Old 19th March 2005, 13:17   #1
malesca
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Question Map "crossfade" button to Audioscrobbler plugin instead?

Hi, first post.

I'm using the MoodLogic skin for WinAmp 5.



As you can see, there is a "Crossfade" button. It doesn't seem to make any difference whether its on or off, probably because it toggles a crossfade plugin that I don't have.

How do I make that button toggle a different plugin, namely Audioscrobbler?

I don't know much about skin making beyond renaming .wal to .zip, though I have general programming experience.

I intend this solely for personal use, so there shouldn't be any copyright issues.
malesca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 13:43   #2
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
You have to use DirectSound to be able to use crossfade, make sure you're not using the default audio device.

This is for windows only, don't know how the crossfade works for other platforms.

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 13:50   #3
malesca
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Thank you. Plug-ins > Output has "DirectSound output v2.2.10" selected.

I'm not really concerned with "Crossfade" not working, though. What I'm interested in finding out is how to make that button toggle the AudioScrobbler plugin instead, if that's possible.
malesca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 19:11   #4
JW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 304
In addition to the button that turns crossfade on and off, there's also a time adjustment. I'm not familiar with that skin, so I don't know what makes that adjustment. It may not be working because it's turned down all the way.

As far as buttons to control plugins - the standard Winamp buttons, sliders, etc. all have an action associated with them in the program. That action is assigned to the button so that the interface knows what to do when the button is pressed. IF the plugin has such actions, you MAYBE could get it to work. First try contacting the plugin's author, but good luck. Some of the plugin developers I've contacted seem to get all wierded out by modern skins. One doesn't even know how his plugin gets skinned by a modern skin.
JW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 20:53   #5
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
The Crossfade should work with directsound, however this can be cause the duration the crossfader is set to preform like JW sais, or if you have some soundcard which have limitations (like real old soundcards) but I doubt this is a hardware issue.

Try to update the sounddrivers instead.. (if it's not the crossfade duration)

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 21:02   #6
malesca
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Again, I don't care about crossfade. I simply assumed the "Crossfade" button toggles a plugin on and off, and that you could tie it to another plugin instead.
malesca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2005, 21:10   #7
PulseDriver
w3 addict
(Major Dude)
 
PulseDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,806
No, you can't

09 F9 11 01 9D 74 E8 5B D8 41 56 C3 63 56 81 C0
PulseDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump