Old 13th June 2010, 09:29   #1
kporter20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Show installer progress in taskbar (Windows 7)

Hi there.

Is it possible to show installer progress via the taskbar icon in Windows 7?

I have just been installing the latest Paint .NET and noticed that this feature was present?

Thanks
kporter20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 10:15   #2
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
This is done via ITaskbarList3::SetProgressValue. One would need to modify NSIS or call this using the System plug-in.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 12:22   #3
MSG
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,892
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/TaskbarProgress_plug-in
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 21:10   #4
kporter20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSG View Post
Thanks. I will give this a try!
kporter20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 13:38   #5
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Ah sweet!

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2010, 23:05   #6
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
I've also created a small header for use outside of InstFiles (or other pages with a progressbar) / in conjunction with Anders' plug-in (to change progressbar states, e.g.).
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/Set_Taskbar_button_progress

Note that this does -not- replace Anders' plug-in, as Anders' plugin automatically syncs to a progressbar, which is rather useful within InstFiles, whereas the header obviously does not.
Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 20:59   #7
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,366
this plugin does nothing for me, at least not with MUI
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 21:12   #8
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yathosho View Post
this plugin does nothing for me, at least not with MUI
Just to get the obvious out of the way... you -are- running Windows 7, right?

And if you are.. you are -not- using a custom skinning app that might replace/skin the taskbar... right?
Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 21:34   #9
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,366
win7 - yes
skin - no
the example works perfectly
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2010, 23:55   #10
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yathosho View Post
the example works perfectly
No idea, then... works fine here with MUI2 as well. From the plugin's example code, I merely changed...

code:

; added
!include "MUI2.nsh"
; changed
Outfile "Win7TaskbarProgress_mui2.exe"
; further original code here
!insertmacro MUI_LANGUAGE "English"

Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2010, 12:02   #11
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,366
you don't have to use MUI_PAGE_COMPONENTS_SHOW (or similiar - i'm on a mac right now) anymore? that's probably why it didn't work, will test it when i get home!
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2010, 12:17   #12
Animaether
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,173
You do if you want to mess with the components page - but the example invokes the plugin on initialization of the InstFiles page, so anything regarding to a components page should be moot.
Animaether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2010, 18:14   #13
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yathosho View Post
you don't have to use MUI_PAGE_COMPONENTS_SHOW (or similiar - i'm on a mac right now) anymore? that's probably why it didn't work, will test it when i get home!
oops, that was a typo. i'm actually used MUI_PAGE_CUSTOMFUNCTION_PRE

and it works with MUI_PAGE_CUSTOMFUNCTION_SHOW. my bad.
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2010, 13:29   #14
Anders
Moderator
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ${NSISDIR}
Posts: 5,420
The plugin will only work when a page has a windows progress bar (The component page has no progress bar, so why are we even talking about it?)

IntOp $PostCount $PostCount + 1
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Tags
progress, taskbar, windows 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump