Old 12th December 2003, 22:57   #1
xdamiancx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Winamp5 Question

hi there i was wondering if there is anyway to turn on the option in winamp5 that will let me switch between playlists just like winamp3 had?
xdamiancx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 00:09   #2
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
[Moved: WA3D > WAD]

Nope. You can have multiple playlists in the Media Libraty though, under Playlists. They then can be switches using the "Manage Playlists" button in the Playlist Editor
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 01:37   #3
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Yes. What Sawg says works just fine and that is what I do all the time. It's a breeze

But... patience is a virtue and if you WAIT (don't ask how long), then DrO (Magical Genie of Winamp plugins) is currently working on (incomplete) a new project...

Extended Playlist

And one of the features he will implement will be what you are looking for. So just keep checking that thread. When it's ready, you'll know (and not before).

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 01:58   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
I can see us getting loads of posts like this when 5.0F is on winamp.com
from people who've only ever used Winamp3
and assume that Winamp 5.0 is an upgrade from Winamp3
whereas, as we all know, it's the direct upgrade from Winamp 2.9x

[whiney n00b voice]
Where's the multiple playlists?
Where's enqueue/dequeue?
Where's sort by artist/album/track/length?
Where's repeat one?
Why doesn't my WAC work?
Why aren't prefs & id3 editor skinned?
blah bleh blah etc etc
[/whiney n00b voice]

Start gathering your cut+paste links . . . now!

Here's a few I prepared earlier:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....80#post1134980
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=158335
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=157068
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....52#post1182552
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=155731


muahahahaha


j/k btw
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 02:09   #5
xdamiancx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
I can see us getting loads of posts like this when 5.0F is on winamp.com
from people who've only ever used Winamp3
and assume that Winamp 5.0 is an upgrade from Winamp3
whereas, as we all know, it's the direct upgrade from Winamp 2.9x

[whiney n00b voice]
Where's the multiple playlists?
Where's enqueue/dequeue?
Where's sort by artist/album/track/length?
Where's repeat one?
Why doesn't my WAC work?
Why aren't prefs & id3 editor skinned?
blah bleh blah etc etc
[/whiney n00b voice]

Start gathering your cut+paste links . . . now!

Here's a few I prepared earlier:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....80#post1134980
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=158335
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=157068
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....52#post1182552
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=155731


muahahahaha
ive been around since the 1st winamp came out... just letting u know that im not a n00b
xdamiancx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 02:11   #6
xdamiancx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
And thanks for the help Nunzio!
xdamiancx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 02:15   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that DrO seems to be in most of those threads - needs to get out more i think

@xdamiancx: as Nunzio said if you can wait then it should be possible (just involves a lot of fun on my part to get it working properly).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 02:16   #8
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Maybe an "Upgrading from Winamp3" thead? replace the "Development FAQ" or somthing?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 02:52   #9
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
too bad most n00bs don't like to read stickies. Good idea on the "Upgrading..." thread though. should get rid of some, and provide a common place for the info in DJ Egg's links. Sawg, you could throw your most requested features in there, and/or a link to it.
WHEREamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 03:26   #10
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Well for now I've just created a bookmark to Egg's post above, entitled n00b cut n paste links courtesy of Egg

But I agree that both Sawg and WHEREamI might be onto something there too. Sounds good to me.

@ xdamiancx...
Quote:
And thanks for the help Nunzio!
Yer welcome but don't thank me. Thank DrO instead. He's the man! It's his baby!

Just check out his "over-stuffed" sig to see all he's done so far (and all in an amazingly short time too). That and more of his programming prowess can be found in the Most Requested Features / Plug-ins Sticky thread.

DrO is the Magical Genie of Winamp plugins / enhancement!! Ask once and your wish is granted!!

Forums member: "Hello. Can somebody make this or do that for Winamp?"
DrO: "Hmmm. I don't see why not."

DrO: "Your wish has been granted!"
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 03:43   #11
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
[whiney n00b voice]
.
.
Why doesn't my WAC work?
.
.
[/whiney n00b voice]
I really doubt there will be a lot of forum members admitting to something like that
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 03:57   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
LOL JM! It took awhile (I'm probably getting senile) but I think I get it now.
Why doesn't my WAC work as in WAC-off.
A n00b probably wouldn't have any idea of what a WAC really is anyway
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 04:09   #13
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
lol


@ xdamiancx
No disrespect was intended. My post wasn't personally directed at you.
It was a mere generalization / afterthought kinda thing.

@ all

Yup, I suppose we could add something to the Winamp 5 Beta & Pro FAQ thread.
Then again, the thread title itself will need to change very soon,
to eg. The Winamp 5 FAQ

Of course, WHEREamI is right. There's no guarantee that people will read or even see stickys. I guess the ones that do are the ones who don't post. And the ones who do post will just be given cut+paste links. It's always been this way, don't expect it to change...

Of course, ideally, it would be nice if all the relevant info was provided on winamp.com itself, either on the main/download page or Online Help page . . . but something tells me it won't be.


T minus 2
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 04:16   #14
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Investment time! I am going to buy some shares in Pfizer stock.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 07:19   #15
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
[Moved: WA3D > WAD]

Nope. You can have multiple playlists in the Media Libraty though, under Playlists. They then can be switches using the "Manage Playlists" button in the Playlist Editor
If you are using classic skins you will have to right-click the list button.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 07:29   #16
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,398
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Wow, damn, iron2000, how did you find that out?

DJ Egg, our old problem is kinda solved now, no?

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 15:17   #17
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Doh!

Hey, I knew that . . . just momentarily forgot about it when we were discussing it, that's all . . . lol

Cheers for reminding us iron2000

Marvellous!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 15:28   #18
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
I can see us getting loads of posts like this when 5.0F is on winamp.com
from people who've only ever used Winamp3
and assume that Winamp 5.0 is an upgrade from Winamp3
whereas, as we all know, it's the direct upgrade from Winamp 2.9x

[whiney n00b voice]
Where's the multiple playlists?
Where's enqueue/dequeue?
Where's sort by artist/album/track/length?
Where's repeat one?
Why doesn't my WAC work?
Why aren't prefs & id3 editor skinned?
blah bleh blah etc etc
[/whiney n00b voice]

Start gathering your cut+paste links . . . now!

Here's a few I prepared earlier:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....80#post1134980
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=158335
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=157068
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....52#post1182552
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=155731


muahahahaha


j/k btw
I'm predicting a sticky for this purpose allone

Phear the headbanging llama!!!

http://dipso.deviantart.com <- Art, Graphics, Photography.
Dipso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 15:28   #19
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg...
Of course, ideally, it would be nice if all the relevant info was provided on winamp.com itself, either on the main/download page or Online Help page . . . but something tells me it won't be.
Hmmm. Now I wonder what would make you say that?
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2003, 15:39   #20
Jumper001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 125
Right-click.. 'doh!

Yeah, that makes it all better.
Jumper001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 21:04   #21
jet_zeta
Junior Member
 
jet_zeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
one question...what about winamp 4??? the was a 1, 2, and a 3, then it jumped to 5 without a four. what's up with that??
jet_zeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 21:45   #22
FunkyFender55
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to FunkyFender55
It's called Winamp 5 because it is a combination of Winamp 3 and Winamp 2.

Winamp 2 + Winamp 3 = Winamp 5
FunkyFender55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 21:47   #23
Kieran Walker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 155
Good Christ, imagine how many "What happened to Winamp 4" threads there are gonna be in here when the new site goes live. o_O;
Kieran Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 21:52   #24
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
Why is everyone suddenly hateful against newbies? Newbies are the future. We were once newbies and were helped through the mind boggling questions, either that or you made friends with elite guys quickly and got all the newbness out in one chat.

Just help the newbies out by making big flashy buttons that point to the FAQ.

5
3 I encode my music in Ogg Vorbis
2
I know enough about music and computers not to like computerized music.
evil_oj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:22   #25
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
can we make the strings "winamp 4" and "winamp4" forum badwords plz?

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:34   #26
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Or make a sticky "looking for winamp 4?" thread.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 23:36   #27
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
yea or call it "THIS happened to Winamp4!!!"

Phear the headbanging llama!!!

http://dipso.deviantart.com <- Art, Graphics, Photography.
Dipso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2003, 07:00   #28
swhite
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 84
Winamp3 should have been called Wasabi Player in the first place -- it would have prevented so much confusion! I'm kind of sad that Wasabi never really went anywhere, even though Winamp5 really is a far better product. I did like the fact that all windows were skinned in Winamp3.

Shayne
swhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump