Old 14th April 2014, 23:04   #1
mookee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
mac winamp beta flac support

hey sorry fellas,
i actually dont care cause i only have a pc but the beta mac winamp REALLY should have flac support. its (one of) the whole point(s)


c. V
mookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 08:42   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
my understanding is that the codec support depends on what the OS is providing which is why it doesn't match with the windows client (as these are two completely different beasts).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 10:12   #3
mookee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
hmm.. i thought it would be the same like the native flac support in winamp-windows, which is working even if you havent installed the flac codec on your windows system at all..
also, some macplayas like cog-player provide flac support, so maybe it doesnt depend on the os at all

c.
mookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 10:15   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
based on what i was told about how the mac client is coded, what i've posted is correct to my knowledge in that it's using what the OS provides instead of doing it like the desktop does i.e. includes the codecs needed so it's not dependent upon anything.

yes it's possible to support other codecs like you note, but it completely depends on the implementation used and i think the 'quick option' is what was decided on for the winamp mac client implementation.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 10:25   #5
mookee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
oh and by the way (not that anyone of us seriously thinks about switching to that but), i found this (for the first time) yesterday by chance:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/28768/fluke
= itunesflacsupport
mookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 11:39   #6
mookee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
i see,.. hope the winamp mac issue is going to be solved at some point. i start needig a better computer, and dally over a mac. guess we all know that problem

thanks!)

lg christoph
mookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2014, 11:28   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,147
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
my solution to this was to simply re-encode all my FLACs to ALAC m4a which both winamp and istuff natively support. been great for me so far.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2016, 10:56   #8
mookee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 126
u should take a look at audirvana plus player..before reencoding
mookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Mac Sync

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump