Old 28th May 2006, 20:45   #1
hime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
nak 100

<05/28/06@13:13:09> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<05/28/06@13:13:09> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (100)
<05/28/06@13:18:09> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com added me successfully
<05/28/06@14:18:12> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<05/28/06@14:18:12> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (100)
<05/28/06@14:23:12> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com added me successfully

It's not my firewall, I've had that configured correctly for years (seriously, years) and nothing's changed. You can still listen to the stattion directly, it just isn't showing up on the Shoutcast listings anymore...


Yes, I read the post you want to point to. This is different.
hime is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 21:26   #2
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
First one i've seen like this. It sounds like yp is having some bugs atm, but it looks like your on there now, i wouldnt worry about it. Can you provide us with a link to see if it works?
tuckerm is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 21:31   #3
hime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
http://68.185.196.144:8000
hime is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 21:45   #4
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Current Stream Information
Server Status: Server is currently up and public.
Stream Status: Stream is up at 32 kbps with 0 of 7 listeners (0 unique)
Listener Peak: 3
Average Listen Time: 2h 03m 07s
Stream Title: Valuecube radio
Content Type: audio/mpeg
Stream Genre: whatever
Stream URL: http://www.valuecubecom
Stream AIM: andrewhime
Stream IRC:
Current Song: Stephin Merritt - Shall We Sing A Duet?

Yep, looks pretty good to me
tuckerm is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 21:50   #5
hime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
Yeah, but if you search on the main Shoutcast page, it doesn't find it.
hime is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 22:04   #6
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,867
straight copy from the FAQ thread , link to NAK errors


S3. My server gets this error: "[yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)"
--What's wrong with my server?

Answer: The SHOUTcast directory has refused to publish your directory entry for one of a number of reasons.

if you are running a new station remember that it can take up to several hours before you are listed on the YP pages at shoutcast.com

which does NOT mean that nobody can listen to you!

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 22:27   #7
hime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
Oh, I know. I guess I didn't find that FAQ - I still can't...

So what are the "number of reasons"? I've had my station up for a couple of years now.
hime is offline  
Old 28th May 2006, 23:38   #8
hackerdork
Forum King
 
hackerdork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Circa sometime.
Posts: 3,297
well this happens all the time on weekends, nothing can be done other than waiting. it could be hours, days until the listing is accurate and problem start again on friday night.
seems to be related to the 1000s of new stations being added and deleted since people constanly test stuff on weekends.

if you dont have a website for yourself, you should get one since shoutcaast.com listings should not be used to market your station , its just there to list stations.

If you ran your station 24/7/265 you would see this problem all the time.

~ D

~ According to the ship's log we're down to our last 3000 vomit bags.It'll never be enough.
search the forums! don't PM me on how-to, or ask me to setup you system. you do it so you learn.
hackerdork is offline  
Old 4th June 2006, 13:53   #9
woodspring
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7
Hime!
I've been getting exactly the same thing for the past week.
<06/04/06@13:40:48> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<06/04/06@13:40:48> [yp_tch] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (100)
<06/04/06@13:45:52> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com added me successfully

Never happened before that despite running the server for a couple of years.
I was a bit worried when I read somewhere on these forums that it could have something to do with some kind of ban, but as Shoutcast adds me again after just a few minutes it can't be that.
I'd speculate, not being and expert by any means, that it's something with Shoutcast and not your end.
woodspring is offline  
Old 5th June 2006, 02:01   #10
DJQUICK-E
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 22
This is true, I have been getting that nak error for the last week or so-and I do run my station 24/7, but this is the first time I have noticed this to happen..But it always says....was added successfuly..Strange things never stop in this world...

"Life is too short, "Have some fun"
DJQUICK-E is offline  
Old 7th June 2006, 05:18   #11
roachley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
"Ditto"

Just FYI !

Same issue (exactly) here. Same hardware, configuration & ISP for the last two years!

?

Thanks!
roachley is offline  
Old 7th June 2006, 12:54   #12
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Quote:
Originally posted by tuckerm
First one i've seen like this. It sounds like yp is having some bugs atm, but it looks like your on there now, i wouldnt worry about it. Can you provide us with a link to see if it works?
tuckerm is offline  
Old 7th June 2006, 13:27   #13
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
All my servers are showing stuff like this in the logfiles. Half of them no longer appear on the YP at all even though the logfiles say they're added & touching. I have orphaned relays that no longer cluster correctly, so the chances are if you're getting this error the problem is not on your end. The YP is totally borked this week. Tag says in another thread that it's being worked on, so everyone just needs to be patient. Life goes on...
dotme is offline  
Old 7th June 2006, 14:41   #14
hackerdork
Forum King
 
hackerdork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Earth Circa sometime.
Posts: 3,297
dotme.. 'totally borked' ??? what do we have the swedish chef from the muppet show as the admin or what?



I notice nak errors appear at random times as well, or one visitor to shoutcast.com couldnt see the station information, and another could. Even from one of my connections that has nat, when I went to shoutcast.com I found the stream I was looking for, another system on the same natted connection gets ' Unfortunately, there weren't any SHOUTcast streams found containing the term'.

I lost my confidence in the YP long ago, but it not a big deal for me when I don't use YP to market the streams I am involved in.

Hope everyone else can just stick with it, take it like a sys admin fighting a barrage of little issues. It should get better and if you have listeners, then yp shouldnt matter in the first place.

If you want to nak errors to go away make your station private, then sc_serv will not 'touch' the yp servers but you will never be listed on the streams directory either.

Cheers.

~ According to the ship's log we're down to our last 3000 vomit bags.It'll never be enough.
search the forums! don't PM me on how-to, or ask me to setup you system. you do it so you learn.
hackerdork is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 14:09   #15
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Giving this a *bump* because the problems continue today and people are gonna be posting about them.

Generally, the servers that don't ever get included in a cluster or the YP directory get the "YP Add" message on restart, but don't ever receive a visit from the Directory Tester.

...I mention this just in case anybody who works on the YP reads this thread
dotme is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 18:16   #16
voice23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
This "issue" seems to be an ongoing one since February. Any news on it lately? I am still not listed and am still getting the NAK 100. My station is up and can be listened to.

Listen Now - 65.27.25.238:8285/listen.pls

But I have not been listed for a few weeks.
voice23 is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 21:07   #17
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Originally posted by voice23
Any news on it lately?
Nope - silence for a few days now from those "in the know" so all we can do is wait
dotme is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 22:14   #18
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
I've cracked it. If you are getting the nak(100) error and you are able to, change your DNAS port. If you were running on 8000, change to 8002.

Don't ask me why - but I change DNAS ports, the SHOUTcast Directory Tester comes for a visit, that server gets listed in the YP and joins the cluster. If I change back to the original port, it doesn't - and the nak(100) error returns.
dotme is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 22:54   #19
Baskido
Senior Member
 
Baskido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ^ in a tree
Posts: 291
Got the same problems here, and i dont have the option of changing the port to something else. Is this a temporary issue?

I'm Back!
Tune In!
Baskido is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 23:00   #20
titopv
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Great dotme!!!!!

I was the same problem (Whith directory tester too that no appear) and configurated my portbase at 666. I change the portbase to one other (667, 668, 8000, ....) in the sc_serv.ini and in winamp Shoutcast DSP and work again good.

Before the monday (day that i check the problem) my radio works but not appear in YP.

Is possible a problem in the shoutcast servers or in the shoutcast network.

Please!!!!! Any admin here read this!!!! I like work in 666 port base.

(Sorry all for my bad english).
titopv is offline  
Old 8th June 2006, 23:05   #21
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Yep, hopefully Tag or someone else can fix the YP before we get mass (forum) suicide.
tuckerm is offline  
Old 9th June 2006, 00:05   #22
DJQUICK-E
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 22
I tried the 666 thing did not help,oh well not a big thing, as long as people can stil listen to my radio station, I am happy with that!!

"Life is too short, "Have some fun"
DJQUICK-E is offline  
Old 9th June 2006, 05:11   #23
woodspring
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7
I've never run on 8000, but 10000 anyway, so it makes no difference to me.
As has been mentioned many times now in this thread, it's probably only of major concern to people that are using Shoutcast to advertise their sites.
For us lowly mortals more often than not we've already informed mates as to where the station is.
Have a good weekend you lot!
cheers
woodspring is offline  
Old 9th June 2006, 16:33   #24
DanceNgine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Same error here. Since 06/02/06.

If I use another port as usually, the directory tester visits every 3 minutes.

Will this "error" will be fixed?
DanceNgine is offline  
Old 9th June 2006, 16:45   #25
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Probably not in the short run. Seems the "YP" has a problem letting go of dead streams. Maybe it needs therapy.

I spent yesterday afternoon changing the PortBase= value of all the servers I had that said they were added, but wouldn't receive a visit from the "Directory Tester"

Since that change, everything's fine. But even today, if I return a server to its original portbase, the problem comes right back. Hopefully an Admin will track this down at some point, because while I have the luxury on dedicated servers of changing ports, most people with stream hosts do not. Luckily, I don't think this problem affects a large number of SHOUTcasters... probably 10% or less.
dotme is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 00:21   #26
destroyerdotnet
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
hmm we are currently being affected by this bug as well...

lamesauce

a real problem for us considering we have so many live djs, changing the portbase is gonna cause me a week+ of horseshit sussing everyone out.
destroyerdotnet is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 00:25   #27
Baskido
Senior Member
 
Baskido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ^ in a tree
Posts: 291
same here, but in my case its mostly because i cant be arsed re-programming our exe-players :<

i dropped from a avg of 250~ to one of 40~ because of this crap

I'm Back!
Tune In!
Baskido is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 07:08   #28
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
When is this all gonna end?
I have 2 new servers since the first of June.
All I get is nak(100) on both servers.
My existing servers are working properly sometimes, but also not by now and then, sometimes the directory freezes and sometimes it gives only errors.
Don't give me all the links that I should have read before because I read them all, I just want to know when this crap stops and when Shoutcast is gonna work properly again?
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 07:44   #29
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,867
Quote:
Originally posted by Zoab
When is this all gonna end?
when it ends

Quote:
Originally posted by Zoab

Don't give me all the links that I should have read before because I read them all, I just want to know when this crap stops and when Shoutcast is gonna work properly again?
Shoutcast is working just fine, you are streaming.

troubles not reaching the YP at shoutcast.com Has nothing to do with you streaming or Not
it has only to do with your station appearing on a FREE service that nullsoft/shoutcast provides.

if you are only depending on that service to get listeners than you are not being serious about broadcasting as this problem has been known since years

see other threads about not getting listed etc

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 08:31   #30
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Well.....if it is a free SERVICE, just let it be a service!
This has nothing to do with a service anymore, a service works!

I also not comply to your second remark, people are depending on shoutcast being listed bacause there is a list isn't it?
At least the list should work....
That has nothing to do with being a serious broadcaster or not.

Everytime somebody has critics the way the shoutcast list works, he's getting nailed down because it is a free service and other bladibla.
That has nothing to do with it, it should be working.
No excuses, make it work!
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 09:32   #31
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,867
@Zoab

What did you pay for using shoutcast software?????

and in addition they created a database that shows your station.
instead of being gratefull you get so much for so little you are acting like a spoiled kid who doesn't get what he wants.

if you have serious complaints take it up with AOL since they own nullsoft/shoutcast

don't act like some cry baby here and don't use those stupid lame lines as you do above,

you don't have anything to DEMAND .
You should be gratefull for A FREE PIECE OF SOFTWARE

A serious broadcaster already has taken care of getting listeners by having a good homepage, banner exchange etc etc

which means you are not serious if you are depending on the listing.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 09:49   #32
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Yeah right!
If your story is the right one.....why not turn down the whole thing?
What is the addition of a service which doesn't work the way it should?

I have a good homepage, I have listeners etc etc.
It has never been my choiche to make shoutcast free, and that isn't the issue here...
The issue is that the shoutcast directory isn't work as it should be......
Don't try to change the subject!
The one who is whining overhere is you: Don't touch shoutcast!

You don't even have a clue what a serious broadcaster is!
A serious broadcaster wants that every condition what might be good for his station works properly!
Also the shoutcast dir.
Why is it a problem to make a point of that?
Why is every die-hard shoutcast forum member changing to a whiner when people wants to know about that?
Just fix the problem OK?
Instead of making excuses!
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 11:02   #33
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,867
Quote:
To expand. The problem has not been ongoing for months, just the same symptoms for two seperate issues.

Prior to the new online services a different architecture was used to power the YP. There were quite a few problems with the database in this case, where by, after some failures, the system was rewritten to be properly load balanced.

The issue currently, as Tag has stated, is with the sync's between those database servers accepting inserts, and those returning the queries. Which is why your listing requests are currently working, but your actual listings are not being updated.
previously posted by CraigF forum admin
in this thread
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=247140

known problems with the YP
it ain't a priority so why the heck do you keep nagging , whining and crying over something that ain't that important

if it's that important to you than find a programmer that can make a simular data base so you won't have to post in a forum with fellow broadcasters that couldn't care less that you are not listed and get a NAK error.

you Sir are barking up the wrong tree here, as i stated above already.

grow up, get a life and worry about more important issue's than this.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 11:35   #34
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
I think you hit the wrong button!
Fellow broadcasters do care, there are threads about these issues all over the place in this forum.....
And it's not nagging, it's just pushing up this issue because broadcasters DO care.
Only a few die-hard forum members nailing everybody who does care down, are telling the rest that nobody cares.
So, who is whining here.....?
BTW, why is this forum for otherwise?
To have a nice little chat or something like that?
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 11:50   #35
Baskido
Senior Member
 
Baskido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ^ in a tree
Posts: 291
I talked with one of the AOL people not so long ago, here i quote:


"We have frozen shoutcast. No new changes are being made.

Sorry for the late response."


I dont know if their "Freezing process" has anything to do with the YP, but if it does, the end of the tunnel is not yet in sight

I'm Back!
Tune In!
Baskido is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 11:52   #36
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Hey OK.....
Thanks for the feedback!
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 11:53   #37
Baskido
Senior Member
 
Baskido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ^ in a tree
Posts: 291
Heh np

I'm Back!
Tune In!
Baskido is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 12:05   #38
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,867
@Baskido

At least somebody knows how to bark up the right tree
thanks for sharing this, this should shut up those that are complaining here to fellow broadcasters but are not clever enough to ask AOL like you did.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 12:06   #39
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by Baskido
Heh np
Zoab is offline  
Old 11th June 2006, 12:08   #40
Zoab
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by spaceplay
@Baskido

At least somebody knows how to bark up the right tree
thanks for sharing this, this should shut up those that are complaining here to fellow broadcasters but are not clever enough to ask AOL like you did.
The old wise man has spoken....
Zoab is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump