Old 11th August 2011, 14:25   #1
angry747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
I want to bash my head in with a rock

Okay, here's the deal. I have a web server. I can SSH to it. I have unlimited bandwidth. I have plenty of space.

And what do I want to do with it? Start an online radio station. USING THE SERVER.

Every single tutorial I get is on how do do it locally on a Windows/Linux/Fart box. I DON'T WANT TO DO THAT.

The framework would be doing a relay from the local box (with audio equipment connected) TO the server, and then out to the listening audience from there. This is the tutorial I need, or I at least need some kind of documentation that explains this worth a tinkers' darn.

I'm sorry, I just feel like sliding my keyboard aside and bashing my head in with a rock . This is frustrating. I don't need a "newbie" howto per se, as I am a Web Developer and am up to speed for the most part. I just haven't done streaming audio servers before and I am not giving up until I get this going, haha.

Anyway, any guidance that you fine folks can provide would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you.
angry747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 18:10   #2
angry747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Pretty please? Even a link to a reasonably good tutorial will suffice.
angry747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 20:12   #3
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
I have a rock you can borrow

I guess I'm not understanding the core problem. "Every single tutorial I get is on how do do it locally on a Windows/Linux/Fart box." - Well, what OS is on your webserver? Windows? Linux? Fart?

Seriously, the webserver most likely runs Linux or a flavor thereof - in which case the tutorial for "Linux" is probably what you're after. The physical location of the hardware shouldn't matter, whether at home or in a data center. The installation would be the same...
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 20:46   #4
angry747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Less Rock to the Head action...

Okay, got SSH authorized. Answer: it's a Linux host.

1. Used PuTTY to log in and did a wget, tar to extract.

2. Did a vi on the conf file, changed the passwords and told it to listen on port 8080.

3. Then ran it as ./sc_serv sc_serv_basic.conf & (so it would run in the background)

Got this output:

-bash-3.2$ 2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.29
2011-08-11 13:30:41 D msg:<***>
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS)
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:** Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/posix(linux x86) v2.0.0.29 (Jul 31 2011) starting up...
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 28542
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 4
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 4 network threads
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8080
2011-08-11 13:30:41 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8081




Problem is, when I try my domain (ex. www.myserver.com:8080), I don't get the Admin page. Where is the server supposed to be housed? Place it in root? My web server usually responds to code placed in the html folder (like a garden variety Apache). Do I make it a subfolder of the html folder (html/shoutcast)?

I am obviously getting closer... Thank you very much in advance for your help! Mods are lifesavers!
angry747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 21:19   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the admin page should appear just from being accessed (the DNAS acts as a mini web-server for those) as long as the ports are open and access is allowed to get to it.

the fact that the DNAS itself is running with the log output you've got shows that side of things is fine. you'd now need to make sure that port 8080 is open so it can be accessed (something that needs to be done with any setup be it local or remote).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 21:37   #6
angry747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Yeah, it's timing out on requests to the domain at port 8080. Not sure why...
angry747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 21:42   #7
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
one word

firewall

some other words

make sure incoming connections on port 8080 are allowed by the host firewall

Is it just me or are shoutcast users getting dumber?
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 21:59   #8
angry747
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Makes sense, however from the admin panel, the only thing I can see is to make a service record (SRV) entry. But what would be the target?
angry747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2011, 21:33   #9
doobiedoobiedo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
same question

I want to stream audio from my studio to my webserver which is where I want people to listen to the stream from. I have a static ip at my studio, but the point is my webserver is located in a data center and has a ton of bandwidth. My studio has more limited bandwidth.

I think what I'm after is info on "relay" or sc_relay. Any info or help in basic setup appreciated!
doobiedoobiedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2011, 22:43   #10
dotme
Moderator
 
dotme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by doobiedoobiedo View Post
I want to stream audio from my studio to my webserver which is where I want people to listen to the stream from. I have a static ip at my studio, but the point is my webserver is located in a data center and has a ton of bandwidth. My studio has more limited bandwidth.

I think what I'm after is info on "relay" or sc_relay. Any info or help in basic setup appreciated!
Webservers are not always streaming servers. Not only do you need bandwidth, but also access to install software *on* the webserver. If you have that capability (it's a VPS, or dedicated box that you can actually log into) then you just need to install Shoutcast.

If your webserver isn't really yours, and you can't run applications on the operating system it runs on, then you'll need to look for a stream host (places that rent listener slots on shoutcast servers)
dotme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2011, 23:11   #11
doobiedoobiedo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Yes, I can install whatever I want on my webserver including streaming servers etc.

My question, though, is if I want to set up the streaming server as a relay config. Also, my studio is already streaming publicly, but I don't want anything other than our remote webserver (streaming server) picking up that stream. We don't want to sacrifice our limited local bandwidth for streaming. Better to have just one stream that our remote streaming server will pick up and redistribute from there.

So which config are we looking for to enable shoutcast to pick up and redistribute our studio's stream?
doobiedoobiedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
shoutcast unix host

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump