Old 28th September 2004, 15:45   #1
John Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Randomize on Load?

Is it possible to have Winamp randomize a playlist when it is loaded. I see it has a 'sort on load' option. What about the reverse?
John Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2004, 22:47   #2
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
well, to randomize the first song, download time restore & autoplay v1.8 from DrO's website. then goto preferences>plugins>general>time restore & autoplay > CHECK "select a random file to play on startup"


sorry, Im not sure how you would randomize the playlist on startup. anyone else?
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2004, 07:32   #3
John Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks. That's a start. I'm suprised if it hasn't been addressed before since I believe it would solve people's shuffle woes. It would fix mine anyway. Just randomize on load and forget shuffle.
John Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2004, 12:14   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
Im not sure how you would randomize the playlist on startup. anyone else?
just get a plugin which will send the randomise command, quite simply really

John: i'll add that option to the plugin (hopefully tonight) since it fits in with what it does

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2004, 13:24   #5
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
i knew you could do it, but im not just gonna come out here and say, oh yeah...DrO could make that plugin


i knew u'd eventually see this thread.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2004, 18:22   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
i knew u'd eventually see this thread.
i see most threads, just i don't reply to all since i'd never get anything else done

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2004, 19:32   #7
John Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Thanks but..

Hey thanks..that's what I call 'Service'.

However, is it possible to randomize on playlist load instead of just Winamp load? I am using task scheduler to load certain playlists at certain times. This plugin works if Winamp is closed but if Winamp is open the playlist does not randomize. Alternately, is there a command line option to close Winamp so as to reopen with a randomized playlist?

Thanks again.

John
John Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2004, 19:47   #8
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Wow. That's pushing it.
But it's up to DrO really, if he feels so inclined.

@ Darren...

Maybe update http://daz.ne1.net/timerestore.html to show the latest version - v1.85? The page is also gonna need a new screenshot, since the interface has changed.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2004, 20:47   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
John: i won't add it into that plugin since it sort of goes against what i want it to do but if i can i'll try to make something that will cause winamp to randomise on playlist load.

Quote:
is there a command line option to close Winamp so as to reopen with a randomized playlist?
nope, there really isn't that much which you can do tho... just had a thought, i've got a small app which will close winamp and if you're using the task scheduler, you could make a .bat file and call the 'closewinamp' app and then run winamp which would be a quick work around

Nunzio390: yeah, need to update it (trying to transfer all my old apps/files to the new machine so will do that once i've got things sorted in the next few hours)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2004, 22:02   #10
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Okay... cool
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2004, 14:03   #11
John Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Super! Can you email it to me?

Also, I was thinking of using a macro utility to send hotkey commands to Winamp. Any suggestions?
John Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2004, 16:17   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by John Baker
Super! Can you email it to me?
will do once i finish work today (only got my email back up late last night)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump