Old 13th March 2009, 08:32   #1
Spannerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 33
Trying to make a .wal file for final skin?

Right, I'm using IZarc to compress the final file [contains XML, Player (images), etc.

Ive created a .ZIP file of everything, I've re-named to .wal and everything, it works as an un-compressed folder on any PC, but when .wal is added & 'installed' by double-clicking or dragging to the skins directory, it appears as just the default Winamp Classic skin.

This happens with .wsz and .wal extensions.
Is there a way to upload just a .zip or a
.EXE Self-Extractor?


Thanks =D

PS - you'll like the work I've done...
took me 4 months work!

- Creator of Amptunes and Winamp Portrait -
- CEO of Hivemind Corporate Federation -
Spannerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 13:37   #2
aaronspuler
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 80
Spannerz, I believe IZarc applies a compression that WinAmp does not know how to deal with (that's the way with Firefox themes too). If you make a zip file with WinZip and then rename the *.zip to *.wal that should do the trick -- that's how I've done it for my skins.
aaronspuler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 18:17   #3
mike-db
Pancakes!
(Major Dude)
 
mike-db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colour, if you're, you know...
Posts: 3,523
Send a message via ICQ to mike-db
Right click start > Explore

Then click on:

Tools > Folder Options... > View

Then click the box beside "Hide extensions for known file types"

Click "Apply to all folders"

Then create a .zip file should be as easy as:

Right click > New > Zip archive

Explore the new .zip archive (Right click > Explore)

Drag and drop your skin folders (or copy and paste)

Then:

Right click > Rename

And rename it do "skinname.wal"

Works just fine.

SEX APPEAL UP IN HERE!
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
mike-db is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 23:44   #4
Spannerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 33
Yes, that's what I've been doing,
but when I drag or double-click and it opens in the
Winamp skins directory, it just opens as the classic winamp
skin...

- Creator of Amptunes and Winamp Portrait -
- CEO of Hivemind Corporate Federation -
Spannerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2009, 01:47   #5
Wildrose-Wally
The Albertan
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 6,122
In windows explorer, click on your skin folder. You should now see all the files that are in the folder. Highlight all those files, and zip them. DO NOT zip the skin folder itself.

After you have made the zip, rename it, try it and report back.

Thank you.
Wildrose-Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 08:26   #6
Spannerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 33
Well, I tried that and...





...



It worked! Thanks dude!!! =D
Just finishing up the skin, and I'll post :P

- Creator of Amptunes and Winamp Portrait -
- CEO of Hivemind Corporate Federation -
Spannerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump