Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Old 18th February 2007, 17:43   #1
SnowXNinja

Vista Home Premium - Enqueue As Default Does Not Work (Unlame Version)

My Hardware Configuration:
Dell Precision 490, Dual Core Xenon 3.0 GHZ, 2 GB 667 MHZ Ram. SATA 250 GB Drive. Video card is dual DVI NVidia Quadro FX 550. Just installed clean version of Vista Home Premium (Release), Then Installed Full Release Version of Office Professional 2007, Then Installed Winamp. Unchecked Agent and System Tray options during install (as i have always done without issue)

The Problem
Opened winamp, clicked on preferences --> File Types --> Checked 'Enqueue as Default', as i have been doing for the past 10 years or so with winamp. Checkbox appears to make no difference in bahavior in windows explorer, Play is still default action. I am new to vista and cannot find a 'file type behavior' like in XP, i can only find file type association.

Additionaly Information
I understand this is a problem with something that has worked for a long time, but i assure you that The problem is not between the keyboard and the chair.
SnowXNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2007, 18:05   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team

There's quite a number of known Vista-specific issues (I'll be adding these to the FAQ at some point soon), and I guess this is another issue which needs adding to the list...

Although Microsoft always used to discourage using regedit, I guess there's now no other way to manually edit filetype associations...

Start > Run > regedit

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Winamp.File\shell

Change the (Default) value in the right pane from 'Play' to 'Enqueue'

Repeat for:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Winamp.Playlist\shell

Then go to:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Winamp.File\shell\Enqueue\command

Make sure the (Default) value is set to:

"C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe" /ADD "%1"

Repeat for:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Winamp.Playlist\shell\Enqueue\command

[EDIT May 2008]