Old 12th December 2013, 20:25   #1
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Compatibility Mode

I just updated to the current version of Winamp Pro (sadly, after reading about your demise). I hope all features will continue working, as I do not wish to give up this player!

After I updated, every time I open Winamp now, a window pops up stating:

"Winamp appears to have been started with Windows program compatibility mode enabled.

This is not a recommended way to run Winamp as it can often cause problems with how Winamp works e.g. causing it to randomly crash."

It goes on to say I can right-click Winamp.exe and uncheck "Run this program in compatibility mode". I have done this several times (from the shortcut icon, the windows file, and the taskbar shortcut). The window still pops up every time.

Please help ASAP. I either need this corrected or an older version, as Winamp downloads are no more in a week.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:29   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
Hi

You can block the compat mode message by using this setting in the
[Winamp] section of AppData\winamp\winamp.ini

allowcompat=1

There is still one known case where the warning shows even when Winamp has not apparently been configured to run in compatibility mode,
where an "ELEVATECREATEPROCESS" value for winamp.exe has been set in the Windows Registry under the "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers" key.

If you delete the winamp.exe string from there, then you will no longer get the warning message and won't need to set allowcompat=1 in winamp.ini

Also note that we plan to release another 5.666 update patch shortly, where this particular issue is one of the many ones addressed/fixed.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:29   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
i will need the information requested from http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...31&postcount=2 from your machine within the next few hours (as after that, i'm no longer able to include anything in the patch update which is being finished off) incase it 's a value we're not aware off (otherwise there's the ini option to disable it but knowing your registry key is going to be more helpful).

[edit]
gah, too slow, got Egg on my face.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:31   #4
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
I'm not dumb, but I'm not a computer programmer either. If this is THE LAST version of Winamp I'm going to have, I don't want to screw it up! If you truly believe there will be another update soon to fix this, I'll wait.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:34   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
we need to know that registry entry value as there's no way to know it'll be fixed if it's a value which is not known - as that's the reason why you're incorrectly getting the prompt as a value in there is present which we don't know about and have to assume means compat mode is enabled.

all you have to do is run 'regedit' and then navigate to that value.


if not, you can edit winamp.ini and we'll never know what the value was but it'll resolve the issue of you getting the prompt on loading.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:36   #6
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Please walk me through it.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:41   #7
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
What value??? I'm in Regedit.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:46   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
Go to: Start > Run...
Type: regedit
Hit Enter/OK

The Registry Editor will open

In the left pane (tree), navigate to this key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

On the right, you should see a list of programs which are running in some sort of compatibility mode.

Let us know what value has been set for winamp.exe

It's most likely to be: ELEVATECREATEPROCESS

If you delete the winamp.exe item (string) only, by right-clicking on the winamp.exe entry and selecting: delete,
then the problem should be gone next time you open Winamp.

IMPORTANT: Do NOT touch anything else in the registry.
Once you've done the above, close regedit.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:49   #9
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
I have nothing that starts with "HKEY".
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:50   #10
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Wait. Had to collapse folders.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 20:53   #11
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
It is:

#

Should I delete it?
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 21:01   #12
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
I went ahead and deleted the line with "#" as the value. No more irritating pop-up.

On another note, will we still be able to use our Winamp player as usual? I use it for ALL my bookmarked stations, to rip CD's, convert MP3's, and of course, to play all my music (some vids). I have Winamp Pro.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 21:01   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,740
Yes.

Delete the whole string


C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe | #

Just right-click that 1 line only, and select Delete.


And thanks for providing the information

[EDIT]

Thanks for confirming the fix.

And yes, you will still be able to use Winamp.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2013, 21:09   #14
SingBlueSilver7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Thanks for the assistance.
SingBlueSilver7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2015, 22:53   #15
memotal3at.93
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Hi

You can block the compat mode message by using this setting in the
[Winamp] section of AppData\winamp\winamp.ini

allowcompat=1

There is still one known case where the warning shows even when Winamp has not apparently been configured to run in compatibility mode,
where an "ELEVATECREATEPROCESS" value for winamp.exe has been set in the Windows Registry under the "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers" key.

If you delete the winamp.exe string from there, then you will no longer get the warning message and won't need to set allowcompat=1 in winamp.ini

Also note that we plan to release another 5.666 update patch shortly, where this particular issue is one of the many ones addressed/fixed.
I JUST CAN'T FIND THIS PATH(( HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers ))
[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Memo/Pictures/Capture.PNG[/IMG]
IN REGEDIT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
memotal3at.93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump