Old 5th June 2016, 22:45   #1
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
Help me upgrade ShyShy's PC

Current build: http://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/jhYnTH

We bought AC:Unity recently, only to find that it won't run on the current build. Never mind that it meets the game's published requirements... Boo!

Anyway, in the above build, what is the weakest link? This is for light casual gaming. We NEVER buy new AAA games (as evidenced by the recent purchase of a 2014 title) but for the games we do buy, we would like to play them at high settings.

Happy to hear all comments and feedback. Thanks, y'all.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2016, 01:20   #2
mike-db
Pancakes!
(Major Dude)
 
mike-db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colour, if you're, you know...
Posts: 3,520
Send a message via ICQ to mike-db
The only thing that screams to me is the CPU. It can't be your 750 Ti, mine handles much more demanding games than Assassins Creed Unity with ease.

Seeing as I assume you wont want to pay for an i5 this might do you:

http://www.newegg.com/global/au/Prod...82E16819117448

SEX APPEAL UP IN HERE!
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
mike-db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2016, 02:12   #3
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
Are you sure that's any better than the G3258? http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Pentiu...-Pentium-G3258

Maybe I should double the RAM..?

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2016, 06:32   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,622
I suggest overclocking the g3258 to at least 4GHz and getting a 256 GB SSD (connected to a SATA III port) for the OS and your games. Keep the Western Digital drive for bulk storage of music, video, and document files and apps that don't need to run at high speed. 8GB of RAM should be enough, but adding RAM is a low cost way of gaining a little more performance.

Your WD hard drive and stock speed CPU probably have the lowest Windows Experience Index (WEI) scores relative to your RAM and GPU. The WEI is not the best measure of performance, but it does indicate the relative strengths and weaknesses of those 4 components.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2016, 22:12   #5
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
Thanks.

What I'm concluding is that the CPU is the weakest link in what is a fairly weak chain, and that the first and easiest port of call may be to overclock it—something I've never done before, so that could be fun.

FWIW, I totally misread the GPU Boss page comparing the [game's minimum] GTX 680 to the GTX 750 Ti [that I have]. The "real world" benchmarks tell the story.

Mike, I've been advised that the CPU Boss comparison page that I linked to only really considers per-core or single-core performance, and since the G3258 has only two cores compared to, say, the 4 cores of the i5-2400, it's not a valuable comparison.

I'm learning that this particular game is one resource-hungry mofo. It should be noted that AC:Unity is not the only game that I want to be playable, so designing the build specifically to suit this one game could be misguided. That said, if modern games are more and more similar in their system requirements, using a resource hog as a benchmark might not be a bad idea.

Please feel free to add any other suggestions.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2016, 00:57   #6
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
Maybe my shitty HDD is to blame..? It's not actually the WD HDD that I included in the above-linked build; rather, it's a hybrid that I bought from Kogan (I couldn't find it in the partpicker lists), with the following words seemingly randomly thrown into its name:

Seagate 1TB 3.5" Desktop Solid State Hybrid Drives 8G NAND Flast + 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s

edit: I think it's this one: https://au.pcpartpicker.com/product/...ve-st1000dx001

Could the 8GB of SSD hybridness be having a negative impact?

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2016, 23:33   #7
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
In anything that I have read, any size of SSD, hybrid or not, does not have a negative impact on system performance.

i would focus on the CPU as the biggest limitation...
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2016, 01:56   #8
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
After much frustration, I finally managed to update the game to the latest patch (1.5.0) and the problems seem to have disappeared. Even on the highest graphics settings, no freeze-lag from the few minutes of running around that I did.

Still need to have ShyShy Jr give it a proper going-over, actually doing missions and being chased etc., but I'm hopeful that the game update has gone a long way to fixing the problem.

My take-away is that when I do want to upgrade the hardware, my first port of call will be the CPU.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2016, 21:29   #9
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
I'd suggest overclocking your CPU first as well. Thankfully yours can easily reach 4GHz.

But if you feel the need to upgrade, you should go with the i5-4690. It's compatible with your motherboard's socket and powerful to last for many years to come.

As for the graphics card, an RX 480 or GTX 1070 would be a massive upgrade from that 750ti. At least 3-4x the performance if not more. Both should be widely available for a decent price by the time you decide to upgrade.

Lastly, it couldn't hurt to get an SSD as well. I had no idea what I was missing out on until I bought one. Using a PC without an SSD feels like working on an Apple ][ now.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2018, 06:46   #10
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
Having done no upgrades since starting this thread, for various reasons, I'm now interested in spending a small amount on this.

Is a used i5-4690 for 150 AUD a good/bad idea? Is there a better bang to be had for equivalent bucks?

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2016, 22:09   #11
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
I've overclocked it to a seemingly stable 4.2 GHz.

Folks have suggested the i5-4690, which I guess is in the same ballpark as the 4790. Being cheap, I was thinking that I could maybe get away with an i5-2400 instead (about 80 AUD on ebay), saving myself ~$200 and still being… okay… until it comes time to upgrade the motherboard (etc).

Those same folks have also suggested the GTX 1070 as the next big upgrade after an i5. Great minds.

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2016, 19:55   #12
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by iomegajaz View Post
I've overclocked it to a seemingly stable 4.2 GHz.

...
Since you are new to overclocking, I suggest you download and install the 32bit or 64bit version of HWiNFO that matches your OS. It is a free app that monitors and shows in real time the current, min, max, and average voltage, speed, temperature, and other parameters associated with your various hardware components.

Also download and run some free benchmark and/or stress test apps (or just play the game) with HWiNFO running, to make sure your components (mainly the overclocked CPU) are stable and stay within max operating limits (mainly the CPU's temperature). Max limits for each component are available on the internet. If the CPU is getting too hot, you will need to get a more powerful cooler for it or reduce the overclock.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2018, 04:08   #13
iomegajaz
Balled and Chained
Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 5,227
No takers?

"My heart hates uggos." –J.D.
iomegajaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 09:42   #14
Psythik
Got his CT back
and didn't pay $10
(Forum King)
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,581
I couldn't even tell you anymore. Haven't been keeping up with the latest tech, unfortunately.

This is a sig of some nature.
Psythik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump