Old 19th November 2002, 12:23   #1
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
SETI@forums.winamp.com

I've been running SETI for quite a while now (will hit 100 work units today! ). And I thought It's be good to make a WA forum member group, so I just have. Available here.

You can join up for a new SETI account or move your group membership by clicking the join link at the top of that page. All your WU's will be transfered from your previous group.



What is SETI?

Quote:
SETI@home is a scientific experiment that

uses Internet-connected computers

in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI). You can participate by running a free program that

downloads and analyzes radio telescope data.


It can be run as either a screensaver (REALLY NOT RECCOMENDED!) or on a command line through a DOS box. The screensaver version is not reccomended because its at least 5 times as slow! due to processing fancy graphics instead of doing real work.



why do we need a team

Teams are just a way of groups of people to get together and work together. They aren't needed and you don't have to join on to use Seti. I want you to join this team though .



Where can I get it?

The Seti HP is here.

The download page is here.

It's dead easy to install and run, just read the documentation available.



What platforms will it run on?

Pretty much anything and everything from x86 to macs to SPARCS to Alphas to ...... anything your likley to be using.



Will it make computer really slow?

No. Seti is run as a really low priority thread in windows so anything else that wants the CPU gets it straight away. You can use you computer as if it weren't there and when your not using it SETI will take full advantage of your machine.



What is a WU

A WU is work unit. The servers at Seti send you work units for you to process, when they're done you send the results back to them. WU's can take a long time to complete, I average 4hrs/WU on an XP2100+.



What if my computer crashes?

You won't lose anything, Seti stores everything in text files as it goes along so you can kill it whenever you like, including crashes.



Programs for using SETI:

You don't need any special programs to use Seti but there are a lot that will show you stats and do other useful tasks. A good list is available here.



I'm using SetiStash which gives you a few details about your progress. It runs the CLI version of SETI and can hide the CLI window and be minimised to the systray. This program is really just so that you don't have to be connected to the internet when a WU finishes and insted transfer multiple WUs when you are connected.



I also use Seti Spy to show info on the performance of my machine and other handy bits about your groups stats.







If anyone is interested in joining the cause please do. I thought it'd be a nice idea for these forums have their own group.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 16:48   #2
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
adding my 200-some WUs to the list

(triGEAR and Dregore)
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 16:58   #3
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
kick ass!

I hit 100 just over an hour ago. Any more takers?
edit: Any chance of some glue for this thread for a bit?

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 17:45   #4
Ember69
Senior Member
 
Ember69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to Ember69 Send a message via Yahoo to Ember69
truthfully i dont know what the whole thing is but if it doesnt get glued, i'll just sit and reply when it starts going down
Ember69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 17:55   #5
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
you know, i'm glad you brought this up phily. i've been sitting here pumping out work units forever, and at least now i have a purpose.
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 19:12   #6
stttafffy
Major Dude
 
stttafffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: the ether
Posts: 1,059
i think i've done about 10 work units, but i stopped it as my screensaver because it had a purple frame that never moved, and would have burned into my screen. also, i forget the email i used for it, and the password :P would i be able to turn it on overnight (not as a screensaver)? then i'd join


In space no one can hear you scream.
stttafffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 19:37   #7
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
I've not used SETI before (mainly as I've got a nice screensaver already - but now you've told about this command line version that can run on Win32 systems I've installed it on my network server... so we shall see how well it works!

Couldn't get it to run on my speedy computer though - I think the firewall gets in the way - so it's running on the network server thing, which is a little on the slow side...
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 19:54   #8
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
if you have windows2000 or xp, you can have seti@home run at all times... it only uses the processor cycles you are not using (basically the same thing as the "system idle process" that always runs in the background... just occupying the cycles so your processor continues to run.

image


[edit] pardon the image. i was bored. [/edit]
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 20:09   #9
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I know that there's a proxy switch on the Unix version to get through proxy servers. The command looks like:

setiathome -proxy proxyort

Dunno if you can do the same on windows
It's really bad using the screensaver, it's just so innefficient, it might look nice but it's doing nothing for the cause. The CLI can be run at all times without the need for a screensaver. Also the best screensaver is to turn your monitor off if your leaving it on overnight .

This is what SetiSpy and Seti Stash look like, both can easily be minimised to the tray and seti spy run only when you want to look see what's happening.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 20:13   #10
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Just a quick question, how much bandwith does it use??

I'd be willing to give it a go if it didnt tie up my slow ass, shared 28k connection...
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 20:27   #11
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
umm...what do i click to register? i looked but cant find it (join says im not in the database) [excuse me for being an idiot]


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 20:46   #12
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
To join you download and unzip the files then the first time you run it it will ask you for an existing accout or to create a new one. You have to have a Seti account to join the group.

It only takes up bandwidth when it's transfering results or new WU's, so very very little. A few hundred k max when it does. You can run it off-line and then transfer when you connect. Thats why I use the Seti Stash program so I don't have to be connected to the net to use it, it will buffer the results to return and then transfer them when it's connected.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 21:34   #13
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
phily, did you get your 100 unit congratulations letter yet?
they send you one at 100 wu. at 250 they send you a certificate.
i don't know what comes next.

(how long does it take you to process a wu? i've got it down to about 15 hours)

[edit] oh, and can you regenerate the page? it hasn't added my stats in there yet, just my name... [/edit]
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 21:41   #14
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Yeah I got me certifficate and I'm doing about 4hrs/WU . I don't know how to refresh the stats or if i does it automatically or what. Will have a look.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 21:42   #15
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
OK I'm in. I did have 107 units completed from ages ago, but I don't have the password for my old account.

I never knew about the CLI client, it's ace...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg setispy.jpg (53.0 KB, 421 views)

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 21:42   #16
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
4hrs/WU
darn you. when i upgrade my computer, you shall see... then i will get it down to... 8hrs/WU or less... darn you!

[edit] dylman, if you remember the old email address, you can use that to get your password back [/edit]
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 21:52   #17
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
But they'll only send the password email to my old long-since-deactivated email account. No way around it sadly.

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 22:10   #18
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
If it was a hotmail account you could just re-register is and get it sent there.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2002, 22:32   #19
dylman
Forum King
 
dylman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawarden
Posts: 2,115
It was my old Freeserve account. If they're still handing out free accounts to everybody, and if they'll let me re-register the old account name, then I suppose it is technically possible. Pain in the arse though...

There's no need to tell me when I'm right;
I operate on that principle exclusively and with absolute certainty
dylman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 00:34   #20
henry3k56
Forum King
 
henry3k56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Internet Posts: 3 Trillion
Posts: 4,241
I run mine over the network. No problems doing so.

henry3k56 | Summer is here.
My Flickr Page & Frontierra | Posting Since September 2001.
henry3k56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 00:38   #21
John M
Puts the Cuss in General Discussions
(Forum King)
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cincy, Ohio
Posts: 3,624
Send a message via AIM to John M
what about folding?

missyob made me post this.
John M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 00:43   #22
steak
Major Dude
 
steak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Zooropa
Posts: 820
Ok, I'm part of 'the group'
steak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 01:05   #23
n_ick2000
Forum King
 
n_ick2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: -
Posts: 2,501
Send a message via AIM to n_ick2000 Send a message via Yahoo to n_ick2000
Quote:
Originally posted by John M
what about folding?
yeah, their are pretty much 2 main distributed computing projects. SETI and Folding

I've heard that Folding is supposed to be a bit more competitive because of the massive [H]ard and Overclockers teams.


Oh, and I'll see if I can join SETI.

|
n_ick2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 02:51   #24
Anacific
Major Dude
 
Anacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,744
Send a message via AIM to Anacific
Looks tempting
I'll join as well. Might as well post here more often.
Darn school!

"He who desires but acts not, breeds pestilence." - William Blake
WSPA | WWF | RSPCA | AAPA | Green Peace - Know and help...
The Rainforest Site | The Animal Rescue Site - Click and help...
Anacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 03:07   #25
InvisableMan
Ninja Master!
(Forum King)
 
InvisableMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hotel California
Posts: 4,332
heh, up untill 2 months ago i did seti since it started but alas i deleted it so i need to make a new account. meh. oh well

*joins in the fun*
InvisableMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 03:32   #26
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
added my 200+ work units.
psyfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 03:35   #27
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
can you have more then one pc doing it @ once per account? cause i have it on my pc, but my mom's p4 2.2ghz with 1gig mem is just sitting there, hardly ever being used


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 03:38   #28
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally posted by cmw6988
can you have more then one pc doing it @ once per account? cause i have it on my pc, but my mom's p4 2.2ghz with 1gig mem is just sitting there, hardly ever being used
Yes I had it running on three pcs once all on the same account.
psyfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 03:40   #29
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
ok. thank you


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 13:30   #30
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
*bump*

So far we have 11 members and 630 results returned . That's a pretty good start but we could do with some more people, it's not as if this is a small forum, there must be some more takers. Happy hunting.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 13:41   #31
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
will sign up at home
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 15:03   #32
n_ick2000
Forum King
 
n_ick2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: -
Posts: 2,501
Send a message via AIM to n_ick2000 Send a message via Yahoo to n_ick2000
Yeah, I somehow gotta convince my dad to run this at his work, and put it under my name.

|
n_ick2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 15:09   #33
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
Now if only we had a spare Netra 20 or V880 lying around at work.....
Damn this slow ass Ultra 5

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 15:59   #34
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
hmm..tis kinda boring. Im bored.

Damn i wish what those graph thingies meant.



ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 16:09   #35
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
don't use the screensaver! unless you must. Just leave it running with the command line version as you use your computer.

.: fwgx.co.uk.:.My art:.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 18:20   #36
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
*bump*

So far we have 11 members and 630 results returned . That's a pretty good start but we could do with some more people, it's not as if this is a small forum, there must be some more takers. Happy hunting.
My poor old machine is taking forever to process the work unit thing.

'tis definitely doing something though, I can see it with the -verbose switch.
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 20:02   #37
psyfive
Forum King
 
psyfive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,527
Made a new avatar to show my support.


I too am bored!
psyfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 20:15   #38
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
Ah ha - I've figured out how to run it through a proxy server - if anyone's having trouble use the -help switch, and then it'll give you the options. I found that using the socks proxy works fine, yay!

Now I've got two machines running it simultaneously.
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 20:31   #39
nierke
Senior Member
 
nierke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 295
I'm in too But my PC....

19h/WU

...:::nierke:::...
nierke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2002, 23:26   #40
cgfiend
Senior Member
 
cgfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 257
Send a message via ICQ to cgfiend Send a message via AIM to cgfiend Send a message via Yahoo to cgfiend
I'm in too...

I'm in. It's been awhile since I last logged in, but it looks like I'm already ahead of everyone. Catch me if you can!

I've got an older ID but I can't see the e-mail anymore to get my password. It's no biggie tho, I only had 6 results on that one.

Can someone give me some pointers on how to use the command line version? -h doesn't give me very many specifics.

Last edited by cgfiend; 20th November 2002 at 23:43.
cgfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump