Old 17th May 2017, 08:28   #81
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
I have randomly seen it with other skins, too, so I believe it is Winamp related.
Well, we have another candidate for the inglorious Known-Bugs-Cabinet.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 15:51   #82
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
...

I always use only one window: either PL or ML. You will find Playlist, Album-Cover and Playback buttons on both of them. Hence one of them should be sufficient. Don't you think?
The ML window would be enough, but I can't find a way to open a playlist editor panel in it. The attached image below is what I've decided to roll with for now. I have an old visualizer stacker plug-in which lets me run my VU meter and dancing girl visualizer plug-ins at the same time. However, I now need to run Winamp in administrator mode for the stacker to work, so it's great for me that the next version of Quinto will have built-in analog and digital VU meters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
I used to have it on my desktop but got tired of waiting while playing new songs.
What version of Waveform Seeker were you using? Version 2.3.1 (updated by DrO) (https://getwacup.com/plugins/waveform_seeker/) will make a waveform in less than 3 seconds for files with < 10 minutes run time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
I also noticed that the background color of the context menu sometimes changes its color and gets white. Is this a skin or Winamp related issue?
I agree with ariszlo that that is a Winamp bug. Good thing it's on a configuration window, much less distracting than the internal browser's scrollbars and their gray/white backgrounds when running Quinto on a Windows 10 machine.


Click image for larger version

Name:	Quinto Black CT 2.JPG
Views:	46
Size:	455.7 KB
ID:	53262


P.S.
Have you noticed the slight registration error between the white text and symbols (while pointing at them) and the black text and symbols (when not pointing) on the buttons? Look at the bottom edges (a little white is visible under the black).

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 21:43   #83
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
IT'S ALIVE!

My very first prototype of an external digital VU Meter is up and running!



So now we have two different (actually three) VU Meters. Two digital ones: the small one on the Main Player and the external VU Meter. And on top of that the analog VU Meter.

Please bear in mind that all three VU Meters generate their values totally differently. When set to "Mode Linear" the analog one gets "pure" volume units (VU) as digits from the range from 0 to 255 (which are generated by the getVULeftMeter() and getVURightMeter() commands) while the digital ones work with AnimatedLayers and which have to divide the volume units (VU) depending on the amount of frames in the bitmap file.

As a result we might not see perfectly accurate values/movements while monitoring and comparing all three displays. I repeat: these are not high definition measuring devices. Consider them more as "Nice-To-Have" Plug-Ins with some very nice "Eye-Candy-Effects".




Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Have you noticed the slight registration error between the white text and symbols (while pointing at them) and the black text and symbols (when not pointing) on the buttons? Look at the bottom edges (a little white is visible under the black).
I am a "visual type" Aminifu. You need to point to it so I see, understand and am able to give you a plausible answer. Okie Dokie?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VU Meter D.png
Views:	307
Size:	884.7 KB
ID:	53266   Click image for larger version

Name:	VU Meter digital2.PNG
Views:	264
Size:	188.0 KB
ID:	53267  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 23:11   #84
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,376

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 01:32   #85
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
...


I am a "visual type" Aminifu. You need to point to it so I see, understand and am able to give you a plausible answer. Okie Dokie?
Click on that image of my desktop in post #82 above. A larger version will open in a new browser tab. Click on that image and it will get even larger. Then use the scroll bars to move to where you can see the playlist editor window. Look at the bottom edge of the words in the buttons (e.g. ADD, REMOVE, SELECT, etc.).

On the actual skin, when you point to any of these buttons, the color of the text changes from black to white. When you point away the black text returns, but it is slightly above the underlying white text. The same thing happens with the symbols on the player controls.

It's a minor thing. If you still don't see what I'm talking about, don't worry about it.


Great job on the VU meters.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 07:03   #86
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
@Victhor: FINALLY! A "word" from admin! Yes, the dinosaurs are back!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
... when you point to any of these buttons, the color of the text changes from black to white. When you point away the black text returns, but it is slightly above the underlying white text. The same thing happens with the symbols on the player controls.
Well, these are Buttons. Toggle Buttons. All toggle Buttons have three states: NORMAL, HOVER and PRESSED (clicked). The text in the NORMAL state is (sort of) cut out in the surface of the Button. And hence we have white lines at the bottom which represent the reflection of the light and a shadow, because there is a "hole" in the surface of that NORMAL Button. The second one, HOVER, has a "glowing" text in order to signalize the readiness for being clicked = the pointer of your mouse is exactly over the HOVER bitmap. Now you may make a click and will see the third state, namely the PRESSED (clicked) Button - which is - and I think this is not a surprise - dark because it lays deeper than the surface it is put in and gets (almost) no light in there.



So where is the "slight registration error"?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Button.png
Views:	248
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	53268  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 15:02   #87
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
...
So where is the "slight registration error"?
I should have realized that what I'm talking about is an intentional design choice. What you say represents the reflection of the light and a shadow for the Normal state look, looks to me like the bottom edge of each letter (and symbol) is cut off.

It is often said that art is in the eye of the beholder. For example, I would have used the yellow+white light effect used (4 places) in the song info bar of the main player for the digital VU meter power light, instead of the solid blue color. However 1 represents a LED and the others do not, imo. To me, they look more like the lights in vintage radio and stereo equipment. So never mind me, artistic choices are totally up to you. Carry on!

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 16:33   #88
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
I should have realized that what I'm talking about is an intentional design choice.
This is the technique which I was applying while creating those buttons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Carry on!
Avec plaisir!
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 19:03   #89
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Hi PeterK.,

Winamp has 3 ways to change the track run time from displaying the remaining time or the elapsed time. The keyboard "Ctrl+T" shortcut, the main context menu "Options" sub-menu commands, and by clicking on the run time in the main player window/panel.

I just noticed that only clicking on the run time in the main player window works in this skin. However, "Ctrl+T" does change what is enabled on the main context menu "Options" sub-menu.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 19:32   #90
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
... I just noticed that only clicking on the run time in the main player window works in this skin. However, "Ctrl+T" does change what is enabled on the main context menu "Options" sub-menu.
The reason why you cannot use the context menu or keyboard shortcut is the oldtimer script which on one side shows an additional "0" in the running time but on the other "blocks/disables" the "switch option".

So yes, you can only switch from Time elapsed to Time remaining by clicking on the running time on the MainPlayer. I just do not know how to combine both features: additional "0" and working keyboard short cut. (and I do not want to delete the former one )
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2017, 17:36   #91
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
I linked the side panels of both VU Meters (analog and digital) to the Main Player which means that changing the side panels color on the Main Player will automatically change the color on the VU Meters. Now you can choose between brown, red and black.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SidePanels.PNG
Views:	228
Size:	820.5 KB
ID:	53270  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 09:13   #92
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
This is the last feature for the upcoming version 1.3.
I added a colorButton on each VU Meter so now you can switch between beige/blue scale background and green/blue LEDs.

The small LED on the analog VU Meter indicates which color scheme was chosen: beige or blue.



The same pattern works on the digital VU Meter but in green or blue color:



And this is how the digital VU Meter looks like with more colors:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VU.png
Views:	209
Size:	216.4 KB
ID:	53287   Click image for larger version

Name:	VU_beige.png
Views:	210
Size:	711.1 KB
ID:	53290   Click image for larger version

Name:	VU_blue.png
Views:	232
Size:	706.5 KB
ID:	53292  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2017, 16:20   #93
PEACE101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
hello, am having a problem friend with alternating skins when i click next
PEACE101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2017, 19:18   #94
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
[FONT="Verdana"]I removed the Side Panels (SP) button from the Equalizer drawer and added a context menu entry "Side Panels" which contains three sub menus: brown, dark brown, red and black. These are the colors for the side panels which you have on the Main Player, VU Meter (analog) and VU Meter (digital).

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sidepanels_contextmenu.png
Views:	182
Size:	6.4 KB
ID:	53300  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 19:49   #95
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Hello again,

I must be honest with you: I am still experimenting with my VU Meters and their design. One thing is sure, I added a new color to both meters so you can now choose between beige/blue and brown on the analog meter and brown/blue/green on the digital.

The color option on the analog VU Meter changes also the color of the menu button background. In addition I would like to point out here that these buttons are disabled while Winamp is in POWER OFF mode. Following the same pattern like on the Main Player, only the color toggle buttons work in that (lights off) mode.

The colors on both meters work totally independently from each other, there is not link whatsoever. You may choose blue scale and green LED's, it's up to you. Do as you please!

Oh yes, I also added three new color themes (VU Beige, VU Blue and VU Brown) which correspond almost perfectly with the chosen scale color.

Let's head over to the "goodies" now! I have three new screenshots for you.

This is the beige color theme:



This would be the blue one:



And the brown one:



And what's your favorite color scheme?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VU beige.png
Views:	168
Size:	609.0 KB
ID:	53304   Click image for larger version

Name:	VU blue.png
Views:	163
Size:	606.0 KB
ID:	53305   Click image for larger version

Name:	VU brown.png
Views:	165
Size:	606.6 KB
ID:	53306  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 21:15   #96
ariszlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 266
All three look cool but if I had to choose one then right now I would say the brown theme.
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2017, 15:35   #97
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Will the external VU meters be re-sizable?

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2017, 10:35   #98
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Will the external VU meters be re-sizable?
Nope.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2017, 17:10   #99
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
In respond to Aminifu's request I would like to confirm that there will be an additional bitmap file within the upcoming version 1.4 of my skin with dark OPTION- and PLAYBACK-buttons:



I will also add a toggle button which will provide the ability to switch between the light and the dark look.

Please remember: adding dark background will lead to a more simple look of the buttons because the "cut-out-technique" used in the light blue buttons cannot be applied here.

And the exact colors are still subject to change.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dark_buttons.PNG
Views:	92
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	53345  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2017, 14:38   #100
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Thank you, PeterK. The dark buttons option (as shown in the screenshot above) is exactly what I was hoping for.

I suggest you add a PayPal donations link to this skin's credits and acknowledgements page. The donation link on the download page is for Winaero and I would rather donate directly to you.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2017, 19:46   #101
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Thank you, PeterK. The dark buttons option (as shown in the screenshot above) is exactly what I was hoping for.
I am afraid I made my promise a little bit too soon. While changing the script files I realized that those blue buttons on Medialibrary window are Winamp's buttons and not Quinto's. Thus I cannot assign more than one particular bitmap file to those so called wasabi-buttons:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
... and I would rather donate directly to you.
I'm gonna be rich! I'm gonna be rich!!! LOL ...

Thank you very much Aminifu for your noble intention. I will think about it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Blue_Buttons.png
Views:	83
Size:	179.8 KB
ID:	53348  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2017, 11:53   #102
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
I forgot to mention that in order to avoid adding a toggle button to every single conatiner window (Playlist Editor, MediaLibrary, Video, Visualizer and Color Themes) I decided to make a new context menu option called Button Color which will be responsible for the background color of all additional buttons, which my skin provide on those windows.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	button_color.png
Views:	73
Size:	298.7 KB
ID:	53353  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2017, 07:58   #103
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
With some help from Ariszló, who provided the link to a particular skin with an "About" option, I am as well adding such feature to my skin.

It will give you short information about the skin and its current version. In addition, there will be two toggle buttons: one leading to this forum thread and another one to the download page at winaero.com. I might as well add some changelog lines. We shall see.

On top of that I will add a (real!) 3D picture of the MainPlayer. The first draft of that idea would look more or less like in this following screenshot:



Being honest I am very tempted to make a small animation/intro for this "About" section but unfortunately the size of that particular file would make the entire skin three times bigger. Is it worth it?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Quinto in 3D.png
Views:	47
Size:	184.3 KB
ID:	53364  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2017, 19:18   #104
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
While browsing the web I discovered a 10 years old pdf-file about "Winamp 2.x Skinning". Being honest I did not find anything brand new and useful for me but one section definitely caught my attention: <snappoint>. As we know all windows (normally) snap into all sides of the the Main Player. Too bad it never worked properly for Quinto. And it took me a while to find the cause of this annoyance. A window does not snap into the right and the bottom edge of the Main Player because this is where the Album Art Drawer and Equalizer Drawer appear. These two drawers make the Main Player bigger than it really is (820 pixel wide instead of 610 pixel). So I had to create two additional <snappoints> for Quinto's Main Player.

UPDATE: I wrote this post some days ago, and deleted it immediately, because windows still do not snap properly to the right and bottom edge of the Main Player. I would call it: unstable. They do now, but will not ten minutes later.

I am still looking into this.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 03:43   #105
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
...

Being honest I am very tempted to make a small animation/intro for this "About" section but unfortunately the size of that particular file would make the entire skin three times bigger. Is it worth it?

Maybe on the download page, but not as part of the skin itself, imho.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:51   #106
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Maybe on the download page ...

Actually, this is not a bad idea at all. A nice animated GIF would fit perfectly on that download page. I have to talk to winaero.

Some short messages besides that:

1) The 3D picture is getting better and better, I will soon finish that screenshot and include it to the About section:



2) For the upcoming About window I created something new. The entire window background will be transparent with no border/frame at all and as big as your desktop while the content section will be placed (automatically) in the middle of your desktop. The script file "grabs" your desktop's width and height and computes the middle lines through the viewport where the content background will be shown. In order to close the About window, just use the right mouse and click on About again.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	quinto_3D.png
Views:	1
Size:	282.2 KB
ID:	53411  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Tags
color theme, modern skin, peterk, quinto black, victhor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump