Old 30th March 2004, 15:55   #1
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
5 Speakders + Subwoofer - But no Bass

Hi

I have a problem with winamp. I have winamp 5 and a 6 speaker-set (5 speakers + subwoofer)

The problem is - I dont have bass when i listen to mp3s. The subwoofer is silent.

I have tried everything in the Preferences, but nothing changes. It is like he cannot recognizes a bass.

But it works when i am playing a DVD in PowerDVD or something like that...

Also strange is, I dont have bass when I play a mp3 in Windows Media Player or elsewhere... is it my speakerset, or the mp3?

What can i do?
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2004, 17:42   #2
R4D4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
On my 4.1 system it has 5 modes, Dolby Digital, Stereo and Stereox2, on these modes there is no bass channel. But on the prologic and quad mode there is. Try to find a "mode"-button on the speakers
R4D4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2004, 18:02   #3
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
Hm, i cannot find such "modes"
I just defined "6 speakers" and thats it... i also have 5.1 speakers defined in the system registry, and in the test programm of the software, all speakers inclusive subwoofer work - but just when i play mp3 in winamp etc... it does not work...

So I posted here
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2004, 14:36   #4
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
Well, anyone able to help me?
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2004, 16:01   #5
R4D4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Maybe....

What speakers
What soundcard
What version of Windows
Clean install?
R4D4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2004, 16:47   #6
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
Uh... ok

Thats a Tevion 5.1 Sound System
C-Media AC97 Audio Device (or something like that)
Windows XP

Everything working fine... was a totaly complete computer when i bought it (few weeks ago) and well, everything is perfect.
Just now i dont know whats going on...
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2004, 14:36   #7
R4D4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Go to start>control panel>classic view>sound and audio devices>advanced and change it to 5.1 speakers instead of desktop stereo speakers
R4D4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2004, 17:08   #8
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
I did this a few days ago... nothing changed.

Subwoofer is silent when i play mp3s... i can turn the bass full up, but then i have the "bass" on the 5 speakers, but not over the subwoofer...

AH that drives me mad...
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 09:39   #9
R4D4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Are the speakers plugged in correctly? check that
R4D4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 13:49   #10
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
Sure they are. Otherwise i would not hear the subwoofer when i play DVDs on my computer...

Well... seems to be an unsolvable problem
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 15:56   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
...and you've tried everything here?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 16:06   #12
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
Yes I did... i also tried some downloadable plugins now - nothing helps.

Now I am installing DirectX 9.0b ... letz see if this helps.
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 17:14   #13
Alltaken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 215
go to the output plugins area in winamp.

go to directsound select properties.

choose the drop down menu on the first tab and change it to AC97 audio codec. and also tick the box saying "allow hardware acceleration"

this is what enables 5.1 for me

Alltaken
Alltaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2004, 17:29   #14
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
But not for me... thats the strange thing.

My subwoofer keeps beeing silent. I give it up...
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2004, 05:52   #15
Alltaken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 215
Edimasta

can i ask does your sub-woofer work in anything else other than winamp.

does it work in WMP or any other media players???

i would test that first, it could be anything to do with your setup, could even be that the sub woofer volume is turend off. (in windows or on the thing itself) it could be that its not pluged in, or it could even be that the driver is not set up correctly.

i myself have a third party software driver that sets up the 5.1 channel sound for my mobo. hence i don't get to the configuration the same way as you.

but do try see if its a winamp only thing or if its a system wide issue.

Alltaken
Alltaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2004, 12:21   #16
Edimasta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vienna
Posts: 9
As i said, the subwoofer works when i watch DVDs over PowerDVD.

But when i play MP3s in Winamp, Media Player or elsewhere, the subwoofer is silent...

And in the test-center of my sound-card, the subwoofer also works. So he is plugged in correctly and turned on.

So it seems to be something with the MP3s... and i dont know what to do more.
Edimasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2008, 14:27   #17
Yadaraf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Hi, I had the same problem with the same audio card : AC97.

I have just discovered the solution :
Go to your software DD realtek (the Asus software)
In the page of Frequency Management (Paramètre de gestion de basse fréquence in French) you check : Allow low management (Authoriser la gestion des graves).

That's all, it should work !

P.S. : I apologize for my english writting ^^
Yadaraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2013, 11:32   #18
Adom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Hello Edimasta, you can fix it like this:

Go to your taskbar, double click on a little button called "volume" and click activate bass manager.


Picture is in slovakia's language, sorry. :/

Sorry for my bad english.
Adom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump