Old 17th August 2011, 15:10   #1
Frank C
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 60
Play Real Player .RAM files

Hi,
I have Winamp Pro 5.621.
Is there a way to play Real Player format .RAM files?
Thanks
Frank C

Frank C
Dell Inspiron 530S
Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit SP2
Winamp V5.66
Frank C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2011, 19:55   #2
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Hi Frank,

You'll need to install the Tara input plugin :

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...for_Winamp.htm

to handle Real Media formats.

This is designed to work with the codecs and playback engine that come with RealPlayer.
If you don't have RealPlayer installed already, look for 'RealAlternative' on the Net and install that instead :

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...lternative.htm

In Winamp :

Prefs > File Types and associate RealMedia files.
Prefs > Input plugins > Tara config, and turn off 'Process audio through Winamp'

Works well enough for most things I've tried, though you may find it messes with your volume settings.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2011, 04:00   #3
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
Actually I found that Tara played Real audio fine through Winamp if you gave it the path to an actual .rm/rmv file. RAM files (which are just playlists) broke this for some reason.

I also found that in my case Tara with RealAlternative would only play files, not Realmedia streams. With Realplayer installed streams worked, but again you had to extract and bookmark the actual stream URL from the RAM file for them to play normally through Winamp.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2011, 12:31   #4
Frank C
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 60
Play Real Player .RAM files

Thanks for the response Ujay and CJ_Man.
I did install Real Alternative which, according to these instructions:
http://www.ehow.com/how_7153830_play...al-player.html
would allow Windows Media Player to play .RAM. That didn't work.
It did, however, allow me to convert .RAM to .MP3 with NCH's Switch Sound file converter program.
I will try the Tara input plugin as you both prescribed and report back on Winamp with .RAM
I am trying to avoid installing Real Player. I don't need all of it's features. I only want to capture and play music
Frank C

Frank C
Dell Inspiron 530S
Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit SP2
Winamp V5.66
Frank C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2011, 16:52   #5
Frank C
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 60
Report back on Winamp with .RAM

Hi,
I think that my download and installation of Tara went OK.
.RAM showed up in the Associated File Type List and I highlighted it.

Tara audio Visual Plugin showed up in the Plug-In Input list
I unchecked Process audio through Winamp as instructed (this seems counter intuitive)
When I restarted Winamp this was checked again. The uncheck is not sustained.

Winamp seems to recognize the .RAM as a legitimate source but it does NOT play.
The seeking bar moves for the length of time shown in the Title window and then nothing. The oscilloscope display is flat. There is a message "Connecting MUSEEQ.net". I got the .RAM from
http://www.jazz-on-line.com/index.htm

Thanks
Frank C

Frank C
Dell Inspiron 530S
Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit SP2
Winamp V5.66
Frank C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2011, 18:27   #6
CJ_Man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 168
Yeah, I think you are hitting the problem with internet sources not working, it wouldn't play for me either.

But when I opened a playlist in Notepad (it's just a series of URLs for the files) and downloaded the first one (http://www.museeq.net/rm_c/BAN10428-3.rm in the Cab Calloway playlist) then it played that file fine off my harddrive.
CJ_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2011, 02:33   #7
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Hi Frank, not having any problems with the site, everything plays fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank C View Post
... Tara audio Visual Plugin showed up in the Plug-In Input list
I unchecked Process audio through Winamp as instructed (this seems counter intuitive)
When I restarted Winamp this was checked again. The uncheck is not sustained ...
This setting is required because playback has to be passed out of Winamp.
Unfortunately it also means that there is only limited communication available. Result is that odd messages may be left hanging in the Playlist Editor, or some other timing problem, e.g. titles may not get displayed , or be displayed out of order. Volume changes are not reflected in Winamp etc.

It is important to get this setting correct, or Winamp will not close properly after playing, and can lead to a crash or freeze.

Try this first. Close Winamp, restart Winamp, go to options, uncheck 'Process audio ...', close out, don't play anything, close Winamp and restart.

If that dosen't work, with Winamp closed, find the file 'tara.ini' in your main Winamp folder, check it's not write protected.
If need be open 'tara.ini' in Notepad and manually edit the 'Process audio ... ' setting.

Good luck

CJ - can only suggest you check your browser settings and associations. I'm using Firefox set to pass .ram files to Winamp automatically. Don't think it should make a difference though.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump