Old 27th March 2007, 15:55   #1
Rebellious1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Designated genre

Why is Shoutcast listing my station under a different genre other than what I have? I am stuck in (various)?
Rebellious1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2007, 16:33   #2
Rebellious1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
I thought it was an easy question for the veterans.

How about where does shoutcast pull the station genre from that way I can start there to see if that's where the problem is? If Im a Jazz station why am I listed under various???
Rebellious1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2007, 16:56   #3
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,504
You'll be listed under everything that you put in the genre -- it's a free form string -- use spaces or commas to list in more than one.

When someone does a search, (even a genre-specific search) the directory engine will look everywhere it can find the search term. so if "various" appears in the title, you may be found there. You may also be too far down in the list in your chosen genre to appear in any useful context -- You'll find that deep in any listing (especially in the zero listener range), things are not very consistent.

* don't expect the YP to be buletproof, it has a lot of work to do. That means: don't let anything you see or don't see on the YP discourage you. Do your thang!
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2007, 19:58   #4
Rebellious1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by djSpinnerCee
You'll be listed under everything that you put in the genre -- it's a free form string -- use spaces or commas to list in more than one.
Where is this free form string that you speak of? That's where I need to edit my list according to your response but have no idea where it is.
Thx.
Rebellious1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2007, 22:21   #5
Rebellious1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Where do I edit and add to my gendre? Can someone tell me where? I need to resolve this ASAP.

Thx.
Rebellious1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2007, 23:59   #6
Thebig429
Senior Member
 
Thebig429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 358
In the DSP plug-in
Output tab press the Yellowpages button.

Cadillac Radio
Classic rock from the 60s to the 90s


listen here

Talk Webcasting .com - The Webcaster's Second Home
Thebig429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump