Old 9th October 2013, 08:06   #1
markgribby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Lost all play counts etc...

Opened WinAmp last night only to find it set to default...all my play counts and customizations have gone. It said that there was a corrupt database? It had none of the 6500 tracks in it. It will let me re-scan to reinstate the tracks, but means all play counts are back to zero.
Tried system restore to the previous day, when it worked fine but no change.
I only use WinAmp indepedent from online activity.

This happened 4 years ago and i ended up starting from scratch!
It even survived my XP pc crash 2 years ago and transferred successfully to new Windows 7 pc
Why does this happen?
I've only ever downloaded the free version as i don't require the extras.
Can i prevent this in future?
markgribby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 09:23   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
What release version are you using ?

The general reason is either antivirus / security software preventing Winamp from closing properly / quickly enough which on windows shutdowns can cause it to not save everything correctly and so data loss / corruption can happen.

Can also be if using an older Winamp release and there's bugs which cause the database to corrupt if there are memory allocation issues. As work was done with v5.64 / 5.65 to resolve such issues (hence asking what version is being used).

And then other software on windows or 3rd party plug-ins not behaving properly can lead to settings getting corrupted if doing things that mess up how Winamp tries to do things.

Other than being on a current Winamp release, that any 3rd party plug-ins are compatible with the version and OS being used and that Winamp is allowed to close fully if running before shutting down windows.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 11:38   #3
markgribby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks for quick response

Not sure on the version i have...it was downloaded in 2009. I'll find out when i get home tonight.
The only virus software i have is Microsoft windows essential.
I don't use plugins to my knowledge.

i'll try to system restore to last week...see if that works
then i'll probably download latest version.

Is there anywhere where my customizations are saved on the pc?
markgribby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 11:42   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
system restore won't work - app settings generally are not included in such things.

the usual settings folder is %appdata%\Winamp. and http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317153 may be useful in future.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 18:19   #5
markgribby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Version found

found the version it's V5.622 (x86) 26 oct 2011... later than i thought...

i have noticed that the last time this happened was 4 years ago also in October
and the top of my most played was with 63 play counts... as it was before this problem, coincidence or contributing factor?

i'm going to download new version ...start again i guess ....its very soul destroying
i would have thought WinAmp would automatically keep the last settings on file...stupid that it just overwrites them... the info must be somewhere?
markgribby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 19:28   #6
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi markgribby,

You can use the Winamp Backup Tool (link below) to backup your important data files on a regular basis to protect you from data loss (or reduce it to what was done since the last backup) in the future.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317153

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2013, 21:13   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgribby View Post
i would have thought WinAmp would automatically keep the last settings on file...stupid that it just overwrites them... the info must be somewhere?
alas not, there's been a number of things done as part of v5.64/5.65 to improve handling of things though it's not quite made it to the db files at the moment (with work instead being done to better ensure the files are only re-written if needed than generically as the version you've mentioned would do + improving closing time and memory issues which could have caused it).

it's definitely something that can always be improved on, though if playcounts are that important, then keeping regular settings backups is the best thing to do (not ideal but it's better than nothing).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2013, 15:01   #8
markgribby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks all

Thank you all for your time and advice.

Hopefully shouldn't happen again,...just have to remember to back up regularly
markgribby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
corrupt, database, lost, reset, winamp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump