Old 20th June 2011, 12:41   #1
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
No individual volume for Winamp in Windows 7 Volume Mixer

Gotten tired of manually turning the volume knob on the speaker.
Need to do so as Winamp is a lot louder then Media Player Classic on my PC.

Thought that Winamp should have an individual volume slider in the Windows 7 volume mixer but it doesn't.

Is there anything to change in Winamp to make the individual volume slider appear in the Windows 7 volume mixer?

Thanks

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2011, 12:46   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Winamp should appear as a separate item in the system's volume mixer - have tried it with the Directsound and the Waveout plug-ins and it showed in both cases. Could be an issue with the audio drivers of the device you're using though i was under the impression that Windows will automatically work out if it can show a volume controller for a program.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2011, 14:13   #3
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Just checking - You have got Winamp open when you look in the mixer ???

I do remember not seeing it on one occasion, restarting Winamp sorted it.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2011, 18:32   #4
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Yup, Winamp is open.

Tried both when playing and not playing music.
Tried Directsound plugin with the different options in the Device tab.
Tried restarting Winamp many times.
Don't have Waveout plugin installed.

It seems to be only Winamp.
Miranda IM, Windows Media Player and Media Player Classic all have their individual volume slider appearing.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2011, 06:38   #5
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Could be my drivers not playing nice with Winamp perhaps.
My soundcard is the Asus Xonar DX.

Tried setting a volume than turn off volume control in the Directsound plugin but it seem to jump back to the master volume on stop-play.
Don't like volume control as sometime an accidental scroll of the mouse wheel can change the volume.

What I do now is to on the EQ and turn down the preamp.
Not sure if it will affect quality but the volume is down.

Ok found that in the Replay Gain tab theres "Adjustment for files without Replay Gain".
Now using that instead of the EQ preamp.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
individual, mixer, slider, volume, windows 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump