Old 22nd August 2006, 19:06   #481
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Note: I've updated the Notes & Known Issues section of the main post :-)

Yes, RG Scanner works for mp3 & ogg

[edit]

not! (see below)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:11   #482
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Thanks. Just amazing, now I can use Winamp and haven't to use the commandline based vorbisgain.exe.
Koopa is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:12   #483
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
Will this work with vorbis files too?
Not yet It will before final release, tho
Benski is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:14   #484
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ahh crap. Looks like I'm getting too far ahead of myself :-o

Dang. It actually crashes with ogg's, heh.

/me updates the main post

[Edit]

gotta love internal updates ;-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:17   #485
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Not yet It will before final release, tho
No problem. (I wondered, because the file size of the 2 new .dll files is a little bit to small to contain vorbisgain.exe.

Or are their other abilities to scan ogg vorbis files, which I'm not aware about?)

Keep on your good work. This will be the best Winamp release.
Koopa is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:34   #486
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
In the Replay Gain settings: What does this do '[ ] Disable if preferred source is not available'?

Hmm. Is there a way to set a special target gain level (like 89db for mp3gain)? I'm not really used to dealing with replaygain, so excuse my probably dumb question (and blame MP3gain).

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:41   #487
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
In the Replay Gain settings: What does this do '[ ] Disable if preferred source is not available'?
If you have your source set to 'Album' but only 'Track' information is present, it will use 'Track' gain unless you tick this option. The option might go away, I admit it's a bit dumb

Quote:
Hmm. Is there a way to set a special target gain level (like 89db for mp3gain)? I'm not really used to dealing with replaygain, so excuse my probably dumb question (and blame MP3gain).
Use the pre-amp in the EQ if you don't like 89dB (or turn the volume up to avoid clipping
Benski is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 19:59   #488
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
No problem. Just wanted to know the target value.

If I am not mistaken the activation of replayGAIN will not affect my MP3 files at all, since they are already MP3gained to 89db. Just my (very few) wma and ogg files (from the moment on that they are supported)?

And where are the replay gain values stored? is there a database or do use tags?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8

Last edited by amano; 22nd August 2006 at 20:55.
amano is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 20:04   #489
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
And where are the replay gain values stored? is there a database or do use tags?
They are written to tags
Benski is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 20:24   #490
Psychonaut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Psychonaut
sry if it has posted already but i have there a question to the new 24 bit mode. the option is called "Allow 24 bit". what i have read here is that when you enable it, winamp ALWAYS plays files in 24 bit and extrapolate when files are in 16 bit. is that true or does winamp ONLY play the files in 24 bit when they are encoded in 24 bit? because i have a 'creative x-fi xtrememusic' soundcard and there is a option called "24 Bit Crystalizer" which should increase the sound... ;-)
so i don't like something that extrapolate or interpolate 24 bit sound
Psychonaut is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 20:42   #491
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Psychonaut
sry if it has posted already but i have there a question to the new 24 bit mode. the option is called "Allow 24 bit". what i have read here is that when you enable it, winamp ALWAYS plays files in 24 bit and extrapolate when files are in 16 bit. is that true or does winamp ONLY play the files in 24 bit when they are encoded in 24 bit? because i have a 'creative x-fi xtrememusic' soundcard and there is a option called "24 Bit Crystalizer" which should increase the sound... ;-)
so i don't like something that extrapolate or interpolate 24 bit sound
No. The new 24 bit mode just downconverts 32 bit floating-point (mathematical results from MP3, AAC, Vorbis, etc) to 24 bits instead of 16 bits. It never "upconverts" 16 to 24 bits
Benski is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 20:55   #492
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
OK. I thought about the whole thing again. So is it advisable to ReplayGain your already MP3gained Mp3s? To make sure that Winamp doesn't apply the general -6db gain to them. They are exempted from this global gain reduction only with a ReplayGain value in the tag, thus trying to make them equally loud with waves, wmas and others. Am I right?

Or does Winamp already detect mp3gained files somehow and exempts them from the global -6db gain reduction?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 20:58   #493
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
OK. I thought about the whole thing again. So is it advisable to ReplayGain your already MP3gained Mp3s? To make sure that Winamp doesn't apply the general -6db gain to them. They are exempted from this global gain reduction only with a ReplayGain value in the tag, thus trying to make them equally loud with waves, wmas and others. Am I right?

Or does Winamp already detect mp3gained files somehow and exempts them from the global -6db gain reduction?
Nope, it's going to apply the -6dB (mp3gain just adjusts the scalefactors, if I'm correct?). Since we're using the same loudness calculation algorithm as mp3gain, it should come out to 0dB adjustment (although doesn't mp3gain only has a resolution of 1.5dB - thought I read that somewhere).
Benski is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 21:09   #494
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Yeah. There will actually be an adjustment between 0 to 1.5db for those mp3gained files.

If I understand you correctly it is better to apply replaygain also for them. Because mp3gained files are already quiet and I do not want the -6db for them. I want that only for those files that are not as quiet yet (ie wma files which don't support any gain support yet). That would provide a pretty equal sound level for all sound formats (with or without gain support).

And thanks for your elaboration. I will stop to annoy you now

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 22nd August 2006, 22:54   #495
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Looks like I missed the build for my new pmp_usb.

Anyway, here you go usb fans: http://stashbox.org/uploads/1156287106/pmp_usb.dll

(note, there's an even newer version in the latest 5.25 public beta)

The new thing is, when it detects a drive, it will ask you if you want winamp to manage it or not. If you select not, then it will never ask you again about that particular drive.

This should fix pmp-related issues with winamp hanging on startup for people with funky encrypted partitions *cough*'seer*cough* (they can just select no when asked about it).

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 01:24   #496
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
i have a little question about 24 bit.. in the plug in_mod.dll i must set the 24bit output format? and enable 48000? and for max voices what i must set?
i have an xfi xtreme music
thank you!
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 01:36   #497
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
you can change in with notepad, just open what whatsnew.txt!
adios!

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 02:46   #498
jmbattle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Posts: 166
Hello, just upgraded to the latest beta and noticed that opening podcasts through the ML crash WinAMP.

Cheers,
James
x

EDIT: reverting back to in_mp3.dll from b834 fixes the issue - it appears to be related to all mp3 http:// streaming.
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (27.9 KB, 357 views)
jmbattle is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 02:56   #499
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@jmbattle
Hmm, can't reproduce the problem here.
Is this with one/all of the listed podcasts, or one that you're entering manually?

[edit]

Strange. Yeah, I can see in your log that it's crashing in in_mp3.
Not sure why though, but I'm sure Benski will look into it tomorrow.

_____________________________________________________________

@djsolidsnake86

The Output Format, Stereo, Surround options will be moved out of in_mod for the next build/final, and will be configurable via the global settings in Prefs > Playback instead. But yeah, in the current public betas, modules only use the settings from in_mod config.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 03:48   #500
engine
Junior Member
 
engine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: China
Posts: 31
New: Unicode filename and title support
Very nice!
Wish for the final version...
Attached Files
File Type: zip usefullib.zip (26.7 KB, 484 views)
engine is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 09:45   #501
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg

@djsolidsnake86

The Output Format, Stereo, Surround options will be moved out of in_mod for the next build/final, and will be configurable via the global settings in Prefs > Playback instead. But yeah, in the current public betas, modules only use the settings from in_mod config.
ok so now how i can configure the options of this plug ins?
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 09:48   #502
Thunder Pussy
Feed me a stray dog
(Major Dude)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,122
Oh my... replaygain support. Very very nice.

People have been asking for replaygain for years.

Thanks.
Thunder Pussy is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 09:52   #503
MasterViVi
Senior Member
 
MasterViVi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 290
Is it possible to:
- Make files sound the same volume;
- Not overly lower the volume?

I'm new to this replaygain stuff.
MasterViVi is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 11:09   #504
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
Winamp Freeze

When i'm usig the ML Winamp freezes. When track starting, seeking is freezes too but less. "Calculate RG" freezes and crashing Winamp.

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 11:17   #505
rxbbx
Junior Member
 
rxbbx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2
thnx

thnx for the update..
rxbbx is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 12:55   #506
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@Serpher
Please read all the notes at the end of the first post in the thread.
We can't reproduce the ML freezing problem. We'll need more info.
What file formats are crashing with the RG Analyzer?
As the notes say, only mp3 is supported in the current beta, with ogg and aac/m4a to follow soon. Scanning ogg's will crash the beta, as will scanning some 3rd-party formats like flac (as previously mentioned, we're waiting for the flac plugin license to be changed to lgpl before we can add things like rg calculation support).

@djsolidsnake86
Re: in_mod
Yes, with an X-Fi card you can safely enable 24-bit and 48000 KHz.
The 'max voices' is pretty irrelevant. Set it to whatever you want. I can't even remember what the default setting is, but I've currently got mine set to 256 (it's rare that any modules will ever have that many voices anyway).

Quote:
Originally posted by MasterViVi
Is it possible to:
- Make files sound the same volume
I think that is the whole point of ReplayGain. Naturally, it'll be more useful when more formats are supported (only mp3 is supported in the current beta, though ogg & aac are now working in the internal build, with m4a to follow shortly - not sure about the likes of wma & wav, forget about mod & midi).
Note that the preamp slider value in Prefs > Playback is 1) only enabled when RG is enabled, 2) only affects files without RG info, and 3) always resets to -6dB after closing & reopening Winamp (bug is fixed in latest internal build). Setting the preamp to 0 dB will not lower the volume on any files without RG info (or any formats that don't support it).

@engine
Umm, pardon my ignorance, but what is it? Heh.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 13:28   #507
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
just a reminder...

MP3Gain adds the RG informations in ape tags, foobar2000 in id3 v2.4 tags and winamp in id3 v2.3 tags

Musepack has already the RG support (album & track mode), but the new ATF labels doesn't support it
flocksoft is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 13:39   #508
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Winamp actually uses id3 v2.4 now.
(hmm, maybe it currently just reads id3 v2.4, but writes as v2.3)...?

Musepack will need to update their plugin.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 13:44   #509
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Found another minor glitch, when you delete in_dshow and in_nsv, then there is no more video window. (already known I guess )

Result: .wmv videos just play with sound.

(Problem is, that users maybe uncheck DirectShow and NSV support in installer)
Koopa is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 13:56   #510
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Strange. I can't reproduce that problem here.
The video window (which is actually always there because it's part of winamp.exe) is visible/accessible for me when any of in_dshow, in_nsv or in_wm are present. This is also assuming that you've not removed WMV from in_wm config... which I suppose you can't have done because then wmv wouldn't play at all.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 14:02   #511
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Yeah in the modern skin there ist still a video window, but in the right click menu the entry Video is missing.

I tried it just with .wmv support then I hear just sound, I can reproduce it on 2 maschines with clean install. Can anyone else confirm this?
Quote:
is visible/accessible for me when any of in_dshow, in_nsv or in_wm are present.
Right click menu etc is just aviable when in_dsshow or in_nsv are present.

It's not there for me when just in_wm with .wmv support is installed. .wmv playback with classic skins just brings sound. If one of the other plug-ins is present (in_dsshow or in_nsv) wmv playback works fine and video menu is present via right click menu.
Koopa is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 14:07   #512
flocksoft
Major Dude
 
flocksoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Winamp actually uses id3 v2.4 now.
(hmm, maybe it currently just reads id3 v2.4, but writes as v2.3)...?
maybe it's so, indeed using Mp3tag to discover the tag format written by Winamp, I read id3 v2.3

anyway I use Unicode [UTF-16] format in mp3 input plugin to write tags

winamp 5.25 843
flocksoft is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 14:10   #513
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
maybe it's so, indeed using Mp3tag to discover the tag format written by Winamp, I read id3 v2.3
I guess Egg means that preliminary support for ID3v2.4 is there or He plays with a newer build as we.
Koopa is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 14:58   #514
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
@Koopatrooper
Right you are! My bad. I forgot I also had in_qt installed.
After disabling all of in_dshow, in_nsv & in_qt, then there's no video window or menu if in_wm is present (with asf & wmv properly associated). Thanks.

You're also right about the 'preliminary id3 2.4 support' theory, but wrong about any further developments in a newer build. It's still the same in that department.

From what I can gather, foobar writes to id3v2.4 and Winamp sees it, and Winamp writes to id3v2.3 and foobar sees it - so I can't see any problems there. However, as already mentioned, Winamp/in_mp3 doesn't see/support ape tags.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 15:34   #515
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by jmbattle
Hello, just upgraded to the latest beta and noticed that opening podcasts through the ML crash WinAMP.

Cheers,
James
x

EDIT: reverting back to in_mp3.dll from b834 fixes the issue - it appears to be related to all mp3 http:// streaming.
Did you by any chance delete aacPlusDecoder.w5s from the Winamp\System folder?
Benski is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 17:40   #516
Squashed
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: downstairs
Posts: 95
I'm still holding thumbs that this MP3 Stream Info Box bug gets fixed after all this years.
Maybe in 5.25?

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=243169
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=250822
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=244755
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....threadid=86420
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=181961
Squashed is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 17:48   #517
jdwis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Hi

Clean installed this 5.25 beta version on XP-SP2, everything seems to be working fine except MID files.

Volume does not work in log with MID files but for rest MP3 and WAV it works smooth, what I mean is while playing MID files, the volume goes high if moving Volume Bar from 0% to 1%, but then moving the volume bar from 2% to 100% the change does not seem noticable.

I generally work on MID files & this bug was there in 5.24 also but does not seem to be noticed by anybody.

Could you please check on this please.

rest seems good...
thanks m8..
jdwis is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 18:16   #518
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Hmn. In the configuration dialog of in_mid try to switch to the 'Direct Music/Microsoft Synthesiser (with output)' mode. This one seems to be the most robust Midi mode, with the diskwriter working, the vis working etc and thus should be used anyway. At least for me the volume works fine in this mode.

Would be great if this mode could be made the default.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 20:59   #519
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally posted by Squashed
I'm still holding thumbs that this MP3 Stream Info Box bug gets fixed after all this years.
Maybe in 5.25?
Use the Station Info window.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 23rd August 2006, 21:08   #520
MasterViVi
Senior Member
 
MasterViVi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 290
Bug:
- create playlist of several songs
- start to play "song X"
- delete "song X" from playlist
- hit pause
- see title of "song X" in main window change to something else, but still play the song.
MasterViVi is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump