Old 27th May 2012, 20:08   #81
Brummelchen
Major Dude
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 681
/ot this will drop win8 finally to death on desktops. win7 is supportet till 2020 - 8 years to go now.
Brummelchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2012, 21:25   #82
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaNi View Post
Afrow,

With this new plugin, the option /nobranding makes the UI draw no button at all. Alternatively using /nobranding /btnold uses older library to draw I guess.
Fixed.

Quote:
1.0.0.8 - 27th May 2012
* Fixed buttons not being drawn and crash when using /nobranding.
Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2012, 00:20   #83
GaNi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Bad news for people that like the Aero plug-in:
http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/...-in-windows-8/

It seems that Microsoft currently tires to cripple the "classical" Desktop as much as possible in order to make "Metro" appear less annoying/limited. The result will be an OS that has a "Touchscreen" interface, which is completely unusable and infeasible for anything but Tablet computers, combined with a totally crippled Desktop, which isn't more than a emergency fall-back feature. I would be fine to consider Windows 8 a pure Tablet-OS, but my biggest fear is that the epic fail of Windows 8 that we'll see on the Desktop market (we'll see how well it goes on the "Mobile" market) will give a great boost to Mac OS X. Might also be chance for Linux to gain some popularity though...

This release would be a total fail as Vista. I guess, very few people would upgrade to windows 8.

@Affrow,
Thanks!
GaNi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2013, 22:06   #84
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Afrow UK,

today I rebuilt one of my installers in order to update some of the files included. The installer is using the "inetc" plug-in and I noticed that the text in the "Cancel" button (while downloading) had disappeared! Since the installer script had not been modified, I was quite surprised. My next thought was about the plug-in versions. So I extracted the plug-in DLL's from the "old" working binary of the installer. I discovered that I was still building with the very same "inetc.dll" (latest version available) but had updated the "aero.dll" in the meantime! And indeed, switching back to the older "aero.dll" resolved the issue. So I believe this might be a bug in your "aero" plug-in

Aero.DLL version 2012-03-10:


Aero.DLL version 2012-05-27:


Really only change is the Aero.DLL. I'm using Unicode NSIS (v2.46.5) , in case that matters.

Any thoughts?

Thanks and keep up the good work,
MuldeR

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 11:22   #85
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
This occurs because the Aero plug-in draws the Cancel button text itself. The inetc plug-in reads the Cancel button text to use it for its own Cancel button but gets an empty string. Just add /canceltext $(^CancelBtn) to the inetc plug-in call.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 11:45   #86
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Thank you for the reply.

So I now have to set all texts for "inetc" manually. Fair enough. Still I wonder why the (slightly) older version didn't need such workaround.

Something must have changed between those two versions that "broke" it...

Regards,
MuldeR

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 12:28   #87
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
You don't have to set all the texts, just the Cancel text. And giving it $(^CancelBtn) is what it would be set to anyway, so I don't see that as an issue? Yes, the way the rendering was done has changed (the old method didn't work well on Windows 8).

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 19:42   #88
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrow UK View Post
You don't have to set all the texts, just the Cancel text. And giving it $(^CancelBtn) is what it would be set to anyway, so I don't see that as an issue?
Yeah, not a big deal - once you have figured out what to do. Still it would be preferable if no such workaround was needed. Couldn't other random things "break" in other plug-in's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrow UK View Post
Yes, the way the rendering was done has changed (the old method didn't work well on Windows 8).
If Windows 8 is the (only) reason for the changed behavior, wouldn't it be easier to simply add a version check and completely disable/skip the Aero plug-in on Windows 8? I mean, in Windows 8 they have replaced the "Aero" UI with something that looks like the emulation of a computer from the 1980's. So I don't think the Aero plug-in has much of an effect on that system anyway. Or am I wrong?

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 21:24   #89
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
This issue is specific to inetc because Takhir decided to use the existing button text rather than hard code a string. There could be other plug-ins but none that I can think of (except perhaps NSISdl).

Windows 8 doesn't have transparency but still has Aero glass (DWM Composition) so yes the plug-in does make the installer look very different. Also it was not just a fix for Windows 8 - it is a general improvement which reduces text flicker on Windows Vista/7 as well.

You can still use the old text rendering if you want to (see the readme).

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 21:36   #90
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrow UK View Post
You can still use the old text rendering if you want to (see the readme).
I had missed that option. Thank you for pointing me at that

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2013, 00:42   #91
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I had missed that option. Thank you for pointing me at that
For some reason /btnold for Aero::Apply didn't have any effect on my problem, so I'll just use /CANCELTEXT with inetc.

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 12:10   #92
habenyamin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
At RTL lang

Aero::Apply and BrandingText At RTL lang ?(farsi)
before Aero adding

After Aero Adding


Hide Branding under cancel and next bt
dose not work with BrandingText TRIMLEFT, /TRIMRIGHT or /TRIMCENTER (farsi)

with option /nobarding just removes BrandingText
habenyamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 16:52   #93
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
There is no support for RTL languages at the moment. I will have to look at it when I have time - I have other priorities at the moment I'm afraid.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2013, 16:18   #94
habenyamin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
بسیارممنون Thank you
habenyamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2013, 19:41   #95
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
New version:
Quote:
1.0.0.9 - 2nd February 2013
* Fixed button and branding text rendering for right-to-left languages.
* Fixed bug which could cause a crash due to a variable not being initialized to NULL (only when Aero could not be enabled).
* Fixed Aero not being applied on classic UI installers with RTL languages.
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/File:Aero.zip

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2013, 14:50   #96
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Thank you for the update!

<nitpicking> Seems like you forgot to update the version info. </nitpicking>

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2013, 15:55   #97
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Fixed.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2013, 21:23   #98
habenyamin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
thank u so much (to fix it for RTL Lan)
habenyamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 16:39   #99
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
New version:
Quote:
1.0.1.0 - 30th November 2013
* Fixed ampersand handling on branding text.
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/File:Aero.zip

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2014, 04:35   #100
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
New version:
Quote:
1.0.1.1 - 24th April 2014
* Fixed bug where DWM rect was not invalidated on composition change.
* Added 64-bit builds.
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/File:Aero.zip

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2015, 17:21   #101
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Any chance to fix the font color in Windows 10 when window is inactive?



(Black font on black background is hard to read)

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2015, 05:20   #102
r2du-soft
Senior Member
 
r2du-soft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Iran
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Any chance to fix the font color in Windows 10 when window is inactive?



(Black font on black background is hard to read)
Yes,and me too see this problem in windows 10,mr afrow uk if is possible solve this problem...
Thanks
r2du-soft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2015, 08:03   #103
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
The Windows 10 issue has been resolved in the latest version.
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/File:Aero.zip

Note:
Quote:
The plug-in will detect Windows 10 if you build your installer using:

* NSIS 3.0b2 or newer

* NSIS 3.0b1 with: ManifestSupportedOS {8e0f7a12-bfb3-4fe8-b9a5-48fd50a15a9a}

* NSIS 2.46 or older with: http://nsis.sourceforge.net/File:Packhdr.zip
Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2015, 13:41   #104
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Afrow UK, thanks for the new version!

However, it took me a long time to figure out why my Installer (made with NSIS 2.46) always failed to start with some strange "Side-by-side" error, after modifying the Manifest with the ResHacker tool. When I inspected the Manifests in ResHacker, it would show that the Manifest of the "working" installer and the one of the "failing" installer are identical, except for the additional Windows 10 compat entry. I even tried removing the compat entry entirely, so the Manifests really were 100% identical - still not working. Bummer !!!

In the end I figured out that the problem is actually the way how NSIS' built-in !appendfile command works! In NSIS 2.46, this command apparently inserts an UTF-8 BOM right at the beginning of the file. ResHacker doesn't show this at all (it silently ignores the BOM), so we cannot see the difference in the Manifest XML code. But with a Hex Editor we can see the BOM is there, even in the embedded Manifest in the final EXE. Original EXE didn't have this. And Windows doesn't like the BOM at the beginning of the XML Manifest at all! It simply refuses to run the installer. So I'm now using a "static" file, rather than a file generated by NSIS' !appendfile command, and all is fine again.

Maybe this info should be added somewhere...

Apart from that, the new version is now working nicely in Windows 10. Great work

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2015, 13:42   #105
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Are you using a Unicode 2.46 build?

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2015, 15:18   #106
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrow UK View Post
Are you using a Unicode 2.46 build?

Stu
Yes.

(I know NSIS 3.x has an /CHARSET option for the !appendfile command, but NSIS v2.46 doesn't)

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2015, 15:55   #107
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Yes.

(I know NSIS 3.x has an /CHARSET option for the !appendfile command, but NSIS v2.46 doesn't)
Why are you still using the Unicode fork?

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2015, 16:05   #108
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anders View Post
Why are you still using the Unicode fork?
Simply put, it has been working very stable for me for many years.

Also, I have quite a number of projects, which are at a point where we cannot make "major" changes, such as switching the whole install system, from NSIS 2.x to 3.x. The required testing would simply generate too much cost for too little gain.

Nonetheless, switching to NSIS 3.x for future projects as well as for my personal stuff definitely is on my agenda!

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2015, 17:08   #109
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,100
!appendfile in v3 is ANSI by default unless the file already has a BOM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Also, I have quite a number of projects, which are at a point where we cannot make "major" changes, such as switching the whole install system, from NSIS 2.x to 3.x. The required testing would simply generate too much cost for too little gain.
The generated installers should be pretty similar, most of the differences between v3 and the fork are in the compiler.

We would of course prefer if as many bugs as possible are found while we are still in beta...

Also, when reporting issues in the future, please say so if you are using an unofficial fork.

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump