Old 11th July 2005, 02:30   #1
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
MP3 Codec

I am very unfamiliar with Winamp, so I need help. I finally figured out that I had to download a plug-in to convert an ASF file to an MP3 file (out_mp3.exe). When I tried to do the conversion, Winamp reported that it needed a CODEC from Shoutcast. (lame_enc.dll is installed in the winamp folder.) The link that the error window reported was bad, so I looked around at shoutcast.com, but I could not determine what I am supposed to download. Next, I downloaded and installed ChunYu_Shei.exe, but that plug-in does not give me enough output options. I need to be able to output to 64K mono. Could some kind soul point me in the right direction and help me get started?

My operating system is Windows 2000.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 08:37   #2
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Out_lame has more options, including 64kbps mono.

Or try the Winamp Transcoder.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 12:58   #3
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
I tried the Transcode thing, but the only option listed is MP4. What am I doing wrong?
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:26   #4
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Nothing I guess, probably transcoding to mp3 only works with Winamp pro (I wasn't sure, I hoped it wouldn't be the case).

In that case try out_lame.

Or you could use another program, eg. CDex.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:28   #5
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
I have Winamp Pro.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:32   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
From the Winamp Transcoder homepage
Quote:
Format compatability: Will transcode from any format with a winamp input plugin to any format with a winamp encoding plugin
What this means is that it will support any format playable by winamp, ie. according to what input plugins are installed,
eg.

in_mp3.dll for mp3, aac
in_wave.dll for wav
in_wm.dll for wma

And it will transcode to whatever formats are supported by the Encoding plugins installed, eg.

enc_mp4.dll for m4a
enc_lame.dll for mp3
enc_aac.dll for aac
etc

See here for a list of all default plugins
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=188084
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....43#post1522843


If the only encoder in the Transcoder config drop-down menu is M4A
then this means that enc_mp4.dll is the only Encoder plugin present,
and you will need to reinstall Winamp Full/Pro and make sure you don't uncheck MP3 Encoding in the installer options.


On the other hand, the out_lame Output plugin (that gaekwad2 linked to above) is quite straight forward to use...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:38   #7
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
I don't know what you mean when you say that enc_mp4.dll is the only Encoder plugin present as there are several others in the plugin folder, including lame_out.dll. Here is the contents of the transcode.ini file:

[audio_mp4]
conf=00F40100F5
[transcoder_inplugins]
asf=in_dshow.dll
mp3=in_mp3.dll

So, transcoder is not recognizing the plugins, which I assume it what it does automatically on installation. Any thoughts? I certainly don't know how to manually edit the ini file.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:39   #8
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Other dlls in the plugin folder are:

out_disk.dll
out_lame.dll
out_ds.mp3
out_wave.dll

And they all show up in Preferences | Plugins | Output plugins
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 13:56   #9
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
The transcoder uses enc_ plugins, not out_(put) ones.

enc_lame.dll isn't present?
(both lame_enc and enc_lame have to be there)

In that case reinstall Winamp (on top of the current install so you won't lose anything), make sure MP3 encoding is checked (under Audio File Support) or select Full install.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 14:10   #10
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
The transcoder uses enc_ plugins, not out_(put) ones.

enc_lame.dll isn't present?
(both lame_enc and enc_lame have to be there)
Both are present. I just listed the outs.

Quote:
In that case reinstall Winamp (on top of the current install so you won't lose anything), make sure MP3 encoding is checked (under Audio File Support) or select Full install.
I reinstalled Winamp (full install) and I reinstalled Transcoder. No joy. The only conversion option listed is MP4.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 14:47   #11
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
I replaced my transcoder.ini with your version, it didn't affect the dropdown options (I get exactly the same options in the transcoder and cd ripping prefs).

For now, until someone solves this puzzle, I'd say use out_lame.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 14:50   #12
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2 For now, until someone solves this puzzle, I'd say use out_lame.
I will, but the transcode option sure would be nice, if I could get it to work!
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 16:16   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Hmm...

So all of enc_aac.dll, enc_mp4.dll, enc_lame.dll and lame_enc.dll are present in the Winamp\Plugins folder, but MP3 Encoder and Raw AAC aren't available options in the Transcoder config drop-down menu?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg transcoder.jpg (64.0 KB, 257 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 19:30   #14
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Here's what is in the folder.

Edit: I tried to attach a jpg of the folder, but it did not show up. Here are some of the files in the folder:

enc_aac.dll
enc_lame.dll
enc_mp4.dll
in_cdda.dll
in_dshow.dll
in_midi.dll
nd_mod.dll
in_mp3.dll
in_mp4.dll
in_nsv.dll
in_vorbis.dll
in_wave.dll
in_wm.dll
lame_enc.dll
lamedll.dll
out_disk.dll

and more "outs".
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 19:52   #15
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Download One for Nunz, which will allow you to generate a list of plugins that you can attach here.

Once the plugin is installed, head to Preferences > Plug-ins > General > One for Nunz, and click Configure selected plugin.

Then, make sure "Generate text file of all installed plug-ins" is checked. You may also want to check "Open text file once generated" to help you track & save the location of the file. It is by default saved to "winamp_directory\plugins\my_plugin_list.txt". That should make listing your plugins so much easier.

@Egg: Shouldn't lame_enc.dll be in the base winamp directory? I don't intend to confuse this with enc_lame.dll, which IS in winamp_directory\plugins.

Have you tried deleting transcoder.ini?

Also, I would recommend a clean install, instead of an over-the-top install. Just make sure that you pay attention to the Backup section of the above FAQ, just in case you want to retain ML, ratings, bookmarks, etc.

Let us know how this works out.

@neu ... Where did you get the lamedll.dll file? It's not required by the encoder ... you need enc_lame.dll (the Winamp encoder) and lame_enc.dll (the LAME engine).

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 20:14   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Quote:
@Egg: Shouldn't lame_enc.dll be in the base winamp directory? I don't intend to confuse this with enc_lame.dll, which IS in winamp_directory\plugins.
No, both files should be in the Winamp\Plugins folder, which they ARE according to neumannu47's list.

lamedll.dll is probably installed by some 3rd-party MP3 Output plugin.

@neumannu47
Could you please answer my previous question?
Are you sure you're configuring the Transcoder properly? (see screenshot).
Prefs > Plugins > Media Library > Transcoder > Config...

If enc_lame.dll and lame_enc.dll are present (which they are) then MP3 Encoder should definitely be an available option in the drop-down list.... in the same way as it is an available option in Prefs > CD Ripping > Encoder tab.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 20:20   #17
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Could you please answer my previous question?
Are you sure you're configuring the Transcoder properly? (see screenshot).
Prefs > Plugins > Media Library > Transcoder > Config..
My screens look just like your screenshots except that I have MP4 as the only option on the pulldown. So, I think I am handling this correctly.

I'm going to try deleting the INI file. I'm at the office now, and my installation is at home, so I may have to wait until tonight to report the results.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2005, 12:17   #18
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Update: Not only did a complete reinstall not work, but when I installed RP on a second computer, installed the plugins, and installed Transcoder, it STILL didn't work, so I am clearly doing something wrong.
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2005, 12:22   #19
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by jmatthews112
Download One for Nunz, which will allow you to generate a list of plugins that you can attach here.

Let us know how this works out.
installed Winamp plugin list
Plugin directory is: C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\

<< Input plugins >>

Nullsoft CD/LineIn plug-in (CDDB2) v3.06 [in_cdda.dll]
Nullsoft DirectShow Decoder v0.94 [in_dshow.dll]
Nullsoft MIDI player 3.07 [in_midi.dll]
Nullsoft Module Decoder v2.2.11 (x86) [in_mod.dll]
Nullsoft MP4 demuxer v0.5 [in_mp4.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG(Layer1-3/CT AAC+/Dolby AAC) Audio Decoder 3.09 [in_mp3.dll]
Nullsoft NSV Decoder v1.05 [in_nsv.dll]
Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.40 [in_vorbis.dll]
Nullsoft Waveform Decoder v2.06 [in_wave.dll]
Nullsoft WMA plug-in v2.1(x86) [in_wm.dll]

<< Output plugins >>

DirectSound output v2.31 (d) [out_ds.dll]
Lame MP3 Writer plug-in v1.6.3 [out_lame.dll]
Nullsoft Disk Writer plug-in v2.0c (x86) [out_disk.dll]
waveOut output v2.1 (d) [out_wave.dll]

<< Visualisation plugins >>

Advanced Visualization Studio v2.81b [vis_avs.dll]
MilkDrop 1.04b [vis_milk.dll]
Nullsoft Tiny Fullscreen 2001 (v2.05) [vis_nsfs.dll]

<< DSP plugins >>

Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP v0.36 [dsp_sps.dll]

<< General Purpose plugins >>

Jump To File Extra v0.96ff [gen_jumpex.dll]
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.3 [gen_hotkeys.dll]
Nullsoft Modern Skins Support v1.06 [gen_ff.dll]
Nullsoft Tray Control v0.2 [gen_tray.dll]
Nullsoft Winamp Library v2.14 [gen_ml.dll]
One for Nunz v1.5a [gen_nunzio.dll]

<< Media Library plugins >>

Transcoder v0.3 [ml_transcode.dll]
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2005, 12:51   #20
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
One for Nunz doesn't list enc plugins (it only lists those that directly appear in the preferences). :/

Do you get all encoder options in the CD Ripping prefs (WAV, MP3, MP4 AAC, Raw AAC)?
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2005, 13:35   #21
neumannu47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
wav, mp3, mp4 aac, raw aac
neumannu47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump