Old 21st January 2004, 18:05   #1
raidenecu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to raidenecu
Winamp 5.01 Error message

could use a little help here, getting this error message on windows xp w/ sp1 on a machine using AMD Athlon 1.2 Ghz, 512 mb of RAM.




now this is the first time that I've seen this error message, and it appears with every free installation file that winamp 5.01 has. I've looked around on the message boards and there's a lot of people who say that winamp 5.01 can't get that error message, or that if it does, then its not an official copy of winamp 5.01

considering that I downloaded all the install files for 5.01 off the winamp site, I'd venture that that they are official releases.

So, does anyone have a real answer as to what do i need to do to get rid of this error and enjoy the experience that is winamp 5.01? or am is my machine just defying the laws of physics, computer science, and mathematics?

thanks
Raiden
raidenecu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 18:14   #2
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
That error message

CANNOT

repeat

CANNOT

happen with an offical build of Winamp 5.

I think what may be happening is that you've installed 5, not uninstalled 3, and are still inadvertantly running 3.

HTH

-j

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 18:15   #3
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
a version winamp3 avaliable on the winamp website BEFORE winamp 5 was released had the build number 488d.

The .exe of this program was called studio.exe.

Winamp3 had a meta-text databasing system. Winamp 5s database works differently.

That, my friend is a winamp3 error message.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 18:16   #4
beanboy89
(Major Dude)
isn't very custom
 
beanboy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,004
Have you had Winamp3 installed? The Error Message looks like it says somthing about "studio-488d" which is a Winamp3 file. You might be having a conflict between Winamp3 and Winamp 5. You should do a clean installation of Winamp. Read this http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=161361
[edit] Looks like I was too late in posting, as the other replies also stated what I said. [/edit]
beanboy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 18:23   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
[edit] Doh! Not as late as me. lol [/edit]


Ach. doublepost

Is Winamp3 still installed?
Are you trying to install Winamp 5 in the same dir as Winamp3?
When/where does this error message occur?

I've explained everything else in the reply to the crosspost.

Read this sticky thread in full before carrying out the instructions for a clean install.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 19:25   #6
raidenecu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to raidenecu
wrong error message

sorry I posted the wrong error message

here's the one that comes up with 5.01

(and no, there's no other winamp installed)

Quote:
Assertion failed

Expression: f!=NULL
File: C:\dev\Studio\Studio\font.cpp
Line: 131
what is this error, and how do I fix it?

sorry for the mixup earlier
raidenecu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 19:30   #7
beanboy89
(Major Dude)
isn't very custom
 
beanboy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Assertion failed

Expression: f!=NULL
File: C:\dev\Studio\Studio\font.cpp
Line: 131
The error message still looks like it could be linked to Winamp3 because it states Studio which is a Winamp3 executable file.
beanboy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 19:31   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yeah, right. That's more like it

Sticky: Troubleshooters / Full Uninstall -> Reinstall procedure. Read This First!

Assertion Failed Error (arial.ttf)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=159882


[edit] No. studio-488d relates to Winamp3. Wasabi Studio is still used in the modern skin engine support for Winamp 5 (gen_ff.dll), and studio.xnf file still stores all modern skin settings [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 19:58   #9
raidenecu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to raidenecu
more info

this happened on a machine that just recieved a format and clean install of xp with no other media player on it other than window's, and no other version of winamp. and yeah, it was the same error message as the one I posted up above, the assertion one.
raidenecu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 20:49   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
So, have you fixed it yet?
Did you follow the link I posted?

Read my post further down in that thread, re: arial.ttf
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 07:32   #11
wherrett
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tex-ass
Posts: 1
Same Here

Windows 2003, very clean install.
Same dialogue:

Assertion failed

Expression: f!=NULL
File: C:\dev\Studio\Studio\font.cpp
Line: 131
wherrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 13:41   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@ wherrett

Please could you run the following app
and post the results back to us.

http://bluemars.planet-d.net/temp/seekfontdir.exe


Simply download the seekfontdir.exe file to any folder on your hard drive,
then run it (open / double click)

This will automatically generate a file called nsdebug.txt in the C:\ root dir

c:\nsdebug.txt

Could you then please post the contents of that file here.

btw, this is important.

Thank you.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2004, 13:51   #13
Francis
French Admin
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally posted by beanboy89
The error message still looks like it could be linked to Winamp3 because it states Studio which is a Winamp3 executable file.
no, 'studio/studio' is part of our tree structure for winamp5 gen_ff.dll.

Having 488d in there however DOES mean that the error isn't a winamp5 error tho, since it means that what gave the error was compiled out of a wasabi sdk v488d, rather than out of our latest internal wasabi source tree.

Francis.

Bluemars - Music For The Space Traveller
Francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump