Old 25th February 2005, 14:56   #1
Mike H.
Forum Esperantist
(Major Dude)
 
Mike H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to Mike H.
Winamp works on Linux!

I didn't expect it to work, but it did! It even added a shortcut to my desktop.

If you want to install Winamp on Linux, first you need to install Wine. I recommend using classic skins. The media library doesn't work, but I think that can be fixed by getting the proper DLL from a Windows computer. If I can get that fixed I will say goodbye to Beep Media Player.
Mike H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 17:57   #2
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
If this dude replies, you might be able to get it working fully.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 18:48   #3
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 7,998
Yes, it seems to work quite well so far.

FUN.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg snapshot1.jpg (96.0 KB, 379 views)

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 18:53   #4
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
i can't even get WINE to work correctly. WINE won't even let me configure it while i'm in root but i can't access my windows HD from the regular user account which is really annoying. i'm going to play around with that later on i guess.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2005, 22:22   #5
Jaak
Major Dude
 
Jaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Estonia.
Posts: 851
Quote:
Originally posted by deeder7001
i can't even get WINE to work correctly. WINE won't even let me configure it while i'm in root but i can't access my windows HD from the regular user account which is really annoying. i'm going to play around with that later on i guess.
what?

pico ~/.wine/config
and configure yourself to death

you should be able to access windows part as regular user, but you shouldnt be able to mount it as one. So just mount win part as root to some X directory and read with regular user.
I guess wine "configuration" only needs dll files which you can simply copy yourself.

back to topic.
Yes winamp does work under wine, but there are a lot annoyances, plus it kinda eats a lot of system resources compared to native linux media players.
I only use winamp when I need to check some avs presets out... and use xmms/mplayer to play my audio/video

Phi = (1+sqrt(5))/2
Jaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2005, 14:48   #6
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Just use Xmms. No need to use wine. For playing music, at leat, xmms is just as good as winamp and can use classic skins perfectly. There are very good video players for linux as well. Really, I refuse to ever use wine and just use native linux software for all of my computing needs.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2005, 14:56   #7
Mike H.
Forum Esperantist
(Major Dude)
 
Mike H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to Mike H.
The problem with that is XMMS can't play the free music from winamp.com.
Mike H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2005, 07:14   #8
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike H.
The problem with that is XMMS can't play the free music from winamp.com.
And it doesn't have a libary. The libary and some of dr0's plugins (...and the radio/TV/free music list now that I have broadband) are the main reasons for me to still hang around with winamp as my primary player instead of Foobar2000
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2005, 17:17   #9
Mike H.
Forum Esperantist
(Major Dude)
 
Mike H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,135
Send a message via AIM to Mike H.
There used to be a library plugin for Beep Media Player but I think it has been removed.
Mike H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2005, 09:26   #10
Dzk_tracking
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
I'm a sucker for the AVS, so I decided to try Winamp with my suse 9.2 professional. Since I use the AVS frequently and enjoy making presets, it would be nice to be abled to use fullscreen, but somehow my fullscreen stays rather empty . Any 1 had simmilar(?) problems? and solved them 2? I'd love 2 know!
Dzk_tracking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2005, 12:42   #11
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
foobar2000 works through Wine too, incidentally. It's a little easier for Wine to emulate, due to its more basic UI, if you have trouble getting Winamp to work...

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump