Old 1st August 2008, 17:47   #121
WebMatze
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Posts: 79
thanks for your answer, i will do it with my owner installers but i also get the poroblem with the installer of Ultramodernui...

Sad for the visa users if they can't correctly install the program itself...
WebMatze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008, 15:31   #122
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
New build version 2008-08-09

_ Fixed: The Welcome/Finish/Abort pages text use the default font size
_ Added: A new define named "UMUI_WELCOMEFINISHABORT_TITLE_FONTSIZE" to change the font size of the Welcome/Finish/Abort pages title. By default this value is set to 12 for default pages and to 8 for the alternative pages.
_ Fixed: A little more mistake in the English language file.
_ Fixed: The AlternativeStartMenu page disable creation shortcut checkbox is shown even if the shellvarcontext options is disabled.
_ Fixed: The UMUI_INSTALLERFULLPATH_REGISTRY_VALUENAME define that was saved with the default value even if the $INSTDIR variable is modified in the DIRECTORY page.
_ Fixed: Bugs in example scripts (e.g.: Maintenance, Update...).

Download

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008, 15:52   #123
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Thank you for the update

But still no fix for the Vista button problem, too bad...

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2008, 20:23   #124
evin
Junior Member
 
evin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 21
I maked a test:
- WinXP x86, buttons ok
- WinXP x64, ?
- Vista x86, buttons ok (business)
- Vista x86SP1, buttons ok (ultimate)
- Vista x64, ?
- Vista x64SP1, no buttons (ultimate)

So, i think the x64 or the SP1 for x64 is the source of the problem. (as i see, the UAC or Windowblins doesn't matter)
evin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 11:16   #125
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
I have installed a Vista x64 SP1 Ultimate on my PC and I have no problems. (It was a DVD with SP1 slipstreamed by vlite)

I will try to install it in a VMWare. (the RTM version and next, the SP1)

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 13:13   #126
evin
Junior Member
 
evin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 21
Me to(just to the testing): Vista x64, SP1 included Unlimited
And i don't know why, but no buttons.
evin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 15:27   #127
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
You are right, no button with Vista x64 + SP1.
Without SP1 it works.

I will make a workaround that disable buttons skin if Vista x64+sp1 is detected.


Last edited by SuperPat; 10th August 2008 at 16:01.
SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 16:23   #128
evin
Junior Member
 
evin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 21
That's would be great.
evin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 16:28   #129
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally posted by evin
That's would be great.
Yup

But maybe it would be safer to disable skinned buttons for all versions of Vista x64 that are equal or newer than SP-1, since we must expect that future Service Packs will have the same problem, unless the opposite is proven...

IMHO skinned buttons could be disabled completely for Vista, since I don't care about Vista as long as I don't get any error reports

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008, 06:33   #130
aerea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
SuperPat,

I would like to bring to your attention a bug that I am experiencing. With your latest version of UltraModernUI, if a MessageBox is displayed in a custom leave function via MUI_PAGE_CUSTOMFUNCTION_LEAVE, some of the buttons on the following screen will not be skinned. This can be demonstrated by the attached script. I'm not sure what's going on, but I think it's in the SkinnedButton plugin. Is there any way you could look in to this?

Thanks.
aerea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2008, 20:31   #131
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
I know this problem, but I do not know how to fix it...

If anybody known a solution, for this problem, for buttons unskinned with InstallOptionsEx and for buttons unskinned if XPStyle at "on" and if you use vista x64 SP1.

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 16:45   #132
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
New build version 2008-08-15

_ Fixed: Workaround for the SkinnedControls plugin one Windows Vista x64 SP1 and more that not drawn buttons at all. (Buttons are now unskinned on this system version)

Download

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 17:28   #133
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Thanks for the update

Just a few hours after I released an update of my installer

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2008, 18:27   #134
WebMatze
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Posts: 79
thanks a lot!
WebMatze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 08:11   #135
pospec
Senior Member
 
pospec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Otrokovice, Czech Republic
Posts: 308
I am on my "other" computer which I don't use for work. I have installed the last UMUI version.

There is problem with language page:
code:
!insertmacro: UMUI_UNPAGE_MULTILANGUAGE
Usage: CreateFont $(user_var: handle output)
face_name [height wieght /ITALIC /UNDERLINE /STRIKE]

Error in macro UMUI_FUNCTION_MULTILANGUAGEPAGE on macroline 168
Error in macro UMUI_PAGE_MULTILANGUAGE on macroline 41
Error in macro UMUI_UNPAGE_MULTILANGUAGE on macroline 7
Error in script "D:\pospec\UltraModernUI_1.00_2008-08-15\
Examples\UltraModernUI\MultiLanguage.nsi" on line 51
-- aborting creation process

pospec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 08:23   #136
pospec
Senior Member
 
pospec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Otrokovice, Czech Republic
Posts: 308
It seems to be quotes problem:

UMUI.nsh line 5175: CreateFont $MUI_TEMP2 "$(^Font)" "${UMUI_WELCOMEFINISHABORT_TITLE_FONTSIZE}"" "700"
pospec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 09:12   #137
pospec
Senior Member
 
pospec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Otrokovice, Czech Republic
Posts: 308
It went wrong in UltraModernUI_1.00_2008-08-09 version. I wonder that nobody experienced this bug

Sorry for three consequent posts, maybe moderator could merge them...
pospec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 11:29   #138
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
New build version 2008-08-16

_ Fixed: Compilation bug with MultiLangage Page (Thanks pospec)

Download

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 11:31   #139
pospec
Senior Member
 
pospec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Otrokovice, Czech Republic
Posts: 308
Il n'y a pas de quoi!
pospec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2008, 12:50   #140
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
SuperPat, I got feedback from the Vista user. Your workaround seems to work

Thanks again!

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 20:49   #141
rbchasetfb
Junior Member
 
rbchasetfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
I have a couple of problems with password fields from installoptions ini files.

First Problem:
When a user types in a password field, then hits the backspace key, the carret moves back but the * characters remain. When they then type, the carret moves forward again and the * characters that were there before backspace remain until the user types past the end of them.

Second problem:
A user types in the field, then holds ctrl and hits home, the text is highlighted as expected, however, no matter what they type, the highlight stays and all the existing * characters remain, then behavior is like the first problem.

In short, the UI for a password field does not operate as expected. It does, however, operate fine when used in a non-UltramodernUI interface. Any help here would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg passwordproblems.jpg (6.5 KB, 314 views)
rbchasetfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2008, 01:39   #142
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
I've just switched to using UltraModern UI, mainly because I want to produce a custom look and UMUI seems to handle skinning+ResHacker very well.

I do have one small problem, which I've brought upon myself. I've used ResHacker to move around the components in Dialog 105. And I mean I've moved EVERYTHING around, especially the Header text blocks, which I've shifted down to be right above the big work area. I've also resized the dialog. Generally speaking, it works.

My install script is just a test version of "basic.nsi" that comes with UMUI. I've turned on the Welcome and Finish pages, but not customized them. When I run the installer, everything is great until I get to the Install page. Right before it switches to the Finish page, for a split second, the header text gets what looks like "Installation Complete" written on top of it, such that they both appear at the same time. Then it switches to the Finish page.

It happens so quickly that I can't do a screen capture. Blink and you miss it.

When I switch back to an unhacked UMUI, I don't get the problem, leading me to think that I've moved something -- or perhaps *failed* to move something -- so that the original header text isn't being blanked out.

Another clue: If I don't have a Finish page, the behavior still happens, but the text is replaced with "Installation Complete" and "Setup was completed successfully", which is displayed correctly. There's still a brief flash of overwritten text.

I'm guessing most (all?) developers have not experienced this problem, because hacking the UI is thankfully not the norm. But I would appreciate any advice anyone may have about fixing this problem.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice!

Michael
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 11:56   #143
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
Can you join the exe and eventualy the hacked exe so that I look

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 14:35   #144
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks for the reply! How do I join them? And how do you want me to send them to you?
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 14:38   #145
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
with your reply on this forum

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 15:09   #146
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
D'ohh! Instead of giving you my production script -- too many dependencies for you to compile -- I've given you your "basic.nsi" script updated with the new look. It exhibits the same behavior, though it's right before the StartMenu page displays. (Since on my machine that page takes a while to display.)

The complete setup is included in the attached .zip. Let me know if I've left anything important out.

Thanks again for your help. Please don't spend too long on it!

Michael
Attached Files
File Type: zip superpat.zip (19.7 KB, 337 views)
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 15:41   #147
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
Yopu are right, the text you seen is well:
"Installation Complete"
"Setup was completed successfully."

This is normal behavior of MUI. we can see it with UMUI because I have added some instructions at the end of the finish function.

I will release a new version immediately.

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 15:58   #148
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
New build version 2008-09-20

_ Updated: NSIS to version 2.39
_ Added: New Skin WhiteBlue
_ Fixed: Reduce flicker at the end of the installation

Download

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2008, 15:59   #149
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
SuperPat, you are awesome! Thanks for fixing it. I will be happy to test it for you when it's available.

Michael
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 15:28   #150
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
SuperPat, another question while you're poking around in the code... There are currently several bitmaps used in the background of the installer dialog. (The left image, header image, bottom image and center image.) My design doesn't have five images, just one. For my skinning purposes, having so many images makes things harder, because I need to slice up my design into pieces.

If I were to remove four of the image resources and resize the center image to be the full height and width, will that harm anything. Does the interface get messed up if an expected resource is missing? (I believe I already eliminated the left image, and it seems to work, but maybe I am pushing my luck. )

Also, I just noticed the UMUI_CUSTOM_SKIN define, which makes my skinning better, since I need to keep my skin files separate from the normal NSIS code. I can see you really put a lot of thought into this!

Thanks!
Michael
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008, 20:06   #151
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
you can use the UMUI_UNIQUEBGIMAGE define in your skin which show only the UMUI_PAGEBGIMAGE_BMP bitmap in full window.

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2008, 15:30   #152
falkengott
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
hm ... cant find the latest version under the download link ?????
falkengott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2008, 15:47   #153
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally posted by falkengott
hm ... cant find the latest version under the download link ?????
Here you go:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...kage_id=161955

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2008, 20:38   #154
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
The UNIQUEBGIMAGE setting does the trick very nicely! (And its companion setting, UNUNIQUEBGIMAGE.) Thanks for that. I'm really happy to discover how easy it is to create a customized installer using UltramodernUI.

BTW, I tried the 9_20 version, but it still exhibits the overwriting problem on my system. My system is particularly slow, so I suspect it's hard to see on normal systems.

Anyway, thanks for the work and for trying to fix the issue!

Michael
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2008, 11:32   #155
falkengott
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Oh my god .. thanks Lord.

I'm so stupid .. forgot to follow the link to the UMUI
(i thought i remember before it was all on one page)

Seems it was to late that evening.
falkengott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 00:55   #156
theTallGuy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
SuperPat,

There's a minor "bug" in UMUI when its behavior is compared to MUI. In the alternate Start Menu page (using UMUI_PAGE_ALTERNATIVESTARTMENU) if you delete the default choice in the text box you are still allowed to click Next. In MUI, the Next button is disabled if the text box is empty.

The current behavior isn't too bad, but I must admit I prefer the way MUI works in this one case. What would be best, actually, is if this behavior could be controlled by a !define.

Thanks for listening!
Michael
theTallGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2008, 12:42   #157
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally posted by theTallGuy
There's a minor "bug" in UMUI when its behavior is compared to MUI. In the alternate Start Menu page (using UMUI_PAGE_ALTERNATIVESTARTMENU) if you delete the default choice in the text box you are still allowed to click Next. In MUI, the Next button is disabled if the text box is empty.
I will fix it.


Quote:
Originally posted by theTallGuy
BTW, I tried the 9_20 version, but it still exhibits the overwriting problem on my system. My system is particularly slow, so I suspect it's hard to see on normal systems.
If you don't want to see the text at all, you can redefine these parameters in your script:

!define MUI_INSTFILESPAGE_FINISHHEADER_TEXT ""
!define MUI_INSTFILESPAGE_FINISHHEADER_SUBTEXT ""
!define MUI_INSTFILESPAGE_ABORTHEADER_TEXT ""
!define MUI_INSTFILESPAGE_ABORTHEADER_SUBTEXT ""
!insertmacro MUI_PAGE_INSTFILES

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 11:22   #158
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
New build version 2008-10-11

_ Updated: NSIS to version 2.40
_ Fixed: In the Alternate Start Menu page, if you delete the text in the text box the Next button is now disabled. (like in the original start menu page)

Download

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 11:32   #159
LoRd_MuldeR
Major Dude
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere over the Slaughterhouse
Posts: 797
Thank you, Pat

Time for a new "official" release, maybe? ^^

My Plugins: StdUtils | NSISList | CPUFeatures | ExecTimeout | KillProc
My source of inspiration: http://youtu.be/lCwY4_0W1YI
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2008, 12:17   #160
SuperPat
Senior Member
 
SuperPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: France
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally posted by LoRd_MuldeR
Time for a new "official" release, maybe? ^^ [/B]
Not without a good documentation...
And currently, I'm not motivated to do it.

SuperPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Tags
umui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump