Old 19th October 2006, 04:51   #1
rachin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
How get get x264 codec working for NSVTools?

I have experience in configuring h264 to work with NSV but this time around I'm just not able to get it going

I installed the latest fddshow from http://x264.nl/ and then set h264 to "Set all stable formats to libavcodec" in the VFW codec configuration. Then I downloaded nsv_coder_x264.dll and saved it to c:\program files\nsvtools folder.

I'm able to play the x264 format nsv files fine using Winamp but unable to bring up the config screen for x264 from nsvtools. I can see X264/VFW option in video format under NSVTools --> NSV --> Config --> Encoder Config but when I click on configure nothing happens. For vp62, vp61 or vp31 the configure screen brings up the settings screen.


I did pretty much the same steps I think on my laptop a while ago and when I click on configure the settings options for X264/VFW shows up. On my desktop though clicking on the configure button after having selected "X264/VFW" does absolutely nothing.

Am I suppose to install any more software on top of what I've installed already? I did a search and couldn't find an answer to this either on Google or on this forums.

Thanks in advance for any answers you may have for this, have a good one.
rachin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2006, 06:01   #2
rachin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Never mind got it working. I had installed the ffdw but did not install the x264 run time. If anyone finds with similar issues, download the x264 runtime from http://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...oad-29491.html and install it.
rachin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 20:04   #3
donwaffles
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
I'm having the same problem, and can't figure out what you mean, could you please help me?
donwaffles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 21:18   #4
wildex999
Senior Member
 
wildex999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 397
The latest X264 isn't built on VFW anymore, u have to find a separate build using that.

U can find it here I think:
http://gabextreme.googlepages.com/x264vfwunited
wildex999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 18:16   #5
jcena01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
No matter what I try/download I cannot get the x264/VFW pull down menu in NSVCap (NSV - config - encoder config) I tried all of Wildex's installs on that site and it is still not showing up.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-jcena
jcena01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2008, 09:21   #6
wildex999
Senior Member
 
wildex999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 397
I have used the exact same tools ons at least 3 different computers after a reinstall, always working, both on XP and vista =/
wildex999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2008, 13:53   #7
neilm717
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by jcena01
No matter what I try/download I cannot get the x264/VFW pull down menu in NSVCap (NSV - config - encoder config) I tried all of Wildex's installs on that site and it is still not showing up.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-jcena
Are you sure you have the nsv_coder_x264.dll shim in a location it can be found by the encoder/tools?.

Neil
[VoyageVideo - NSV on PeerCast]
neilm717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2008, 01:57   #8
navruzjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Hi, Wildex999.
Thank you for your efforts but your .dll files cannot encode video files and I cannot see config.
Can you review it again and fix the bugs pls? thank you for your blogs. We will click it everyday for sure.
navruzjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2009, 16:53   #9
navruzjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Can anybody give a hint of how to exploit v61 or v62.dll? I get an error on encoding the file. I could not adjust it. Thank you.
navruzjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2009, 17:05   #10
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
What kind of error are you getting ?

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 15:26   #11
navruzjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Thank you Sankt. Sorry, I forgot to look at that part.

I'm putting nsv_coder_vp61.dll, nsv_coder_vp62.dll, nsv_coder_aacp, nscrt.dll to NSVtools folder. When I start to configure, Windows closing the NSvate.

Is something wrong with nscrt.dll? I copied it from Winamp/plugins.
navruzjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 17:08   #12
sankt
Moderator
 
sankt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: www.ScenicRadio.com
Posts: 2,975
What are you trying to do with nscrt.dll ?

Scenic Television is your ambient window to the world - - Television.ScenicRadio.com
sankt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009, 21:35   #13
navruzjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
When I want to enter NSV cofiguration, the system is crying that not found nscrt.dll, so I copied it from Winamp/plugins but now it is closing all NSVATE.
navruzjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009, 01:01   #14
navruzjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
I did it finally. That was nothing about nscrt.dll. After my installing windows service pack, it is solved.

Sankt, Thank you anyway.
navruzjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 12:11   #15
pumbaa2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 42
Ahh yes, X264... Any new links to this vfw codec plus the nsv_coder.dll? Since all of megaupload is ruled by the government now???
pumbaa2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2012, 06:13   #16
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
The latest x264 with vfw should work.

Here is the source code for the nsv_coder_x264's and a lame audio mp3 coder

As is.... may have to build or rename the output to nsv_coder_...


http://code.google.com/p/comserver/d...svCoderSDK.zip
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2012, 09:49   #17
pumbaa2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 42
Indeed. I found a curious problem tho. I ran across a x264 Stream on the Shoutcast TV Guide. It seems that Winamp won't play them by default. I take it Winamp failed to implement that video codec inside their player like they did with VP6 and VP8. So this may actually be the best plan unfortunately. Is Winamp going to include x264 in any of their builds anytime soon?
pumbaa2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2012, 18:49   #18
Smelter
Major Dude
 
Smelter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,141
change the poo type to 'H264' from x264 and see what happens.

vp8 decoding is included in winamp so you can guarantee support for that without the decoder.
Smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast TV / Nullsoft Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump