Old 17th December 2009, 14:23   #1
BladedThoth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Updated to 5.57 -- Crashes during first launch

I just updated to 5.57.

I launch WinAMP, and it asks me the usual starter questions (file associations/feature updates/etc), it immediately crashes as it starts. I stripped out ALL the plugins to see if it would launch (Seeing other people had plugin problems), to no avail. It says 'Winamp Setup' in the dialog box, so it is crashing BEFORE winamp's triggered.
BladedThoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2009, 16:10   #2
BladedThoth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
See the thread http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=315401 for the fix that worked.

Shouldn't have to do stuff like that though.
BladedThoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2009, 17:09   #3
Sam___D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
I have the same problem but I don't understand where I can find the solution...
Sam___D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2009, 17:14   #4
nhustak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Same problem here. VERY uncool guys.

N Hustak
nhustak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2009, 20:59   #5
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Can someone try this potential fix
http://stashbox.org/739209/elevatorps.dll

Overwrite the existing file in c:\program files\winamp (while Winamp is closed)

and see if it resolves the issue. Would be most appreciated, thanks!
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 13:37   #6
Habboi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Hi, it worked for me, thanks.

Although I'm annoyed I had to re-register because I used hotmail. I've got work to do and I had wait for the email...
Habboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 13:39   #7
Peppermonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Peppermonkey Send a message via AIM to Peppermonkey Send a message via Yahoo to Peppermonkey
The new dll worked for me as well.
Peppermonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 15:39   #8
VisualCSharp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Yeah, I'm running Windows Server 2008 x86. It appears as though Winamp's code is doing something nasty because Data Execution Prevention is killing the process.

Bad developers, bad!
VisualCSharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 15:42   #9
VisualCSharp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
That new DLL fixed the problem. BTW, what is Elevator.exe?
VisualCSharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 16:44   #10
Habboi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
I googled it and it is for users with Vista. You need to elevate the access or something because of the whole permission system.

I had to close it in task manager because the dll refused to replace.
Habboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 17:37   #11
april81972
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
This worked for me but ONLY after I went into Task Manager and stopped the elevator.exe

Hope that helps...
april81972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 18:39   #12
VARTV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to VARTV Send a message via Yahoo to VARTV
Quote:
Originally posted by april81972
This worked for me but ONLY after I went into Task Manager and stopped the elevator.exe

Hope that helps...
+1
VARTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 18:46   #13
stopasking
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 446
After I want to complete the settings dialogue, Winamp tries to launch, but crashes...
stopasking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 20:46   #14
Sam___D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
worked for me
also worked on Winamp 5.56 (had the same problem in that version)
Sam___D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2009, 23:36   #15
stopasking
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 446
lol, I discovered a fix for my problem. After clicking OK in the settings dialogue, when the UAC-Window appears, just open the Task Manager - I didn't stop elevator.exe, I just opened it.
stopasking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 02:03   #16
Jukebox-Hikari
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by stopasking
lol, I discovered a fix for my problem. After clicking OK in the settings dialogue, when the UAC-Window appears, just open the Task Manager - I didn't stop elevator.exe, I just opened it.
Haaa!

It works.
Jukebox-Hikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 13:47   #17
The Serminator
Senior Member
 
The Serminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on the road to Elysium with my pockets full of diamonds
Posts: 132
Just thought I would be one more confirmation. I had to move the existing dll out of the winamp folder in order to move the new one into it. Now I can't delete the old one... but I'll figure it out one way or another.

Thanks! Hopefully, all this good input will provide a more permanent solution.

"Come with me, if you want to live."
The Serminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump