Old 10th February 2007, 07:10   #1
Antaeras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Antaeras
Weird visualizations bug & memory leak

I have a really weird bug: AVS and Milkdrop no longer work. AVS looks like it is working but actually doesn't get any music input (even though Beat Detection seems to be working), so there are no dynamic changes and most presets display a blank or one-color screen. There's also a memory leak involved since Winamp quickly uses up memory, increasing at about 10MB/sec until Winamp runs out of memory and crashes.

Milkdrop merely pops up an "Error" message box saying "Plug-in executed an illegal operation. Restart of Winamp is recommended (2)."

The usual Winamp Modern spectrum analyser and ocilloscope work normally.

I was using 5.21 and tried upgrading to 5.32 but no difference. Changing output plugins or skins makes no difference.

AFAIK I didn't change anything in Winamp to cause the bug. Only thing I can think of is uninstalling some unrelated programs and updating my firewall, Comodo Firewall Pro - however disabling the firewall doesn't fix the problem.

test everything. hold on to the good.
Antaeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2007, 02:28   #2
Antaeras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Antaeras
This is NOT fixed by a clean install.

P.S. Can someone move this thread to Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports since it's not just about AVS?

test everything. hold on to the good.
Antaeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 12:32   #3
Tillo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
I encounter the same problems no matter if using 5.32 or 5.21.

But some plugins seem to work though AVS then gets stuck with them when trying to autoload the next one.

Unfortunately, this renders WinAmp AVS almost completely unusable ...

Tillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 07:05   #4
Antaeras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Antaeras
Okay, I tried reinstalling Windows and Winamp and still the same. I even tried turning off every application including uninstalling my firewall, but still bugged.

test everything. hold on to the good.
Antaeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 07:34   #5
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
Do you have Data Execution Prevention enabled for all applications, maybe? If so, try putting Winamp in the exception list (info).

And please confirm that you're using Winamp 5.34 Full.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2007, 15:20   #6
Antaeras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to Antaeras
Wow, thanks so much. Data Execution Prevention was the culprit.

test everything. hold on to the good.
Antaeras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump