Old 17th July 2007, 06:41   #1
shin_chan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Keylogger?



What you have to say about it?
shin_chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2007, 07:24   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Allow it. Report the false positive to your program vendor. Winamp needs to monitor keyboard input for functions such as global hotkeys.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2007, 18:40   #3
shin_chan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
ok, thanks.
shin_chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 15:38   #4
gregmn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
NOT SO FAST -- It seems WORSE than a Keylogger

If it is a false positive, then why does ZoneAlarm report an attempt to link to the WINAMP.com website when I try to PRINT from NOTEPAD and from Paint Shop Pro?

The DNS reported in attempted contact is 205.188.229.57 and 205.188.229.25 -- BOTH of these are Winamp.

Thanks for an OTHERWISE great program... but if there is not a good answer to this snafu, I will cease to use it. Kinda like Google, great functionality but still a data collector.

-- Greg M.
gregmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 15:53   #5
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
It's not. Winamp *still* doesn't care when you open Notepad. Ples provide some data to backup your claims if you are going to make them.

Checking for updates, or using Online services is not "monitoring" your activities.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 15:56   #6
gregmn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
The connection to your DNS is not when I open NOTEPAD, but only when I PRINT.

I don't mind if WINAMP checks for an update to itself when I load winamp... though I may turn off that option to see if it affects the Notepad print.

What data do you wish to see? I will be glad to help.
gregmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 15:58   #7
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
cease to use it then. Why dont you cease to use ZoneAlarm, its obviously giving you a false positive. Post a hijackthis log and a List of your Plugins if you are concerned.

[edit]
you can delete gen_hotkeys.dll from your winamp\plugins\ folder, and also under winamp preferences > general, turn off new version checks and anonymous usage.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 16:05   #8
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
its not a key logger, its probably just sending random statistics to winamp.com or its checking for updates(it does this if you set the option during installation)

if you want to know exactly what's going on view our disclaimer
http://www.winamp.com/legal/disclaimer

(note predixis and winamp remote are not part of the normal winamp installation)

you can turn them off in preferences(ctrl+p) --> general preferences.

some modern skins/plugins can send/recieve data from the internet(but the default skins/plugins should be cool)

we'd be the first to leave, if any real info was taken. but you have nothing to worry about using winamp.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 16:55   #9
gregmn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
I turned off the new version check, but still get the "false positive" complaint from ZoneAlarms, when I PRINT from notepad.

Obviously something is reporting to the WINAMP DNS -- weird that it involves the PRINT command, and not the OPEN of a file. Odd to have this data on a connection back to Winamp.

Ignoring the problem is not helpful. Giving up ZoneAlarm is not helpful advice either. I would rather fix the problem in 535 or go back to the previous version. I did my duty to report it, now I am back to work, and listening to version 5. Thanks.
gregmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2007, 17:16   #10
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
See what exactly is going over your connection:
http://www.wireshark.org/

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump