Old 26th December 2017, 14:10   #1
cptjonkiii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Winamp cut off top of screen

Hi All,

Long time, first time :-)

Bizarre thing has happened recently - the top of my Winamp is cut off due to:
- The program is not full screen
- It has been dragged up past the top of the monitor - unclear how
(See attached image - the top of the image is the very top of my monitor)

But as a result, I cannot access the menu bar and cannot maximise it again.

I've tried closing and reopening, restarting machine and even uninstalling and reinstalling and after a reinstall, it opens the same way?!

I've also tried playing with the screen dimensions and resolution to try and shock the position back to default but that hasn't worked either.

Any thoughts as to how I can resolve this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winamp.JPG
Views:	46
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	53665  
cptjonkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 15:29   #2
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,624
Hold down the Shift key and right-click on the Winamp taskbar icon. Click on the Move command in the context menu that appears and the mouse pointer should change to a 4-headed arrow. Then you should be able to click on Winamp and drag it another position on your screen.

If that doesn't work, you can shutdown Winamp and delete the "studio.xnf" file in your users-appdata-roaming-winamp folder. When you restart Winamp your active skin should appear in it's default position using it's default over-all dimensions. If you want, you can change the active skin's position and over-all dimensions. The studio.xnf file is recreated containing this data for use by future Winamp sessions.

The position and size data for every skin you use is saved in the studio.xnf file. So, at some point, you will need to switch to and reconfigure (if needed) any other skins you use. Then the customized position and size data for all the skins you use will be saved in the studio.xnf file and used in future Winamp sessions.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system

Last edited by Aminifu; 26th December 2017 at 16:37.
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 16:06   #3
cptjonkiii
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. The amount of time I spent tinkering around....

The 4-headed arrow thing didn't work - the click and drag went nowhere but deleting studio.xnf did the job perfectly.

Thank you!
cptjonkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2018, 20:18   #4
Worez
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 98
And to avoid future issues go now to the [assuming that you use Windows 7]

C:\Users\USER-NAME\AppData\Roaming\Winamp

and copy all of its content. This are your config files



On top of that you should also make an image of the whole system; with third party software, not some Windows based half-measure
Worez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2018, 04:48   #5
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,624
You can not prevent file corruption (and/or user error) from occurring from time to time, but you can make it easier to recover.

Backups allow you to return to the point in the past when the backup was made. This may be better than rebuilding from scratch, but is not very helpful if the backup is very old. Koopa has developed a small app that lets you easily backup and restore some or all of Winamp specific user data (http://koopa.meggamusic.co.uk/backuptool/).

Make a habit of making general and specific backups of everything on your computer. Update these backups on a regular basis and store the updates on removable drives that can be attached when needed.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
screen position

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump