Old 31st December 2001, 06:50   #1
MageFire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3
Video Card claims it won't support?

I am using a Voodoo 3 3500 TV video card. However, when I try to use Smoke, it tells me that my video card won't support 32 bit color, even though my computer itself runs in 32 bit. It tells me to try it in 16 bit, which DOES work, but I have to set my entire computer display back to 16 bit color. The rest of my system is Windows XP, 750MHz Athlon, 320K Ram, Hercules Fortissimo II sound card...
MageFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 23:39   #2
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
What does ryans other plugin milkdrop do? Normally similar errors.
Can you post the debug file with and without 32 bit?

Have you new XP drivers for the voddoo3 or are you using the orginal ones with XP.

Rovastar

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 02:02   #3
MageFire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3
MilkDrop Error

I have updated drivers for my video card, and for some reason smoke now runs, but milkdrop has errors. it comes up with "error rendering offscreen textures. Not enough video memory" (or something to that effect) and then freezes. I have the debug file for it, but this forum tells me its too big to post. If anyone will help me, I'd be more than happy to email the debug to someone. please help, I ahve tried changin all the settings and have no luck getting this to work.
MageFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 03:10   #4
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
mail it me and I will have a look.

rovastar@hotmail.com

but first delete the m_debug file and re-run milkdrop to recreate it.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 03:24   #5
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
Actually that may be a lost cause.

We ahve this problem already I fear:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=65337

What new drivers are you using? ARe they on the 'offficial' site or from somewhere like http://www.voodoofiles.com/4980

Rovastar

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2002, 08:51   #6
MageFire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3
Ok, sorry, didn't see the second post before I emailed the debug. The driver I am currently using was obtained through voodoofiles. Thanks anyway for your help
MageFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2002, 13:11   #7
Predatorsfan2000
Senior Member
 
Predatorsfan2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 234
Well, it isn't a software problem. The Voodoo 3 doesn't support 32-bit rendering in anything but 2d. 3d is 16-bit only.
Predatorsfan2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > Other Visualizations > Smoke

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump