Old 11th April 2004, 17:02   #1
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Question about Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer keep in your hard drive the sites files that you visited.

Is there a way to avoid this?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:05   #2
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
If you have IE 6, go to Tools>Internet Options>Privacy Tab>Change the slider bar to the top to Block All Cookies.

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:05   #3
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
er. oops.

You can with TweakUI
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:07   #4
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
I highly recommend TweakUI, also.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:36   #5
cyu
Major Dude
 
cyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: in front of my pc
Posts: 1,617
Send a message via AIM to cyu Send a message via Yahoo to cyu
Or go to Internet options->click settings under temp internet files-> move it down to 1mb or something.
cyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:41   #6
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
Or you can make IE clear its cache every time it exits:

http://www.winguides.com/registry/display.php/1173/

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 17:42   #7
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
TweakUI will be, then...

Thanks!

[edit]
eh, url? I'm getting errors.
[/edit]


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.

Last edited by Joel; 11th April 2004 at 17:57.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 18:19   #8
morgado
Major Dude
 
morgado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: away from my baby
Posts: 1,097
Send a message via ICQ to morgado
Try Spy BOT Search and Destroy ...
It's got some tools on advance mode that let you do many things TweakUI can too

I Love You Ana Luiza
MSN
morgado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 18:29   #9
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,000
Swich to a better browser, Mozila, Firebird, Netscape, Opra hell even AOL's bloody browser...

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 19:01   #10
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
AOL's browser is built off of internet explorer

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 19:08   #11
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,000
Bah, well I've never used it so I dont know AOL at all, other than its crap.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 19:11   #12
griffinn
Court Jester
(Forum King)
 
griffinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Your local toystore
Posts: 3,501
Send a message via ICQ to griffinn
Isn't it... wrong to recommend crap to people?

The smiley slot machine! | Quotable Blog
griffinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 19:14   #13
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Quote:
Originally posted by Vie
Bah, well I've never used it so I dont know AOL at all, other than its crap.
you're certainly right about that. I would run another browser like mozilla but it seems rather pointless considering i would need to have aol running to have the internet connection.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 19:17   #14
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,000
Quote:
Originally posted by griffinn
Isn't it... wrong to recommend crap to people?
People here recomend fords...

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 21:14   #15
anubis2003
Forum King
 
anubis2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: middle of somewhere
Posts: 5,564
Send a message via AIM to anubis2003
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
you're certainly right about that. I would run another browser like mozilla but it seems rather pointless considering i would need to have aol running to have the internet connection.
You don't have to use aol's browser. Get the phone number that aol dials and create a new dialup network connection and use your username and password like you normally do. Should work just as well(I know I used it and it did fine).
anubis2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2004, 23:17   #16
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,837
A few things I recommend... found these in one of Egg's posts. (Thanks Egg! )


Spybot Search & Destroy
http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=home

SpywareBlaster
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/index.html

MS PowerToys for Windows XP (with TweakUI)
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p.../powertoys.asp
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 04:50   #17
Sandman2012
<3 foobar2k
(Forum King)
 
Sandman2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,203
Lobo, one of the best suggestions here so far for what you're looking for is to set IE to clear its cache every time you close it. When I used IE I kept the cache relatively small and had it cleared each time I closed the browser. Also, you can change the privacy settings so that IE only accepts cookies you want (I do that with Firefox - I have no need for most cookies on my computer).
Sandman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 05:01   #18
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
I thought AOL's browser was built off of netscape.
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 05:22   #19
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally posted by dlinkwit27
I thought AOL's browser was built off of netscape.
i thought aols browser was netscape, but i have never used aol, so i could be mistaken

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 12:08   #20
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
I used AOL 7 once, it actually made IE look good! *shudders*
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 12:34   #21
ryan
not fucked, not quite.
(Forum King)
 
ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tn
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via AIM to ryan
AOL has used many different browers in their client. IE, Netscape, and if I'm not mistaken Mozilla was at one time.
ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 20:39   #22
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Re: Question about Internet Explorer

Quote:
Originally posted by Lobo Lunar
Internet Explorer keep in your hard drive the sites files that you visited.

Is there a way to avoid this?
Use Opera or FireFox (Mozilla).

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 22:07   #23
electricmime
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally posted by idiot
AOL has used many different browers in their client. IE, Netscape, and if I'm not mistaken Mozilla was at one time.
i thought netscape was built off of mozilla >.>;

There is no reset button on life... but the graphics kick ass
electricmime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 23:14   #24
xzxzzx
Forum King
 
xzxzzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,254
Quote:
Originally posted by electricmime
i thought netscape was built off of mozilla >.>;
Sort of. More like Mozilla was built by Netscape.

Freedom of speech is the basic freedom of humanity. When you've lost that, you've lost everything.
1\/\/4y 34|<$p4y 1gp4y 33714y, 0d4y 0uy4y? | Roses are #FF0000; Violets are #0000FF; chown -R ${YOU} ~/base
The DMCA. It really is that bad. : Count for your life.
xzxzzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2004, 23:48   #25
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
or to be exact:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mozilla
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2004, 00:58   #26
Sandman2012
<3 foobar2k
(Forum King)
 
Sandman2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,203
What's all this about Mothra and Godzilla, and how does it help Lobo?

:P
Sandman2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2004, 06:25   #27
GqSkrub
Major Dude
 
GqSkrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lancaster Pennsylvania
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to GqSkrub
MyIE2 is pretty interesting too.

No sig here folks.
GqSkrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump