Old 1st January 2006, 07:23   #1
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
clearONE

Happy New Year you pimps and ho's! Hope everyone had as smashing good time as I did last night.

But now I invite you to take a test drive of my finally finished skin, clearONE. It's been a long haul with this baby, but the journey is nearly complete save for some final bug testing by you guys.

I hope you like it!



Download here.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 10:01   #2
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Have you got a 'one click download and install' version anywhere?

If not you are limiting your download audience somewhat by having to get people to download, unzip, move to skin directory etc etc, not to mention a lot of skin submission sites won't allow you to send a straight zip, winmap.com for example.

I understand your reasons for doing it, just the average downloader won't be bothered to go to so much fuss for a skin, particulary when there are so many other stick based skins already out there.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 11:14   #3
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
Very Cool - 2 things:

1) Dock the color chooser with the main bar and resize the chooser. Click the eq button - all the windows jump around.

2) I'm not a skinner, but is there some reason you can't use relative path names (in studio.xnf, and your scripts)?
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 13:00   #4
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Nice skin

What Mr Jones said, most people won't download it unless its in a wal file..
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 19:21   #5
skryingbreath
Post initializing...
 
skryingbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,065
Holy shit that is a lot of clicks just to download a skin...

I also get a whole bunch of guru meditations in the config panel .
skryingbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 21:00   #6
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
lol
is there a tutorial on how to pack a winamp skin in the other forum?
no need for all that mlarky, nice looking stick modes tho
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2006, 21:37   #7
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
Quote:
Originally posted by skryingbreath
Holy shit that is a lot of clicks just to download a skin...
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 03:35   #8
Rooster128
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Rooster128
YES DUDE! FINALLY, T'IS OUT! I remember looking at this thing like a year ago and marveling at it.

This and KameleonDUI have to be my favorite skins evar.

edit: haha, but I can't get this thing to work. why must you make us do work? :-P
Rooster128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 03:49   #9
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Mr Jones, thank you for commenting on my skin, but this is not your average stick-mode skin, this one is different! It needs a little extra love to get it to work right, and I bet that most people wouldn't mind.

I realize it's a lot of trouble and "mlarky" to get it installed, but I did it this way on purpose, so that the styles will work correctly for everyone. Running cmd scripts from wal files is not possible, I've only seen one other skin (EPS) that did it successfully, and I cannot figure out how they did it. Apparently, no one else can either (see this thread).
I also tried to contact the author several times, but he never replied. I suspect it's all in shutdown.exe, but will probably never know.

skryingbreath, I do hope you were kidding about the guru meditations as no one else has yet to complain about them.

If and when I submit this to Winamp, I will include a Readme with instuctions, and it will be in .wal format.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 04:09   #10
Rellik
Major Dude
 
Rellik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: localhost
Posts: 1,099
You might want to check out Wood Chrome Finish, it has two variations on the same skin.
Rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 04:35   #11
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Rellik, Wood Chrome Finish does have two styles, but the PL and ML buttons don't change style. Mine do, and the only way to get them to change is to rename glass/solid/clear-elements.png, to elements.png. That is the reason for the cmd scripts and all the mlarky to get it installed.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 10:35   #12
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
u dont need cmd scripts to change the gfx

put a place holder image where you need to change the graphic and the style can be changed via maki with a simple xml replace, this is the preferred method for any skin i would say, its worth the extra effort on the skinners behalf if they want to implement multiple styles

its different for skinners as we use winamp not only as a media player but a tool to output our skin creations, therefore we expect to muck about with code all the time, users wont tho, some will not bother installing your skin due to the steps required, i can see what you were trying to do but you gotta add all this into the skin right off the bat, it means 2/3 times the amount of code but if you were clever with your naming conventions then you could use the same names and add a number version on the end of the filename, then add a counter and loop round and replace the xml references

the moment you introduce steps like you have implemented then users wont bother with your skin, its got to be 1/2 clicks type thing to install or you could lose out to lots of people

skinners here have found workarounds for most things here and there but for security reasons is why lots of things have been implemented into winamp
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 10:46   #13
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
SLoB, you're gonna have to give me some maki and xml examples of what you mean by:

Quote:
use the same names and add a number version on the end of the filename, then add a counter and loop round and replace the xml references
because you kinda lost me there. I'm all for making this easier and I'd love to find a better way, but frankly I don't believe there is one.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 11:16   #14
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
sure nps, some example code below

if you want to check this implemented further checkout the alpha version of walpha in the ips_eq.m, i'll be releasing a beta of this skin vsoon as the alpha version has some bugs lol but at least you can get an idea from the grid cycling

example element

<bitmap id="player.mainbg1" file="player/player_mainbg1.png" gammagroup="body"/>
<bitmap id="player.mainbg2" file="player/player_mainbg2.png" gammagroup="body"/>
<bitmap id="player.mainbg3" file="player/player_mainbg3.png" gammagroup="body"/>

define all your styles with a number convention as above

layer example in group/layout

<layer
id="player.mainbg"
x="0" y="0"
image="player.mainbg1" --default
/>

maki code example to change the image

function ChangeImages(int iNo);

Global Layer lyrMainbg;
Global int iMainNo;


frameGroup = getScriptGroup();

lyrMainbg = frameGroup.findobject("player.mainbg");
iMainNo = 1;

function ChangeImages(int iNo){

//1 layer example
lyrMainbg.setXMLParam("image", ("player.mainbg" + iNo));

add in the rest of the images you need to change
}

then call your function with a button with a counter

btnCycleStyles.onLeftButtonDown(int x, int y) {

if (iMainNo > 3){
iMainNo=1;
}

ChangeImages(iMainNo);

iMainNo++;
}

hope that helps axialix, any questions feel free to pm or msn
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 11:36   #15
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
I really appreciate your taking the time to explain all of that, but you do realize that the images I need to change are the ones listed in system-elements.xml? These images are used for the PL and ML scrollbars/buttons and are not (to my knowledge) accessable by maki. They are also not defined in any layout or container, so how can I access them with script? I have used rpeterclark's style.m script from his excellent Multipass skin to change all other images in my skin, so general style changes are really not the issue.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 13:05   #16
Rooster128
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Rooster128
multipass was an awesome skin, indeed.

I still can't get this skin to work... lol...
Rooster128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 15:11   #17
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
edit: no, ignore this
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 15:13   #18
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
why not use one image that is similar to all of them?
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 20:24   #19
rpeterclark
Major Dude
(Reviewer)
 
rpeterclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,388
Yeah, I did not have any luck finding a way to dynamically change the PL/ML type buttons and ended up settling on a button design that looked alright in either "style". That wouldn't really work in your skin, so I understand the need for multiple versions. Great work btw, I especially like the clear/black version!
rpeterclark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 21:14   #20
corwwin
Senior Member
 
corwwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingdom of Amber
Posts: 272
Great skin, but I couldn't find the volume knob. Did I miss something ?
corwwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2006, 21:46   #21
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Wow, thanks rpc! I'm really feeling good after that. A kind word from you is like the sun on my face for a thousand years.

Last edited by axialix; 2nd January 2006 at 23:55.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 00:27   #22
canuckerfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
first of all... awesome skin! so innovative, I love it!~

however, is the main component intentionally not skinned?
canuckerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 00:45   #23
skryingbreath
Post initializing...
 
skryingbreath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,065
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckerfan
first of all... awesome skin! so innovative, I love it!~

however, is the main component intentionally not skinned?
It isnt skinned? huh?
skryingbreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 01:48   #24
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Nope, this is a stick-mode player only. But there are plenty of options to get it looking just the way you want.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 06:15   #25
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
Another bug: if you dock the playlist and then close winamp, when you start it again, the pl is not docked.
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 12:47   #26
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
If you mean docking the PL with "docked toolbar", it seems to stay docked on winamp restart, but it does not keep it's size settings. Strange...
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 21:13   #27
anoobis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
I dunno if I'm the only one but I like the old version better if you still have it can I get it?
anoobis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2006, 08:35   #28
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Sure anoobis, check my sig for the old version.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2006, 16:58   #29
anoobis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
thanks alot <3
anoobis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2006, 01:44   #30
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
Nope - it completely undocks for me.
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2006, 09:21   #31
momomo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
This new one crashes for me =/
momomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2006, 01:28   #32
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
cppman, which window (PL, ML, etc) is not staying docked for you?

momomo, did you have the beta version installed before? If so, try deleting studio.xnf in your Winamp directory.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2006, 15:43   #33
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
just the PL
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 03:17   #34
neFAST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to neFAST
Man, this skin is just AWESOME.
This could be my definitive skin, and I never thought I'd say that one day
neFAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 12:35   #35
neFAST
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to neFAST
maybe it lacks a little gradient color or animation on the volume slider
neFAST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 21:21   #36
leskieur38
Junior Member
 
leskieur38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: in france, above 3000ft
Posts: 14
Hello from france for you axialix
just say "congratulations" for you AWESOME skin
I found it, on the WINAMPFR.com forum and I just say WAOOOO when I saw it
No problems for me.All is good
Thanks a lot
Atchao
leskieur38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 21:30   #37
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
Thanks for commenting guys! I appreciate your feedback.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 21:56   #38
leskieur38
Junior Member
 
leskieur38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: in france, above 3000ft
Posts: 14
I just want to know if I have the final version of your skin
It's the 1.0 version
Thanks a lot
Atchao
leskieur38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2006, 22:30   #39
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
I have corrected several bugs (cpu usage, coverart 1.5 sizing option, Notifier Always on Top, and more) since the original release on 1/1, so you might want to redownload the zip file from my site if you haven't since New Year's. Text shadows for the Songname and PL time (see attached pic) have been requested, so I'm waiting until I get those added before changing the version to 1.1.

I've also eliminated the need the edit the studio.xnf file if your default winamp directory is not C:\Program Files\Winamp. All you need to do now is edit the three cmd files.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg text shadows.jpg (33.9 KB, 779 views)
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2006, 12:27   #40
cppman
Member
 
cppman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 84
I fixed your scripts so that they should work no matter where winamp is installed.
Attached Files
File Type: zip scripts - fixed.zip (802 Bytes, 571 views)
cppman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump