Old 28th September 2006, 16:10   #201
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
This version works, no more crashes. Thanks.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2006, 22:11   #202
ankohler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Album list now works like a charm, almost...

I really like the cache-function, but you have to integrate a function, that makes the cachefile only save, if the user says so or if you do a full scan via "reload list".
Otherwise the saving is painfully slow everytime you close winamp, although i think it isn't necessary to change the cachefile on every exit. At least make it only save if the cachefile has changed!

Thank you, Keep up the great work!!!!!!!!!
ankohler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2006, 13:22   #203
Lion12
Senior Member
 
Lion12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany Markings: The Cheshire Cat
Posts: 168
2.06 final

Quote:
Originally posted by ankohler
I really like the cache-function, but you have to integrate a function, that makes the cachefile only save, if the user says so or if you do a full scan via "reload list".
Otherwise the saving is painfully slow everytime you close winamp, although i think it isn't necessary to change the cachefile on every exit. At least make it only save if the cachefile has changed!
Whoooot! You have changed this in 2.06 final release, have you? AL really works like charm now.

one big MR.GREEN and keep up good work

Good luck with AL unicode support - I'm already curious about that.

No, I'm not Lion King - neither related by marriage!
bookmarks: Joonas | DrO | shane.h
discussion bookmarks: DL | AL | JTFE | TRAP | Toaster | AWA | SUI | MlTree
Lion12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2006, 15:58   #204
MertcanKaya1991
Member
 
MertcanKaya1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TÃœRKÄ°YE
Posts: 83
Safai your plugin looks wonderful but i can't use it i put my mp3 in one folder and your album list shows like there is only one album. Does any options to set your plugin to read tags to show artist-album. if there wasn't an option like that can you do that for next versions of album list? Please help me(
MertcanKaya1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2006, 16:23   #205
shakey_snake
Forum Domo
 
shakey_snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Everyone, get over here for the picture!
Posts: 4,313
If all your music is in one folder, why not just use the ML?
CoverView necessitates directory sorting since it uses folder.jpg's

And if everything's properly tagged then it doesn't take that long to sort out even a large music collection.


elevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladyelevatorladylevitateme
shakey_snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2006, 16:37   #206
MertcanKaya1991
Member
 
MertcanKaya1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TÃœRKÄ°YE
Posts: 83
Because i want to see my album covers like musicmatch or other media players. if they can do that why album list can't do.
MertcanKaya1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 07:00   #207
byblo
Member
 
byblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 88
Re: 2.06 final

Quote:
Originally posted by Lion12
Whoooot! You have changed this in 2.06 final release, have you? AL really works like charm now.

one big MR.GREEN and keep up good work

Good luck with AL unicode support - I'm already curious about that.
I guess you are wrong, nothing have changed about caching, and it still saved (the actually selected) when exiting winamp.

edit : to Safai : could you please post the actual 2.06 source code ? I'd like to give a hand for cache functions and this issue.
byblo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 14:28   #208
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
^ yes, nothing had changed.

The source code is in cvs with tag v2-06. I will (had, 2 headers) check in v2.07 source pretty soon, got the frontend sort of done, still need to work on the backend, tons of work there...

http://sourceforge.net/cvs/?group_id=66663

I use http://www.tortoisecvs.org/ for my source control needs...

Have FUN!!!!
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 15:35   #209
byblo
Member
 
byblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 88
Thank you for links! Sourceforge browsing is always an opaque mystery to me
byblo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 17:48   #210
Lion12
Senior Member
 
Lion12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany Markings: The Cheshire Cat
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally posted by Safai
^ yes, nothing had changed.
Yep - ok. Just to clarify my happenstance: A dodgy 3rd party plugin caused Winamp to crash before AL cache could be saved. That's why winamp closed abruptly. I would call this a happy accident.

No, I'm not Lion King - neither related by marriage!
bookmarks: Joonas | DrO | shane.h
discussion bookmarks: DL | AL | JTFE | TRAP | Toaster | AWA | SUI | MlTree
Lion12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 23:41   #211
Psichmich
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57
thank you very much...
Psichmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2006, 00:02   #212
Hayden_54
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 65
hey safai,
Thanks for the great plugin - it would have to be the most useful add-on to winamp that I have.

I see you added support for the MSN Now playing feature. Glad to see that it arranges by [artist] - [track] and clears on pause. However the one thing holding me back from ditching my separate msn plugin is an option to disable for videos

Hope you can add that in to complete the MSN support.
Hayden_54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2006, 00:38   #213
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
Re: Re: 2.06 final

Quote:
Originally posted by byblo
I guess you are wrong, nothing have changed about caching, and it still saved (the actually selected) when exiting winamp.

edit : to Safai : could you please post the actual 2.06 source code ? I'd like to give a hand for cache functions and this issue.
Hi guys, sorry for the delay, here is a build with the changes by byblo... not tested much though...

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...mListv206a.exe
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2006, 01:06   #214
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
And here is the first build of 2.07... still only got the interface work done... none of the backend stuff is done yet...

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...stv207b300.exe
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:36   #215
onkelandy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
GREAT! But the link doesn't seem to work :-(
onkelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2006, 15:51   #216
byblo
Member
 
byblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally posted by onkelandy
GREAT! But the link doesn't seem to work :-(
Yes it seem that sourceforge know some problems at this time. Here you have some direct links in waiting :

AlbumListv206a.exe
AlbumListv207b300.exe
byblo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2006, 12:11   #217
Lion12
Senior Member
 
Lion12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Germany Markings: The Cheshire Cat
Posts: 168
2.06a

Quote:
Originally posted by Safai
Hi guys, sorry for the delay, here is a build with the changes by byblo... not tested much though...

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...mListv206a.exe
Thank you for this byblo. So now it writes out cachefile if it has changed - but still on exiting winamp? Beside this it is much better now.


One report to Safai though:

rightclick column header -> Sort list by album name
and
rightclick column header -> Sort list by genre
is not working for me.
(XPSP2 / WA 5.3a / AL V2.06 and V2.06a)

The rest of the sorting actions are working as expected. Can someone reproduce this?

No, I'm not Lion King - neither related by marriage!
bookmarks: Joonas | DrO | shane.h
discussion bookmarks: DL | AL | JTFE | TRAP | Toaster | AWA | SUI | MlTree
Lion12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2006, 17:42   #218
byblo
Member
 
byblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 88
Re: 2.06a

Quote:
Originally posted by Lion12
Thank you for this byblo. So now it writes out cachefile if it has changed - but still on exiting winamp? Beside this it is much better now.


One report to Safai though:

rightclick column header -> Sort list by album name
and
rightclick column header -> Sort list by genre
is not working for me.
(XPSP2 / WA 5.3a / AL V2.06 and V2.06a)

The rest of the sorting actions are working as expected. Can someone reproduce this?
Yes, cache still saved when exiting winamp as before, but only if detected a change after using one of these functions : Quick Scan(*.dat), Reload List(*.dat), Refresh Item(*.dat) or Getting cover for item(*.ilc. internal function when a cover is refreshed).


About your right click column header issue, I have it too.
byblo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2006, 03:29   #219
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
About the right-click sort items... for some reason the handlers for them are missing! either i deleted them by mistake or they were never implemented...
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2006, 11:16   #220
onkelandy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 19
I still can't download the new version -> "File could not be read"-error :-(
onkelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2006, 11:52   #221
MertcanKaya1991
Member
 
MertcanKaya1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TÃœRKÄ°YE
Posts: 83
At last i use this plugin. Thanks for iTunes. it has an option to organize folders with using artist and album names. Album list rocks.
MertcanKaya1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 01:50   #222
klowndes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Feature Request:

Most of the time I'm listening to a playlist on shuffle. It would be cool if there was an option to automatically turn off shuffle when I select an album to play from album list.

Thanks,
Ryan
klowndes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 04:47   #223
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
Quote:
Originally posted by klowndes
Feature Request:

Most of the time I'm listening to a playlist on shuffle. It would be cool if there was an option to automatically turn off shuffle when I select an album to play from album list.

Thanks,
Ryan
yes is there a way to queue the files into jtfe? you wouldnt need to turn shuffle on and off.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2006, 22:26   #224
klowndes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 19
One more suggestion: search. It would be great if there was a search field up top where you could search by artist/song/album and have the album covers narrow to the search results.

Thanks,
Ryan
klowndes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2006, 14:37   #225
martin.deimos
Android/UI Development
 
martin.deimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,242
Send a message via ICQ to martin.deimos Send a message via AIM to martin.deimos Send a message via Yahoo to martin.deimos
woot, that would rock!!

WebSite: www.skinconsortium.com - Community for Userinterface Design & Coding
Skins: Click Here
martin.deimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 14:52   #226
MJ1932
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Hi all, my first post.

Loving winamp, but.... can't install Albumlist at all. Tried v2.06 and beta, here and on sourceforge - get "Cannot install gen-m3 dll." or something similar.

Any help appreciated - am by no means a teccy (understating hugely)...Have Winamp 5.31 pro, Windows XP SP2.

Thanks - hope someone can help, looks like my ideal plugin.
MJ1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 17:53   #227
MJ1932
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Hi again,

Up and running, after a sterile re-install. Thanks Safai, a lovely piece of work.
MJ1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2007, 16:39   #228
Daedala
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
Albumlist doesn't seem to be able to find directories that are written in foreign script.
I let it scan for files which have only kanji in the titles, directory names are in kanji as well, it doesn't list them at all.
Daedala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2007, 12:21   #229
pechorin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
see songs?

hi safai, i love that plugin and it makes my winamp great, but i miss, i think as many other people, the possibility of seeing the tracks inside albums.

are you considering the split plugin with albums in one side and the songs inside it in another one?

it would be perfect in next version.

thanks and keep upgrading!
pechorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 13:33   #230
richard harbord
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
album list 2 feature request

I like album list 2 a lot but I don't have many covers...

could AL2 find the album covers for my albums like the news box in media library does and save them in the music folder along with the mp3's as this would be good

also is it possible to save album covers found by the media library news box?
richard harbord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2007, 03:49   #231
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
Okay, after a few months, here is a "little" progress, probably broke more stuff that it actually fixes.

Mainly changed the file readers to support getting unicode info (although not used) and scanning unicode paths (sub-folders only, not thru config).

Anyway, for those who are 'brave', here is the new beta.

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...stv207b306.exe
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 06:41   #232
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally posted by Safai
Anyway, for those who are 'brave', here is the new beta.

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...stv207b306.exe
very good news! just installed, very soon I'll send the feedback

thank you Safai
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 10:10   #233
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
a bug (I think...)

Winamp 5.35 & AlbumList 2.07 build 306:

In AlbumList preferences, the Always sort files by filename option is enabled, but playing an album the order in incorrect (I use artist - track # - title pattern, so alphabetic order equals track order)

with Winamp 5.35 & AlbumList 2.07 build 300 no problem

PS: the problem occurs either upgrading AlbumList, either fresh installing it

bye
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 13:53   #234
Made in China
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
I really love your work, Safai, and untill AL 2.05 the plugin worked great.
But when I switch to 2.06, the plugin just seems to skip specific albums, let's say, a 2002 self-titled album by Theory of a Deadman. The whole album is in mp3 format, and everytime I rescan or reinstall, it just skips it.
It also happens with a multiple CD album, also in the mp3 format.
It didn't happen in version 2.05, so I guess it's a bug.
Made in China is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 14:12   #235
Daedala
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 28
First off, AL finds everything now and plays it, but as flocksoft reported AlbumList build 306 is not sorting the titles by path
Daedala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 14:29   #236
Made in China
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
I've used the latest version. Using 2.05, I have 180 hours of playing, and using 2.06 I have 177. I know it's not a big difference, but I'm still missing some albums.
I already know the 2 albums I'm missing, still - the plugin has a bug, and I've reported about it.
Made in China is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 14:48   #237
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally posted by Made in China
I've used the latest version.
what do you mean? latest stable (2.06) or latest beta (2.07 build 307)?

anyway, a shoot in the dark:

maybe the files or directories with Unicode characters in the name cause problems

you can test it creating a new profile with just only item of this type and compare them (and I don't know and I don't guess the result)

anyway AlbumList 2.07 support Unicode, you can give a try

bye
flocksoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 14:52   #238
Made in China
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Sorry for double posting, but I have pictures that (at list I think) show the bug.

Step 1 - Configuring Album List:
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/4465/76079416gd4.jpg

Step 2 - Album List results from inserted folder:
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/474/60167094dt6.jpg

Step 3 - Going into the inserted folder:
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/846/82077582nf1.jpg

Step 4 - Just showing you that the folder contains songs:
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/2241/92597813om0.jpg

I hope you believe me now, and you can fix the bug.

Hm, I tried both v2.07 build 300 and stable v2.06, still, the problem remains.

Last edited by Made in China; 24th May 2007 at 15:17.
Made in China is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 15:27   #239
Safai
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Send a message via ICQ to Safai
flocksoft/Daedala: I'll take a look at that. Probably the string comparison function is not working right with unicode pathnames.


Made in China: So the above images are using v2.05? I can't see anything 'special' about that album. Other thing you can try is rename the folder or move it somewhere else to see if it has anything to do with the folder name. Otherwise, I don't have any clue right now why it 'disappeared' from v2.06 and onwards.
Safai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2007, 16:01   #240
Made in China
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
The images are from the 2.06, where the problem occurs.
I should've also mentioned that it does identify the album if I select it as a root folder.

Anyway, it's just a bug report. I'd be glad if you fixed it, but it's all up to you.
Made in China is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
add, albumlist, create, plugin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump