Old 10th December 2003, 00:03   #1
DJLH
Junior Member
 
DJLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevenage, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to DJLH
Winamp 5

Hi, I have Winamp 5 installed on my machine, plays CD's no problem, but when it come to change track, it does not mix straight in, there is a pause of a second... really annoying when listening to Hard House mixes, Anyone got any idea's or will it be all fixed when it's released to the public?
DJLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:29   #2
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
First, you've incorrectly started a new thread in the "soon-to-be-archived-only-for-legacy-support" Winamp3 Tech Support forum. You do not have Winamp3. You have Winamp. A completely separate product. More specifically, you do not have Winamp3 v1.0. You have Winamp v5.0

Anyway, in Winamp 5.0, try this...
CTRL+P to open preferences > Plug-ins > Output > DirectSound output v2.2.8
Go to the "Other" tab and under "Silence remover" check the checkbox to the left of "Remove silence at the beginning / end of track". Also move the slidebar to change the Cutoff threshold if necessary. You may also need to change buffer length under the "Buffer" tab.

OK. I'm now moving this misplaced thread to the proper forum.

See this main forums page screenshot of where to place all Winamp 5.0 related posts...


* N0TE: Winamp 2 forums will be renamed simply to just Winamp forums very soon (to also include Winamp v5.0), as soon as Winamp 5.0 Final is offered as the official download at Winamp.com (as soon as Winamp3 is no longer offered for download and becomes an unsupported legacy product)

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:34   #3
DJLH
Junior Member
 
DJLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevenage, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to DJLH
ok.......i'll give it a go
DJLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:38   #4
DJLH
Junior Member
 
DJLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevenage, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to DJLH
Nope.... still doing it, but it's less that a second now, was wondering if it's something to do with my cd drive...?
DJLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:45   #5
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
OK. It appears as if you are looking for "gapless" playback. Remember when I said above that you might have to also change the buffer length under the "Buffer" tab?

So, in addition to what I said above, also try this...
Under the "Buffer" tab, increase "Buffer ahead on track change" time (move the slidebar to the right). Perhaps change it to a range between 300ms - 1000ms.

Let us know how it goes.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:57   #6
DJLH
Junior Member
 
DJLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stevenage, UK
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to DJLH
Sorted.... Thanks M8...
I set the "Buffer Length" to 300ms and the "Buffet-ahead on track change" to 300ms as well.... smooth crossover
DJLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2003, 00:59   #7
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Very good
Happy Winamping!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump