Old 25th July 2014, 20:39   #1
davecason
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Wtf?

Hi,

OK, I'm on the site trying to D/l a new copy and yes I paid for it ......

I'm on a 100 MB connection and all I see is a freaking lama on the screen?
Where's the link location to d/l the latest version?
The site looks like crap in FF.

I can take a dump faster then this sites runs/loads !

Also to register for this forum I have to do a bloody catch and some dumb assed math question .... really .... why?

Is that enough feedback for you? Great product and crap website ......

Cheers'
Dave Cason
davecason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2014, 20:47   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
i assume you don't know that Winamp (and SHOUTcast) were sold from AOL to the Radionomy Group in January 2014.

the effect of that sale means we cannot directly provide the AOL provided version of Winamp and so have to link to an external file hoster (filehippo in this case). this is accessed from the links in the news thread (which is the link for the downloads on the site page). so not quite sure how you've missed all of the 'get winamp' links on the page. alternatively what you need to download is in my signature.

the site "looks like crap" as you put it since it's just a temporary placeholder which was put up when the sale went through and AOL killed off the old winamp.com site. when a new non-AOL version of Winamp is provided, then there will be a new site provided.


as for the forum registration, that's all as a result of trying to minimise the number of spam posts which make it (which a few things including the maths question had noticeably helped reduce over the last few months). so that's why registration is somewhat longer than it probably should be, but it's the best means to prevent against the spam-fest that would otherwise ensue.



and as you've mentioned you paid for Winamp, there is no longer a specific 'pro' installer with the v5.66x releases but if you need to make clean install 'pro' again, you can still do it via the main Winamp preferences page (as i'm pre-empting your next question).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2014, 23:19   #3
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
DrO I also (@ 1001) provide a download for Winamp 5.666 and CPRO as well as a few other downloads.

I suppose I could make this a bit more prominent on the site (1001) at least until it Winamp.com is making it directly available.

http://www.1001skins.com/downloads/w...full_en-us.exe


What do you think?

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2014, 23:24   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
is funny pretty much anyone else can get away with hosting the file and we can't.

if you do, you should also try to make it obvious people need to install the update patches as well.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 00:07   #5
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Can do...

What would you like? I can host anything/everything you advise. Just let me know the correct links and information;

I will put up a landing page for Winamp Itself and place all the 'needed' to run on that.

~

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 00:14   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
all the relevant links on info to pull are in my signature.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 00:41   #7
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
http://1001skins.com/pages/winamp.aspx

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 19:50   #8
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,423
I don't think this helps to clear up the confussion.. First link goes to winamp295.exe and the second goes to winamp566_full_en-us.exe.

Click image for larger version

Name:	recommended.png
Views:	128
Size:	4.5 KB
ID:	51311

Besides, making a distinction between types of skins through installers / versions isn't ideal either.. (would be different if each link points to a explaining page offering some installer at the end.. -but even then it doesn't make much sense since the last installer offers the option to not install modern skins support-)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 21:08   #9
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
That's not on 1001???

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 23:36   #10
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,423
Yep, bottom left of the page, among "Winamp", "NeatUpload", "1001 fonts", etc..

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 03:38   #11
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,577
Some of the links on the page you linked to in post #7 above are broken. When I click on them (i.e. JTFE Patch, Winamp Lite, link in Winamp for Mac, etc.), I get a page not found error.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 16:27   #12
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Ahh...those. Yes, there is also a page designed for all downloads; will have to direct users there from recommended for winamp. I will look into the links damn file names are long; MimeType problems for the IIS Server was the problem. Had to add the mimetypes to allow the server to request them as a download from the fileserver.

:sigh:


All Corrected; Thanks for the heads up.

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 18:42   #13
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by garetjax View Post
All Corrected; Thanks for the heads up.
Yes, everything is working now.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2014, 07:06   #14
orton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Yes, everything is working now.
install the update patches is not clearly work in winamp??
orton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Site Design

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump