Old 3rd June 2005, 15:01   #1
DavidGoose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How to edit an Unicode .nsh

Hi experts,
I want NSIS support my language (Vietnamese) for modern UI.
I edit a file Vietnamese.nsh. The problem is that NSIS only accept ASSCCI file, I need Unicode to display my language.
So what should I do ?
Thank you in advance,
V.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 15:05   #2
DavidGoose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
A small explanation,
I know how to deal with Language support. If I use ANSI .nsh file, it works well. The only problem that Vietnamese language can not be display only with ANSI, it needs Unicode for some special characters. NSIS does not seem to support UNICODE !? as I know so far. Because when I used Unicode, the NSIS compiler showed error saying that it can not understand UNICODE.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2005, 19:23   #3
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
NSIS doesn't support Unicode. You'd have to use just letters available in the code page.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2005, 02:07   #4
DavidGoose
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by kichik
NSIS doesn't support Unicode. You'd have to use just letters available in the code page.
Do you developers intend to support UNICODE in near future ???
I think it's better to do so because many many languages in this world only display correctly with UNICODE.
V.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2005, 09:58   #5
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Not in the near future.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2005, 23:10   #6
Obucinac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Serbia
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by DavidGoose
I think it's better to do so because many many languages in this world only display correctly with UNICODE.
V.
I'm not a NSIS developer, but I want to tell you something. Man, I would kill for unicode, but many many developing tools are not good with unicode... OS himself is not good with unicode. Today, developing UNICODE software IS a problem.
Obucinac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion > NSIS Translations

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump