Old 13th October 2007, 15:57   #121
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Quote:
Originally posted by papadoc
And...I'm now getting a "JPEG Error - Premature end of JPEG file".
Never saw that before.
Disregard this one.
Figured it out and fixed.
papadoc is offline  
Old 13th October 2007, 17:16   #122
Ojay
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Just to mention an audio problem with the combination of surround and replaygain:

Replaygain applies a general gain value to all speakers. Unfortunately the rear speakers in 5.1 setups are usually much more silent than the front speakers so that any general replaygain value destroys the balance between the front and rear speakers. A large replaygain value affects the sound experience significantly.

I can't imagine that the Winamp developers want to address this audio problem directly (or?) so that I think that an option (checkbox) to switch off replaygain for surround files would do it as well. That would be in "General Preferences ---> Playback"
Ojay is offline  
Old 13th October 2007, 18:14   #123
goophie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 8
Hey, i couldn't find this information anywhere, and i know it's kind of silly.

but how do you set up the album view so you can see all of the cover art like the screenshot of winamp 5.5 on the front page?

so far i've only been able to get the "simple album" view which is just a list of album covers (1 column of covers).
goophie is offline  
Old 13th October 2007, 18:19   #124
goophie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 8
ah nevermind, i think i got it.
goophie is offline  
Old 13th October 2007, 20:56   #125
synthetiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portugal
Posts: 153
I guess there's something weard with the right click menus of this final version.
I switch from big bento to Modern skin and when i do a right click over winamp, then optins i still see menu with the submenus of appearence, notifications, browser and all the others that, i guess, should only belong to bento's.
then, for eg. i switch to normal bento, do right click over WA, options, appearence, show timer reflection, and i cant uncheck it, i mean the "v" behind is always there, but it applies the changes in the timer.

then, i switch to modern skin, close winamp, open winamp, and right click over winamp, "options" and i see the normal options for modern skin...then switch to bento and again right click, "options" and i dont get the bento options there (with appearence, notifications, etc).
its kinda weard to explain this, hope someone can get it / reproduce this.

using winxp sp2, portuguese, amd athlon
synthetiq is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 01:57   #126
ecereb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12
iPod Classic - Does WinAmp work with the iPod Classic?

Sorry, It does not...

WinAmp kicks. I just wish it did with the iPod. iTunes is a real drag. Do I have to reload all of my CDs using iTunes?

There are a lot of purists out there who are buying the iPod Classic 160G because it can hold enough WAV lossless files. That’s why I did.

And, I bought WinAmp not only because I wanted faster CD ripping, but because it kicked.

Guys, keep up the good work. But, don’t forget the iPod Classic.

ecereb is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 06:03   #127
JonkyB
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
minor request

This may sound really random and very minor. Would it be possible in Bento to make it so that when you go to winshade mode, the "Always on Top" option is checked automatically, and the player is automatically docked to the top of the window, and for the opposite to occur when leaving winshade mode? MMD3 has this feature, and I really loved it.

Thanks!
 
Old 14th October 2007, 11:59   #128
elfin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 15
IT'S HAPPINESS!

GREETS!

BTW: i found strange difference in changelog, see attached pic
Attached Images
File Type: gif 55_changelog_mistake.gif (7.1 KB, 465 views)
elfin is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 13:40   #129
deadp0et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Catania, Italy
Posts: 15
I'm very happy you eventually managed to put in the Album Art Support in Winamp. But I was very disappointed to find out that Album Art feature is only present in Bento Skin and Modern Skin... why did you leave out Album Art support in Classic Skin? Was it too hard to have a little window showing the album cover, just like the way you can do with the Modern Skin???

Davide
deadp0et is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 13:47   #130
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,626
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
The version history problem seems to be beacuse the bowser thinks that the <trackartist> bit is a section of markup and therefore hides it where as on the forum it knows it is &lt; and &gt;. Hopefully someone with the power to correct that will see it.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 14:34   #131
Stone Free
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 107
Is there a fix/workaround for last.fm not picking up that there is a new track playing when using modern skins
Stone Free is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 16:55   #132
TheUniqueTiger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 431
@ synthetiq :
No, I can't reproduce the bug. No matter whatever skin I change to, the Options menu is updated accordingly every time.

You have only One Life... So before You are History, make sure you get into History books. - TheUniqueTiger
My personal website, HiFiBB ... Simply Hifi!, HiFiBB
TheUniqueTiger is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 17:26   #133
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
@ elfin & J_Darnley
Oops, yes, my mistake.
Changed <trackartist> to &lt;trackartist&gt;
That's what happens when you do a quick copy+paste job a few hours before launch.
Not sure when the site will update next, but it's fixed at my end.

@ecereb
iPod Classic is supported, and works fine (on the tested models).

@synthetiq
Sorry, but we can't reproduce that
(as also confirmed by TheUniqueTiger above).
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 18:24   #134
hugo25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
I have mp3 with cover in tag. When I edit mp3 with winamp, and the button 'delete' for cover doesn't works. When I reopen mp3, cover is always visible.
hugo25 is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 18:40   #135
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Known Issues section of first post:

-Delete Art doesn't work in Alt+3 for embedded art (until next release)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 21:15   #136
Zero2FiftyIn4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In my head....the voices there are nice
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Free
Is there a fix/workaround for last.fm not picking up that there is a new track playing when using modern skins
I think Dr. O mentioned in the previous beta thread that he would be trying to figure something out when he got a chance.

"It is, in the end, whatever the Hell I want it to be,
And when I'm through with it, it's gonna blow a hole,
This wide, straight through the worlds own idea of itself.
They're throwing bottles at your house.
Come on, lets go break their arms."
Zero2FiftyIn4 is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 22:01   #137
hugo25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Ask for bento skin :
It is possible to have an option witch place the player under the media library.
When I click on winamp in the taskbar, it is more pratical to have player in the bottom.
hugo25 is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 22:14   #138
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
You really didn't read the first post, did you!?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 22:21   #139
hugo25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
You really didn't read the first post, did you!?
I have read first post a long time ago.
Sorry
hugo25 is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 23:03   #140
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Now that Winamp can read the bpm in the tags,
can I get the Playlist to show/view the bpm?
And would it be possible to "sort by bpm"?
papadoc is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 23:11   #141
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
@papadoc

Advanced Title Formatting has supported %bpm% since v5.3 :-)

Note that "BPM Column for ML" is in the Common Requests section of first post.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 23:48   #142
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,612
Thanks DJ Egg.

Looks like I'm late for the party again

Glad to see it's been requested. Count me in on that one.
papadoc is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 01:19   #143
losta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Serbia
Posts: 29
Can someone work out bug I uploaded:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?postid=2252696#post2252696
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....96#post2252696

Thanks. Still, my Winamp 5.5 won't work.

Live long and prosper
losta is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 03:01   #144
ecereb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12
DJ Egg
Moderator


@ecereb
iPod Classic is supported, and works fine (on the tested models).


I have model: Apple iPod 160G Classic Model: MB150LL

iPod software Version 1.0.2

Everything I send to the iPod from Winamp does not play on the iPod. The only thing that will play is stuff I put on with iTunes. Also, the podcasts I send to the iPod don't even appear anywhere on the iPod, just on Winamp.

Is there something I can do; reformat the iPod or what?

eCereb...
ecereb is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 04:19   #145
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
Hmmm... I'm honestly not sure then.
It's supposed to be supported, but maybe it's borked?
Will? Anyone?

Seems to work ok for this dude:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....52#post2252952

and kinda works ok for the people in this thread:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=277506

and those are old threads from the 5.5 beta testing phase.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 05:51   #146
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
For some odd reason, Winamp5.5 tanks on MPEG2 encoded videos. IT plays music for a few seconds with no video then it just hangs.
Omega X is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 14:06   #147
dStSb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
shortcuts

Hi, installed yesterday 5.5... The problem is I have always used shortcuts buttons like: Z X C V B... First I thought maybe it's this BEnto skin... applied my old classic skin... and now shortcuts don't work on Main Window.. on Playlist Editor and EQ... they work... I checked the option and couldn't find anything...

So problem: how to get to work shortcuts on main window... by the way.. on main window I can switch volume and seek track...
dStSb is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 15:24   #148
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Keyboard Shortcuts (z,x,c,v,b) not working with nView enabled
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=157236
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....12#post1189912
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=196434

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 17:40   #149
Stone Free
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 107
The proxy settings still don't extend to the Gracenote CDDB, if I remove the proxy username and password the web functions stop working, and so I know the proxy is working fine in the browsing components, but when I put the password back although the browser starts working CDDB still does not.

Unfortunately Tuesday is the last time I can test this because I cease to be working for my current company at the end of the day.

My password contains a # character that is right up against the @sign that separates the password from the ip address.

Will Winamp ever support autodetecting of the proxy? i.e through wpad.dat (contains some vbscript like code that returns the correct ip address according to the type of request)
Stone Free is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:13   #150
Koogle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 258
what is it with this new version crashing.. I'm just going to call it crashAMP...any signs of new version with better features or a better sui skin?

My signature was just too damn good to be seen here..
Koogle is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:35   #151
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,866
No crashes here. Please don't ever ask to be on the beta list ;-)

As for sui skins, try this list:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....77#post1910777
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 21:36   #152
konan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
i think i finally realized why was winamp eating my cpu... it wasn't the netlimiter.
if another program uses sound, like flash player in browser, or skype, or mplayer classic, winamp's processor usage jumps from 0% to 2-8% and varies until i close that other program when it returns back to 0%.
and it's the same, whether i use directsound output or waweout...
is anyone else experiencing this, or is it just me?
konan is offline  
Old 15th October 2007, 23:09   #153
alexjoey
Junior Member
 
alexjoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 36
burn & a french i

@konan : I saw Winamp 5.5 use 0, sometimes 2, rarely 5%, 52% one time: but all rolling OK, no jump at all, I got a 1000ms buffer and 500ms pre-buffer.

@all
Hello, big up for this 5.5 rocks. Big Up for the integrated languages : and in the winamp55_full_all.exe in the french language there's one letter too much when ones right-click on title in the main Winamp window (not the ML or PL) :
it displays 'Affichier' instead of 'Afficher' the 'i' is too much ; here's my 44ko PNG screenshot.

-Whereas it's nothing-

But for french community one issue matters : the burning.
In ML when one could see his writer be showned as a Graveur (Writer in english) now ML displays Lecteur (Drive in english) and no-one found the trick yet or any button allowing any CD-burning.

So here's anyone can say he/she can actually burn with Winamp 5.5 ?

Even by switching-back to english language, my both writers appear as Drive, and I've looked into the installer where can we have forgotten to pick something.

For me one more time it's change nothing at all cause I'm still using Winamp for music, and burning always through playlist sent to Nero.
THIS Winamp 5.5 is the 100% best Winamp of all time I've never seen ! Very Great. WINAMP FOREVER

Thanks for your time.

Edit / I looked more attentively the Known Bugs/Issues first post seeing stereo bug has already been reported here

Last edited by alexjoey; 16th October 2007 at 00:19.
alexjoey is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 01:54   #154
ecereb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Hmmm... I'm honestly not sure then.
It's supposed to be supported, but maybe it's borked?
Will? Anyone?

Seems to work ok for this dude:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....52#post2252952

and kinda works ok for the people in this thread:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=277506

and those are old threads from the 5.5 beta testing phase.
OK, figured it out, I sent MP3s to the iPod and they play. Send WAV Files to the iPod and… they don’t play. I turned off Encoder.

I can transfer WAV files using iTunes without transcoding.

It’s something in the iPod library structure. The iPod can’t correctly decode the song. It thinks a WAV is an MP3.

I HATE MP3s. Symbols are whistles and the background ambiance is missing. To me MP3s are like listening to electronic music.
ecereb is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 03:08   #155
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
Encode your mp3s to a higher bitrate. If you do it right, you should hear little or no difference between an mp3 and a wav file. And mp3s save a hell of a lotta space..
soulstace is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 15:32   #156
Stone Free
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally posted by Stone Free
The proxy settings still don't extend to the Gracenote CDDB, if I remove the proxy username and password the web functions stop working, and so I know the proxy is working fine in the browsing components, but when I put the password back although the browser starts working CDDB still does not.

Unfortunately Tuesday is the last time I can test this because I cease to be working for my current company at the end of the day.

My password contains a # character that is right up against the @sign that separates the password from the ip address.

Will Winamp ever support autodetecting of the proxy? i.e through wpad.dat (contains some vbscript like code that returns the correct ip address according to the type of request)
Turns out I have one more, day. So I would really appreciate if we could get this fixed. Last.FM successfully takes the supplied proxy settings and can see the outside world its just downloaded the latest version of itself and the plugins. Maybe the winamp cdddb CD plugin does proxy authentication slightly different, isn't Last.FM.exe open source?
Stone Free is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 17:34   #157
deadp0et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Catania, Italy
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by deadp0et
why did you leave out Album Art support in Classic Skin? Davide
Sorry to restate this again... but is there a way or a workaround to make Album Art work in Classic Skin? Or do you plan to enable this in future versions?
deadp0et is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 17:37   #158
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Adding anything to the main window would break every single classic skin. I believe you can open Album Art as a separate window, though.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 18:40   #159
deadp0et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Catania, Italy
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
Adding anything to the main window would break every single classic skin. I believe you can open Album Art as a separate window, though.
No. That's exactly the point! I can't open Album Art as a separate window!
deadp0et is offline  
Old 16th October 2007, 18:56   #160
Kn0tte
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally posted by deadp0et
No. That's exactly the point! I can't open Album Art as a separate window!
He meant that it might be possible to open the Album Art as a separate window in Classic skins because that would NOT break the skins - But you cant do that right now, because it is not implemented yet.. But he said that it might be possible, so they might look at it for a future release..?
Kn0tte is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump