Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th September 2006, 12:28   #1
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Post All Winamp 5.3 Official Plugin Bug Reports In This Thread

Report ALL Winamp 5.3 Plugin bugs in this thread ONLY.

ALL OTHER REPORTS WILL BE DELETED (YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED).

INCOMPLETE\LAME REPORTS (AKA: IMPOSSIBLE TO REPRODUCE) WILL BE IGNORED.



Here is a LIST of the Official Plugins and their Versions that shipped with 5.3

Input:
Nullsoft CD plug-in (CDDB2) v3.21 [in_cdda.dll]
Nullsoft DirectShow Decoder v0.99 [in_dshow.dll]
Nullsoft LineIn plugin v3.11 [in_linein.dll]
Nullsoft MIDI player 3.11 [in_midi.dll]
Nullsoft Module Decoder v2.2.3 [in_mod.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder 4.0 [in_mp3.dll] (v4.01 update available)
Nullsoft MPEG-4 Audio Decoder v0.83 [in_mp4.dll]
Nullsoft NSV Decoder v1.07 [in_nsv.dll]
Nullsoft Vorbis Decoder v1.46 [in_vorbis.dll]
Nullsoft Waveform Decoder v3.01 [in_wave.dll]
Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder 3.22 [in_wm.dll]

Output:
DirectSound Output v2.45 (d) [out_ds.dll]
Waveout output v2.1 (d) [out_wave.dll]
Nullsoft Disk Writer Plug-in v2.11 [out_disk.dll]

Visualization:
Advanced Visualization Studio v2.81b [vis_avs.dll]
MilkDrop 1.04d [vis_milk.dll]
Nullsoft Tiny Fullscreen 2001 v2.07 [vis_nsfs.dll]

DSP/FX:
Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP v0.36 [dsp_sps.dll]

CD Ripping Encoders:
AAC/aacPlus Encoder v1.21 [enc_aacplus.dll]
MP4 AAC/aacPlus Encoder v1.21 [enc_aacplus.dll]
MP3 Encoder v1.31 [enc_lame.dll] (with lame_enc.dll 3.97 b2)
WAV Output (built-in)
WMA Encoder v1.1 [enc_wma.dll]

General Purpose:
Nullsoft Tray Control v2.0 [gen_tray.dll]
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.31 [gen_hotkeys.dll]
Nullsoft Winamp Library v3.02 [gen_ml.dll]
Nullsoft Modern Skins Support v1.22 [gen_ff.dll]
Jump To File Extra v0.97.7h (Build 57) [gen_jumpex.dll]

Media Library:
Nullsoft Bookmarks v1.02 [ml_bookmarks.dll]
Nullsoft Dashboard v1.0 [ml_dash.dll]
Nullsoft History v1.01 [ml_history.dll]
Nullsoft Local Media v1.02 [ml_local.dll] (v1.03 update available)
Nullsoft Now Playing v2.01 [ml_nowplaying.dll]
Nullsoft Online Services v1.2 [ml_online.dll]
Nullsoft Playlists v1.02 [ml_playlists.dll] (v1.03 update available)
Nullsoft Portable Music Player Support v1.1 [ml_pmp.dll]
Nullsoft Replay Gain Analyzer v1.0 [ml_rg.dll]
Nullsoft Rip & Burn v1.01 [ml_disc.dll]
Nullsoft SHOUTcast Wire v1.05 [ml_wire.dll]
ml_xpdxs (Predixis MusicMagic) v1.0.4 [ml_xpdxs.dll]

Portables:
Nullsoft Creative NJB Plug-in v0.5 [pmp_njb.dll]
Nullsoft iPod Plug-in v0.52 [pmp_ipod.dll]
Nullsoft Microsoft PlaysForSure Plug-in v0.51 [pmp_p4s.dll]
Nullsoft USB Device Plug-in v0.5 [pmp_usb.dll]

____________________________________________________________


Provide the following Information with every Report,
and with every CONFIRMATION of someone else's report:

Winamp 5.3 - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
Winamp 5.3a Update Pack (for updated in_mp3, ml_local, ml_playlists)
(note that there's also a newer in_mp3.dll available separately)
Windows OS, including Service Pack
System specs (mobo, cpu, ram)
Video Card, Video Card Drivers version
Sound Card, Sound Card Drivers version
DirectX version
Plugin and Plugin version affected by/causing the bug

A full, detailed, step-by-step method of reproduction

If applicable, also include Error Logs and/or FULL Error Messages.

To reproduce some bugs, we may also need a link to a zipped sample file
(eg. an .mp3, .aac, .wav, .mid file, etc).

The more information you provide US, the Faster we can or will help you.


Do NOT report ANY 3rd-party plugin bugs/issues here.
Report them to the author(s) instead (and point them to the 5.25 sdk)




Maintained by DJ Egg
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 08:26   #2
abramx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Decided to post it here while I don't know if this is plugin or core bug

Windows OS, including Service Pack: Windows XP SP2, Russian locale for non-Unicode prgrams
System specs (mobo, cpu, ram): Reproduced on different systems
Video Card, Video Card Drivers version: Reproduced on different systems
Sound Card, Sound Card Drivers version: Reproduced on different systems
DirectX version: 9.0c
Plugin and Plugin version affected by/causing the bug: Nullsoft Local Media v1.02 [ml_local.dll] (I suppose so)


A full, detailed, step-by-step method of reproduction:
1. Clear Media Library in plugin settings
2. Deselect "Use library title information for Playlist Item formatting"
3. Select "Use advanced title formatting when possible" in Winamp settings
4. In playlist perform "View File Info" on file or just start to play it. Test file must contain real Unicode tags (for example a mix of russian and chineese UNICODE characters in song title). Reproduced with OGG audio file.
5. Result [OK]: Correct unicode title displayed in playlist
6. Add test file to the Media Library (using context menu in playlist or scan for local media in media library)
7. File is added to the media library with ANSI tag information.
8. Perform step (4) again.
9. Result [KO]: ANSI title is displayed in playlist instead of UNICODE.(I suppose Winamp ignores action on step 2 and always use tag info from Meadia Library)
abramx is offline  
Old 28th September 2006, 12:37   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
Winamp 5.3 Release Notes

The Media Library (Local Media database) still doesn't support unicode.
But yes, you're right, the "use library title info for playlist item formatting" option is definitely bugged (ie. it shouldn't be using that info when the option is unchecked).

___________________________________________________________


[EDIT]

Update

There is now a fixed ml_local.dll available separately.

You will now be able to uncheck the "use library title info for playlist item formatting" option and still see unicode titles in the playlist for any files with unicode tags that have been added to the media library database.

The update also fixes the issue where -1 is shown as Track# when using %track% or %tracknumber% in atf, or where -4299994967295 is shown when using $num(%track%,2) - for all files with no track# specified in the tags, and when the aforementioned option is unchecked in Prefs.

More Info | Download
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 29th September 2006, 06:29   #4
Ted [MSFT]
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
crash caused by ml_pmp.dll

I searched back about three months and didn't see this so I apologize if it is a duplicate report.

Windows XP SP2 with all critical updates (lang independent)
5.3 version of ml_pmp.dll
Any MTP based device.

It seems that ml_pmp.dll is calling into the virtual file allocation table of CWMDMStorage2 as if it were actual code it could execute. I can't tell exactly what is going on - it could be a stale pointer to the object that is getting reused or even something walking over the memory. I've seen two different stacks for this so far, one was from auto-filling the device while having multiple devices on the system at the time. The other I didn’t get any repro steps for but I can tell that it was in response to a device change notification (either removal or arrival). Unfortunately, this is all the information I have.

0700ff24 04ece5e6 pmp_p4s!winampGetPMPDevicePlugin+0xffa
0700ff48 04eced1b ml_pmp!winampGetMediaLibraryPlugin+0x3c7f
00000000 00000000 ml_pmp!winampGetMediaLibraryPlugin+0x43b4

Feel free to flame me for a lame report, but before you do think of how hard it is on my end to get absolutely nothing to go on.


All postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confer no rights.
Ted [MSFT] is offline  
Old 30th September 2006, 11:28   #5
ernstblaauw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Rear speakers do not produce any sound

I installed 5.3, after I uninstalled 5.24. I got Windows XP SP2, a Athlon64 3000+, 1 GB RAM, a MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard with a nForce3 driver. My sound card is onboard (mad by nVidia) and the driver version is 6.14.462.0 according to my control panel.

The problem is that my rear speakers do not produce any sound. I got a 5.1 set-up. Neither selecting the directsound plugin or the waveout, my rear speakers don't produce anything. However, if I install 5.24, my rear speakers are back in business and thus are working ok. My rear speakers have always worked well with Winamp (not only 5.24). Hopefully, you can address this problem.
ernstblaauw is offline  
Old 30th September 2006, 14:42   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,088
@ernstblaauw

Have you maybe enabled "allow 24bit" in Prefs > Playback?
If so, unless your soundcard has some kind of Creative CMSS equivalent option, then this would be a hardware limitation issue.

Otherwise, with standard 16bit playback, then the only relevant option is "allow hardware acceleration" in out_ds config, which is enabled by default (note, out_ds must be active for multi-speaker output, not out_wav)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 1st October 2006, 06:29   #7
ernstblaauw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@ernstblaauw

Have you maybe enabled "allow 24bit" in Prefs > Playback?
If so, unless your soundcard has some kind of Creative CMSS equivalent option, then this would be a hardware limitation issue.

Otherwise, with standard 16bit playback, then the only relevant option is "allow hardware acceleration" in out_ds config, which is enabled by default (note, out_ds must be active for multi-speaker output, not out_wav)
You're right! I enabled "allow 24-bit" and that was the reason my rear speakers were disabled. Now I disabled that option, mny rear speakers are producing sound again with WinAmp 5.3. Thanks for your fast reply!
ernstblaauw is offline  
Old 1st October 2006, 15:58   #8
Rhalph
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
DirectSound : hybrid Volume control not working?

Hi all,

I've just updated Winamp to v5.3, and I noticed the volume on my headphones was from far higher than before... I used "hybrid" mode for Volume control (Preferences > DirectSound > "Other" tab), and now it doesn't seem to work anymore. Changing the volume has the same effect weither it is set on "linear", "logarithmic" or "hybrid"...
(Of course, I restarted the track each time I changed the parameter )

Is it a bug or am I doing something wrong ?
Rhalph is offline  
Old 1st October 2006, 16:21   #9
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,911
I have the same problem.

logarithmic doesn't work either.

moving to-->winamp bug reports.

[merged with main thread, cf]
Rocker is offline  
Old 4th October 2006, 01:35   #10
pepanee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 110


hi, there are problems/improvements that should've been done (i posted earlier in another thread) about some features of the new Portable Sync Feature.. most specifically, the iPod sync feature. I will address these issues in: (1), (2), (3)

(1) Ok, so i have playlists in my Media Library named as follows:
{

===================
Genre Playlists
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Alternative Rock
Vocal Trance/Dance


===================
My Favorites Of...
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
2Pac
50 Cent

}

(to keep it short, i just posted a couple playlists)
Note:
(a) Every line is a Playlist. (In example: " My Favorites Of..." is a playlist, hence: (b))
(b) The playlists are NOT in alphabetical order


but my iPod has 'similarly named' playlists, but when i plug it into the computer and i open Winamp 5.3, it re-arranges those playlists in alphabetical order, hence, screwing up the order i want it to be in. (Question you may be pondering: How do I have the playlists in my iPod by an arrangement that I want? I use Ephpod 2.75; it allows you to arrange your playlists in any order you want to)

so anyways, i want Winamp to not touch those settings.

(2) I'm pretty sure this has been fixed from the beta testing of 5.3, but when you sync songs with this feature, Winamp doesn't put the newly synced playlist all the way to the bottom on the playlists.

(3) I would like a feature in Winamp Preferences --> Media Library --> Portables --> (My iPod) --> Sync Tab.

I would like to make specificly named playlists from my Media Library to be a different name in my iPod.

For Example:
<From Media Library> --------> <To iPod>

<Alternative Rock> --------> <Alt. Rock>


Thanks for your time in reading this, but THANK YOU VERY MUCH if you are able to implement/fix these features.
pepanee is offline  
Old 7th October 2006, 21:41   #11
Hyun
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Outputting Issue

I have an issue with outputting information from Winamp 5.3. As you can see from the screenshots, the unicode works nicely within Winamp (specifically the playlist editor and the title bar. However, when it exports the song information to the last.fm audioscrobbler or Windows Live Messenger Now Playing, the unicode characters still show up as ?????. Also, the taskbar still shows ????? as well.

Screenshots :

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/Hyun250/bug1.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y80/Hyun250/bug2.jpg
Hyun is offline  
Old 7th October 2006, 21:51   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
see the bottom of the first paragraph here which lists it as a known issue for the taskbar button.

as for the AS and Messenger plugins, it's down to them to be updated to make use of the unicode apis, which isn't our issue since 3rd party plugins/apps are not supported.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 11th October 2006, 01:01   #13
pepanee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 110
is my post visible at all? not this one.. my older one posted on: "10-04-2006 "
pepanee is offline  
Old 24th October 2006, 13:41   #14
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,911
for in_flac but its official enough

the reset button for in_flac turns on show average bitrate(which is not the default setting)

it also ticks the reserve space for vorbis comment box.(which is not active)
Rocker is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump