #121
ctkatz8086
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: louisville, ky home of the CARDINALS
Posts: 401
believe it or not i have another problem. every skin works.
except one.
mmd3. i downloaded a fresh copy from the website. i have restarted and re-installed several times. and i did nothing inbetween choosing one skin to mmd3. everytime i start it and everytime it crashes. any ideas?

ctkatz8086 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:15   #122
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by wakingrufus
also the smart playlist feature theyve got is pretty good.
Go in the library, click the big "library" button, select "add new view", type a query, voila, you have your "smart" playlist.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:18   #123
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
But, afaik, there's never been an 80%. Whether there can be or not is for someone more in the know to answer.
We can do any scaling we want. I may add a "custom" entry in the menu if I get around to it.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:19   #124
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Good point nant. I honestly didn't have an answer, which is why I didn't post anything.

Main observation with regards to scaling is:

In WA3, scaling options are: 50, 75, 100, 125, 150, 200, 400%

In WA5, scaling options are: 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350%

But, afaik, there's never been an 80%. Whether there can be or not is for someone more in the know to answer.
In Winamp3, however, I believe you had the option to drag the skin to your desired scale, no?

Edit: Francis, please do.
YtseJam is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:26   #125
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Quote:
Originally posted by nant
In Winamp3, however, I believe you had the option to drag the skin to your desired scale, no?
Only on skins which support it.
eg. in WA3, MMD3 main window can't be resized by dragging, but Default can.
Same in WA5, MMD3 main window can't be resized by dragging, but Modern can.
Quote:
Edit: Francis, please do.
ditto
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:29   #126
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
The modern skin can only be stretched in the sides, not in the corner for full skin stretching.

YtseJam is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:32   #127
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Another question, can I stop the video/vis window opening animation like how I can stop the EQ animation? Couldn't find the option.

And why the hell can't I delete my post not even a few seconds after posting it... Wanted to add this to my previous post.

YtseJam is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:49   #128
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Quote:
Originally posted by nant
The modern skin can only be stretched in the sides, not in the corner for full skin stretching.
Another good point.
You can resize from the corner only when video/avs is open in main window. Naturally, this only resizes the width/height of video/avs section, whereas the height of main & eq sections remains the same (only width is adjusted).

Of course, it depends on the skin, eg. you can resize WA3 Default.wal main window to any size in WA5 via dragging the corner...


Re: video/avs animation
Main menu -> Options -> Winamp Modern -> Drawer:
Uncheck "animate"
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 05:53   #129
shabaviz55
Banned
 
shabaviz55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Arak, Iran
Posts: 639
Send a message via Yahoo to shabaviz55
Fantastic. Very cool I love this released.
I can't wait for the final!!!
shabaviz55 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 06:01   #130
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
great work, winamp guys... i'm really loving all the little stuff you guys added.

here's my one suggestion for now. would it be possible to get access to video settings (changing brightness, contrast, hue, etc..). all my videos appear dark in the player, even with my gamma and monitor brightness turned all the way up. that's pretty much the only thing stopping me from completely switching over to winamp as a media player.
inthegray is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 06:17   #131
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
it sounds a lot better... or is it just me?
Trigear is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 06:44   #132
WomanOfHeart
Major Dudette
 
WomanOfHeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere no one can find me...in my own head.
Posts: 978
I don't think it's just you, Trigear. I think it sounds better, too! This is awesome work, guys! I absolutely love it!

WomanOfHeart is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 07:02   #133
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Say hello to the placebo effect

(seriously, the playback core is unchanged since 2.9, it is all in your head)

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 07:03   #134
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
that's what i thought, but i SWEAR i'm hearing a lot that i didn't hear before.

edit: but i still can't use the eq on cd audio
Trigear is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 07:20   #135
Khaine
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 171
Send a message via ICQ to Khaine
Sweeet !

But I'll wait for the final to be released

Khaine is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 07:28   #136
WildcardZ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to WildcardZ Send a message via AIM to WildcardZ
I miss the multiple playlist option from Winamp 3. Any chance of this getting added ?
WildcardZ is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 07:54   #137
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by nant
Another question, can I stop the video/vis window opening animation like how I can stop the EQ animation? Couldn't find the option.
Menu->Options->Modern Skin->Drawer->Animate

for the EQ drawer, look at the config tab, "enable config drawer animation" (this will be added into the menu as well).

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 08:07   #138
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Hmmm...I'm befuddled.

I've tried everything I can think of, but the window positions just won't stay.

They're getting written correctly when I exit, but when I restart, they apparently aren't being read and implemented.

Also interesting is that if I close one of the windows (without exiting) and then reopen, the positions aren't remembered, so I don't even have to exit and restart for the problem to appear.

Any more ideas Francis?

I'm using WinXP SP1, with 1GB RAM and a P4 3.0.

Thanks in advance,

Dougieha

BTW, good job on this...WA5 really rocks.

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 08:11   #139
dougieha
Senior Member
 
dougieha's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 236
Hmmm...another idea.

Can someone attach their studio.xnf file, please? I want to compare mine and see if there is something strange there.

Dougieha

My skins: Sony MPFX3-WA5 (Just for WA 5.x!!) and Sony MPFX3.
dougieha is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 09:00   #140
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Quote:
Originally posted by zootm
edit: ADVANCED TITLE FORMATTING!
OMG YUS! That's something I've been after for MP3's for yonkeys years!

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 09:17   #141
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by WildcardZ
I miss the multiple playlist option from Winamp 3. Any chance of this getting added ?
See the Playlists Node in the Library (Ctrl+L)

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 09:27   #142
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Sometimes the scroll on my mouse will only effect the volume when I want it to scroll the playlist. I don't know what it is I've done to make it do that though I seemed to be the default when I installed it. Is there somewhere special you're supposed to click to switch? (excluding the playlist where I'm currently clicking) Hmm, just left it for 20 secs or so and now it works :confised:.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 09:53   #143
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,998
Quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Winamp3 components are not supported.
Yet or never?

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 10:09   #144
kingo'mountain
in need of banned aid
 
kingo'mountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: over the rainb... uh... nevermind
Posts: 2,714
this might have been mentioned some posts earlier, but registrations can be shared over the net, therefor... nullsoft/AOL will lose money..

you have any security leves for this?
kingo'mountain is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 10:10   #145
MaxPayne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3
In Media Library, the Album pane, I rather see the columns Album, Year instead of Tracks and the abilty to sort by Year. Is it possible?
MaxPayne is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 10:21   #146
Viper007Bond
Major Dude
 
Viper007Bond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Portland, OR Life: None
Posts: 1,054
Send a message via ICQ to Viper007Bond Send a message via AIM to Viper007Bond Send a message via Yahoo to Viper007Bond
Yay! No more illegal... uh, yeah.

- Viper007Bond | Viper007Bond.com
Viper007Bond is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 11:02   #147
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
First of, let me say Thanks for letting us participate in the party.

That said, there a couple of things I'd like.
1) An option/ button that allows us to Rescan / Refresh the library instead of having to go to preferences and then rescan each time. If its going to effect the skins, it could just as well be put into the Menus or allow the use of the F% key.

2) Winamp Deskband!!!! I know Lord Darius has done a wondeful job, but if it could be integrated... welll kewl.. The winshade mode of the Modern skin is real good and could be used in the deskband, ie. when any skin is minimized, if the deskband option is enabled, the Modern skin winshade could act as the deskband.

3) Transparency... that option is nice, but would be nice if it had those mouse over setting like some of the plugins have! The TransparentFX did a nice job with the 2.9 series, but gives problems with the 5 series (for eg. the playlist window moves leaving the actual list behind when the PL window is moved)

The new menus seemed more logically arranged.... just that it will take a lil time to get used to.

Cheerios
Paparazzi is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 11:16   #148
Russ
Mostly Harmless
(Alumni)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Vie
Yet or never?
Never.

For long you live and high you fly, but only if you ride the tide, and balanced on the biggest wave you race towards an early grave.
|Musicbrainz|Audioscrobbler|last.fm|
Russ is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 11:18   #149
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by Russ
Never.
Not exactly true.
I hear that ff_*.dll plugins are planned, which will be able to expose other bits of wasabi.

Wasabi is dead, long live wasabi.

But as far as your old .wacs go, not much chance.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 11:21   #150
Russ
Mostly Harmless
(Alumni)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 2,319
WACs may be supported, Winamp3 components won't be (it would require an almighty hack).

For long you live and high you fly, but only if you ride the tide, and balanced on the biggest wave you race towards an early grave.
|Musicbrainz|Audioscrobbler|last.fm|
Russ is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 12:00   #151
Germ
rules all things
 
Germ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,149
Russ, Don't speak for something you don't understand. "Mr. iTunes is better than all."
Germ is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 12:15   #152
rpeterclark
Major Dude
(Reviewer)
 
rpeterclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,388
Excellent! The beta is awesome and the modern skin is sweet! Good job bringing on Sven to whip that up.
rpeterclark is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:15   #153
Mr_007
Banned
 
Mr_007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,838
Wa5 has modern winamp and classic winamp.
very great idea for this software.
Mr_007 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:17   #154
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
The modern skin crashes winamp for me...
I don't know if all freeform skins do our not, but the packaged one does...
anubis2003 is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:19   #155
Kix@$$
Junior Member
 
Kix@$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Putten, The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Winamp 5 rox!
Very cool program, realy!

But (only 1 but )

If i trow all my MP3's in a playlist (in the media libary -> playlists) and after that i click on a song in that playlist, Winamp wants to load the whole playlist into the playlist editor. But...
My Winamp hangs... I think it's getting all the song titles and from 8500 MP3's that's a lot.
Kix@$$ is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:39   #156
mitchellw
Junior Member
 
mitchellw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
I love it. so fast and sexy. too bad I spent seven months learning how to make winamp3 skins
mitchellw is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:42   #157
GarbagePoe
Senior Member
 
GarbagePoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: |||| ||||||||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||
Posts: 459
Send a message via AIM to GarbagePoe
Winamp 3 skins work with it.

i close my eyes to stay blind
GarbagePoe is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:42   #158
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,063
Quote:
Originally posted by mitchellw
I love it. so fast and sexy. too bad I spent seven months learning how to make winamp3 skins
Why, when WA5 natively supports WA3 skin?, carry on making them, what's the difference
Mr Jones is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 13:52   #159
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by kingo'mountain
this might have been mentioned some posts earlier, but registrations can be shared over the net, therefor... nullsoft/AOL will lose money..

you have any security leves for this?
That aren't making _any_ money now, so any registration is profit(or at least, less loss) for them. They know there will be cracks, but Joe Averageuser won't care about finding cracks, and that's the type of person that'll be likely to register pro. Us advanced users mostly already have programs to do the stuff that they're offering in pro (at least the stuff they're offering right now).

-=Gonzotek-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 17th October 2003, 14:35   #160
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Quote:
Originally posted by Kix@$$
If i throw all my MP3's in a playlist (in the media libary -> playlists) and after that i click on a song in that playlist, Winamp wants to load the whole playlist into the playlist editor. But...
My Winamp hangs... I think it's getting all the song titles and from 8500 MP3's that's a lot.
Prefs -> Library -> Library Options tab:
Uncheck: Play all playlist items on doubleclick

Depending on processor power, maybe also adjust:
Prefs -> Titles -> Metadata Reading setting
DJ Egg is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump