Old 4th April 2010, 10:22   #1
NinnyB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Sound Mixer issue w/ Windows 7

Hey all--

I'm a little desperate and a little freaking out. My old xp puter took a dump, so we just bought a new one running on 7.

I'm a singer who webcasts over winamp, using the dsp plug in to mix my voice into the stream. With xp, this was simple. The sound mixer on the input tab always opened, we'd select the 'what you hear' option, and voila....voice and music.

I cannot get both things to broadcast simultaneously on 7. We can get my voice only choosing soundcard input on the input tab, or music only choosing winamp, but without being able to open the sound mixer, I don't know what to do.

Anyone familiar with this issue or know a way to circumvent it through the volume/sound settings on windows 7? I've been looking around on forums, but haven't found any concrete, helpful info. TIA to anyone who can help me.

NB.
NinnyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 13:49   #2
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Common problem for win7 as the mixer id the same as the vista mixer and doesnt play nicely with shoutcast.

Its time to either get a decent soundcard or an external mixer.

there is no easy fix to be honest.

A quick search will give you lots of information....
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....=windows+mixer

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....=windows+mixer
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 14:05   #3
NinnyB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
TY....I noticed in the threads you linked to the response that you own a soundcard that 7 recognizes? Can I ask which you bought and about how much things like that cost?
NinnyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2010, 23:28   #4
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
it is an M-audio Delta lt1010

Not cheap but worth every penny as i use it for pro use.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2010, 11:27   #5
philtabest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 10
Same problem here.

Hello,

I have the same problem here, there is one thing I am going to try out later though. It sounds a bit OTT, but what my idea is, is to purchase a 2 to 1 3.5MM jack extender, play winamp, but set the Shoutcast DSP to stream from microphone and plug both the Microphone and the line out into the mic port.

I will let you know how I get on with this.

Philip
philtabest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2010, 22:43   #6
philtabest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 10
Worked, but there was 2 problems the first one being the sound quality was not as good when it went through the line in port and the second was that you cannot list what song is playing.
philtabest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
incompatibility, shoutcast plugin, sound mixer won't open, winamp, windows 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump