Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Old 20th September 2012, 01:13   #1
monty_lameer

No sound can be heard by my friend through Shoutcast but everything seems to work...?

Hi there

I’m new to Winamp & Shoutcast, and I’ve got a friend online who has been helping me set it up so I can broadcast live shows from my home studio into Second Life.

Everything seemed to work well at first. He was able to hear music I played directly through Winamp. But when I tried to play music from my own local computer through Shoutcast, he couldn’t hear anything at his end. The green signal metres were moving pretty much in time with the music I was playing, I was definitely connected (auto-connect selected), but no sound was coming out for him.

We noticed that the “input” options for me were just “Winamp (recommended)” and “Line In (Legacy)”. While we were testing whether he could hear music played through Winamp directly, I had that option selected to “Winamp” but when we wanted to test if he could hear music played from my computer (like Windows Media Player files, etc), I changed it to “Line In”. He said there was supposed to be an option of “Soundcard” but I don’t have this. I think this is causing the problem, but I’m not sure.

What IS legacy anyway? I seem to be forced to select this. When I did NOT tick the “Use Shoutcast v1 for Legacy servers” box, it wouldn’t play any sound through Shoutcast and the green bars were non-existent even when quite loud music was playing in Windows Media Player. When I ticked the box, it all seemed to work again.