Old 5th September 2001, 08:10   #1
zedzed23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 6
nsis/compression/upx/bzip2

Hey All,

I'm just wondering why nsis installers can't be compressed with upx? I realize you can compress just the header, but with:

SetCompress off
SetDatablockOptimize off

upx should be able compress it right? Well it gives an "Uncompressable exception". Any ideas why?

On another note, it's probably been discussed before, but are there any plans to move to a different compression algorithm? Bzip2 is released under a BSD-like license and does much better than gzip in 99% of cases. Another thought was to use the UPX compression, which is available under GPL. The upx code would probably do better with binaries, but bzip2 does an excellent job with text.

-zz
zedzed23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2001, 03:56   #2
DuaneJeffers
Major Dude
 
DuaneJeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,776
It actually does have and use UPX compression. If you look at the makensis.nsi file, there are some lines of code that show this. I cannot find it, however, because I am at another computer. But I'm sure of it. They have UPX compression.

-DJ

Website

Yeah, that's pretty much it. :-\
DuaneJeffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2001, 03:01   #3
zedzed23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 6
That's only for the installer's header, I meant for compressing the whole thing.
zedzed23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2001, 06:23   #4
DuaneJeffers
Major Dude
 
DuaneJeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,776
Sorry

Website

Yeah, that's pretty much it. :-\
DuaneJeffers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2001, 11:28   #5
pjw62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 108
I think the reason that UPX cannot compress the NSIS exe files is that the makensis simply adds the compressed data +code+strings on the end of the file and thus they are not paryt of the exe image that is mapped into memory by windows according to the exe image. If NSIS was rewritten so that the install stuff was in the resource section of the exe, it would work.. but, an installer of 500 mb (for example) would take 500mb of memory (like PIMP).
pjw62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump