Old 3rd September 2015, 04:01   #1
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Exclamation coding :(

Is there any nice peeps out there to give just a little coding help plz....

It displays the mainbase ok but nothing else


thanks in advance
Steven


skin.xml
PHP Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>

<WinampAbstractionLayer version="0.8">
    <skininfo>
        <version>1.0</version>
              <name>YourSkinName</name>
              <comment>Enter some comment here.</comment>
              <email>YourEmail@somewhere.com</email>
              <homepage>http://www.YourWebpage.com</homepage>
              <screenshot>skin.png</screenshot>
    </skininfo>
    <include file="xml/player.xml" />
    <include file="xml/pledit.xml"/>
    <include file="xml/thinger.xml"/>
    <include file="xml/eq.xml"/>
</WinampAbstractionLayer>

<!-- player.xml -->
    <include file="player-elements.xml"/>
<container id="main" name="Main Window" default_x="0" default_y="0" default_visible="1">
       <include file="player-normal.xml"/>
</container>

<!-- player-elements.xml -->
<elements>
    <!-- Background -->
    <bitmap id="player.normal.background" file="player/mainbase.png"/>
    <!-- Buttons Bottom -->
    <bitmap id="player.normal.button.pp.up" file="player/ppup.png"/>
    <bitmap id="player.normal.button.pp.down" file="player/ppdown.png"/>
       <!-- Speakers -->
       <bitmap id="player.normal.speaker.left" file="player/speakerleft.png"/>
       <bitmap id="player.normal.speaker.right" file="player/speakerright.png"/>
</elements>

<!-- player-normal.xml -->

<include file="player-normal-group.xml"/>

<layout id="normal" w="340" h="440" desktopalpha="1" droptarget="pldr">
       <group id="player.normal.group.base" x="0" y="0"/>
</layout>

<layout id="speakers" w="710" h="354" desktopalpha="1" droptarget="pldr">
    <group id="player.normal.group.speakers" x="-185" y="0"/>
</layout>

<!-- player-normal-group.xml -->

<groupdef id="player.normal.group.base" w="340" h="440">
    <!-- 0,0 -->
           <layer id="MainBase" image="player.normal.background" x="0" y="0" sysregion="1"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="player.normal.group.cbuttons" w="260" h="80">
    <!-- 40,320 -->
        <button
              id="Previous" action="PREV"
              x="0" y="50"
              image="player.normal.button.pp.up"
              downImage="player.normal.button.pp.down"
              tooltip="Previous Track"
              sysregion="1"
           />
          <button
              id="Stop" action="STOP"
              x="36" y="50"
              image="player.normal.button.pp.up"
              downImage="player.normal.button.pp.down"
              tooltip="Stop"
              sysregion="1"
           />
        <button
          id="Play" action="PLAY"
              x="232" y="50"
              image="player.normal.button.pp.up"
              downImage="player.normal.button.pp.down"
              tooltip="Play"
              sysregion="1"
        />
        <button
           id="Pause" action="PAUSE"
              x="232" y="50"
              image="player.normal.button.pp.up"
              downImage="player.normal.button.pp.down"
              tooltip="Pause"
              sysregion="1"
        />
        <button
              id="Next" action="NEXT"
              x="230" y="50"
              image="player.normal.button.pp.up"
              downImage="player.normal.button.pp.down"
              tooltip="Next Track"
              sysregion="1"
   />
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="player.normal.group.speakers" w="710" h="354">
    <!-- 35,40 -->
           <layer id="SpeakerLeft" image="player.normal.speaker.left" x="0" y="0"/>
           <layer id="SpeakerRight" image="player.normal.speaker.right" x="528" y="0"/>
</groupdef>
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2015, 19:14   #2
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,321
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Use the following as a source for how to use the xml/abstraction layering....


WMC_ADOElite_3.5.wal

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 00:22   #3
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Everything seems fine for me there..
Try to set the W and H of he buttons on player-elements.xml (i.e.
<bitmap id="player.normal.button.pp.up" file="player/ppup.png" x="0" y="0" w="10" h="10"/>

Maybe if you zip me the files I can see what's happening.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 05:52   #4
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Wink files

here's hoping you can help

one question if your player main box is 500x500 and your speakers are outside of that do you give them a new abstraction layer?

tvm
steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 12:09   #5
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
You forgot your attachment..

The speakers should be on a different container I think, but I never experimented in that..

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 14:39   #6
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Cool sawy

oops lol
Attached Files
File Type: zip skin.zip (1.7 KB, 93 views)
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 17:17   #7
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
You didn't put the graphics in the zip on purpouse? Never mind, I managed to replicate the skin all the same..

BUT looks like in the zip you uploaded there is a couple of mistakes, the most important being:- In player-elements.xml you declared <bitmap id="player.normal.button.pp.up"...> but when you try to insert it on the skin you missed one period "player.normaLButton.pp.up" (between the L and B). I fixed both names to be the exactly equal and the button showed up.

The code you put up there is fixed though.. so you may be messing with your files versions and / or folders.. try to not duplicate your folders while working or just name each version with a different number..

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 21:44   #8
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
grafix

didn't think you needed them

now I get an error old version crap grrrrrrrrrrrr

here is where I am at a.t.m.

Thanks
Steven
Attached Files
File Type: xml skin.xml (570 Bytes, 112 views)
File Type: xml player.xml (204 Bytes, 93 views)
File Type: xml player-elements.xml (515 Bytes, 100 views)
File Type: xml player-normal.xml (268 Bytes, 101 views)
File Type: xml player-normal-group.xml (1.3 KB, 93 views)
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2015, 21:46   #9
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Cool more

png's
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mainbase.png
Views:	99
Size:	1.51 MB
ID:	51935   Click image for larger version

Name:	mainlcd.png
Views:	101
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	51936   Click image for larger version

Name:	speaker.png
Views:	109
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	51937  
Attached Images
  
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 03:54   #10
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Again, your button is mispelled. "player.normalbutton.pp.up" instead of "player.normal.button.pp.up".
You'll have to be more careful with these things if you want to see some progress on your skinning.. (without losing much more time from what's already needed)

The version thing is solved by changing
<WinampAbstractionLayer version="0.8">
for
<WinampAbstractionLayer version="1.35">

which is the newest available.

As a side comment, you should drop the Thinger, it's deprecated on Winamp 5.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 04:46   #11
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Thumbs down error

hmm that wasn't the files I had fixed grr ... sorry
I fixed that but still gave me line 7 error

not well formed invalid token .. what does that mean?
Attached Files
File Type: xml player-normal-group.xml (1.2 KB, 110 views)
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 05:36   #12
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
forget that I got buttons viewing and working lol woohoo!!
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 06:08   #13
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottiescotsman View Post
hmm that wasn't the files I had fixed grr ... sorry
I fixed that but still gave me line 7 error

not well formed invalid token .. what does that mean?
It means you're still being unfocused little padawan..

On this line (actually a couple of lines higher than the 7th mentioned) you missed a closing quotation mark:
<groupdef id="player.normal.group.cbuttons" w="260" h="80>
Which is causing the error to show on the next object actually (a button IIRC).

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 08:24   #14
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Cool steaming on

sorry I know I saw it and fixed it

got all main buttons working ... song ticker works but doesn't scroll lol

might have added it to wrong xml lol

quick q. can I set the text in the ticker to be all caps ? or do I need image text?

oh... thanks for the help ok


Thanks
Steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 08:40   #15
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
It's ok, nice to see you're progressing!

About the caps thing, try to add forceupcase="1".

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 09:24   #16
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
ok that code works a treat m8...

and where should I put the ticker as its not moving lol

I also just want the song name n one ticker and the artist on another but cant get it and have tried a few ways to do it and read the web addy ... to no avail


Thanks
Steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 17:08   #17
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
got it moving geez I'm thick lol...

just this to fix then I on to the grafix as in eq and and flashy lights lol


once again thanks
Steven


ps. doing good for 24hr skinner lol
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 18:32   #18
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Indeed, remember to watch how other skins are done, that makes it really easier sometimes (just try not to look the very complex ones -MMD3, Invicta, all from Peter Clark, etc-, those can be pretty confusing sometimes)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 20:25   #19
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Exclamation help

cant get it to just display the artist tag or the song name either
PHP Code:
<Text
       id
="Songticker" ticker="1"
       
display="songname" nograb="1"
       
x="74" y="242" w="192" h="30"
       
font="player.timer.font" fontsize="32" color="0,0,0"
    
forceupcase="1" antialias="1"
/>
<
Text
       id
="Songticker" ticker="1"
       
display="songartist" nograb="1" 
       
x="74" y="264" w="192" h="20"
       
font="player.ticker.font" fontsize="16" color="0,0,0"
    
forceupcase="1" antialias="1"
/>    
<
Text
       id
="Timer"
       
display="time"
       
x="76" y="189" w="192" h="30"
       
align="center"
       
font="player.timer.font" fontsize="28" color="0,0,0"
       
antialias="1"
    
timeroffstyle="1"
       
timecolonwidth="5"
/> 
and the tickers can they go faster ?

thanks
Steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 20:58   #20
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
You won't be able to do that, just display the songticker on one line. You're doing it right, but for some reason / bug Winamp doesn't do what's expected.

There was an alternate solution to display separate lines for song, but I can't find the links now...

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 22:50   #21
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
any ideas where I could look ?
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 23:57   #22
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Couldn't fin the exact reference online, it was easier to "compile" my own files, here you go: sc_text.zip

See instructions inside sc_text.xml

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2015, 02:31   #23
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
just tried the .png font didn't work grr lol...

I'm getin there lol
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2015, 06:57   #24
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Surely if media library splits the song tags surely must be a script out there to do it ?
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 12:32   #25
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Smile found it

hey they I don't know why there isn't a tutorial on this maki coding stuff ...
its as if you all want to keep it to yourselves been using pc's since I was 12 now I'm 49.5 lol and unable to work because of heat complications so I got all the time, the good lord will let me have, to learn. and I bet there are a few who would learn it to done some vb, htlm, flash as3 and general coding stuff. What I'm trying to say is if more of us know the code then it would bring more peeps to winamp and so we get super big

OK.. got a skin with the exact animation I need for my volume wheel so I'm trying to figure out what parts I need lol ...

...any help be greatly appreciated
Steven

ps. fingers slapped
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 13:13   #26
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottiescotsman View Post
hey they I don't know why there isn't a tutorial on this maki coding stuff ...
its as if you all want to keep it to yourselves
there have been tutorials and I'd expect a fair few are still floating around. but the thing is that the heyday of doing such things was ~12 years ago so the information can and will get lost or is harder to find (and with no one really active making such skins anymore, that is why you're having such a hard time getting answers or finding the information as there's just not the knowledge bank anymore). so no one is intentionally keeping the information to themselves, there's just no one really out there anymore.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 13:41   #27
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
There are "just skinners" (me and maybe another 2 or 3), and coders with enough knowledge of MAKI... I would say there aren't anyone active anymore.
But that shouldn't stop you, all the skins I've done were done just by looking at other skins, countless hours of hit and miss and about almost ZERO input about MAKI related stuff. I can't really code scripts but I always managed to find (and / or modify as needed) some way to get what I wanted to do. And I achieved a lot (if you see the skin I'm working on right now... ).

The good part is that basically everything you may need, there was someone before needing it. So the tools are there, but in any case there is ALMOST no one to point it out.
I can't be a mentor for aaaall of your questions because I don't have that much time, but most of what I can teach you is already out there, basically being all the modern skins with XMLs and scripts from authors kind enough to offer (on the download) the source files as well (I would say 50% of what's available has the source code included).
But looking at the source file is a last resource, I think you can learn a lot of things before reaching that point (and as I said, most of what you need is already done somewhere else, it's just a matter of looking at how is done).

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 14:01   #28
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
I think I have found the xml code for the .png files... so its just a matter of figuring out the rest lol.

I know I can be a pain ... just want, so eager to learn

here we go
Steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 17:41   #29
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottiescotsman View Post
I think I have found the xml code for the .png files...
Are you still fighting with the song info? You don't need PNGs there, so I don't know what you're talking about.

Extra tip: Here you'll find a comprehensive list of the different XML objects + a brief explanation of each (i.e: under "<text/> & <Wasabi:Text/>" there are all the possible variables for your text / songticker).
I use it a lot: http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/XML_GUI_Objects

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2015, 21:48   #30
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Smile no no lol

I was referring to the volume wheel that I fond in anunaki skin

trying to work out where the code is for the actual .maki to work

cheers
Steven

ps. I can get the ticker to work good but I found a script that splits artist, trak and all that stuff but cant get it to move (ticker)
also got .png text to work also
playing around with loads of scripts to find out things all buttons work and mute pause and pl works...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mainbase.png
Views:	110
Size:	1.66 MB
ID:	51959  
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2015, 00:59   #31
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottiescotsman View Post
ps. I can get the ticker to work good but I found a script that splits artist, trak and all that stuff but cant get it to move (ticker)
also got .png text to work also
playing around with loads of scripts to find out things all buttons work and mute pause and pl works...
While fixing cPro2 I did a quick search among my skins for splitted songtickers and found Winamp Zune to have the best one (with ticker included, although it could have a right click option to disable it.. ). Downside was that it didn't included the source file so I had to rename my layer to the ones the author used, not big deal, works like a charm.


PS: Other downside of it is that it is limited to artist / album / title..

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 18:29   #32
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
Well I had it all working or most of it and I have done something dunno what or where or even when lol..... but I have pooped it
Had been at it near 48hrs straight trying to get it back but I am afraid its gone.
So I will leave it alone for a bit I think.... thought I had it then

Steven
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 19:56   #33
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Haha that happens sometimes.. Did you get some error message?

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 20:55   #34
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
yes emm using old format then xml or text declaration not at start of entity line 3

aaaaaaaarrgggghhhhhh
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 21:01   #35
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Not a clue, never seen that kind of error. Can you zip your files and send it to me? Over PM if you want. I could take a look.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 21:29   #36
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
here we go again

hi victhor

I was going to send you the skin I had gone back to with the error as that would have beem pointless as I did all the other work and you wouldn't have seen it.
So I'm sending you the skin I got to when it pOOped lol

Hope you can fix

Steven
Attached Files
File Type: xml skin.xml (506 Bytes, 86 views)
File Type: xml player.xml (209 Bytes, 68 views)
File Type: xml player-elements.xml (840 Bytes, 77 views)
File Type: xml player-normal.xml (389 Bytes, 80 views)
File Type: xml player-normal-group.xml (5.0 KB, 82 views)
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 21:37   #37
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
couldn't upload a zip ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mainbase.png
Views:	88
Size:	1.38 MB
ID:	51975   Click image for larger version

Name:	font1.png
Views:	82
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	51979  
Attached Images
   
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 22:00   #38
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
I need the zip of the files as you have it so I can trace the error there too. Why can't you upload the zip? Size problem?

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 22:20   #39
scottiescotsman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 181
just says error uploading

4.6mb eeK
scottiescotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2015, 22:33   #40
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
It shouldn't be that heavy, try to make a copy of your skin folder and flatten all your pngs. Your PNGs throw me some message about losing ability to edit because it had Fireworks properties, I guess it sort of has the embedded layers still? You shouldn't use those PNGs that way, try to flatten each one it into just 1 layer (meaning, one per file)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump