Old 18th December 2003, 12:07   #41
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Oh, heh

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 17:32   #42
cchian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 73
I tried to add an Alias to c:\idapi\idapi.cfg (16-bit DBE), but idapi.cfg was not modified. I guess old 16-bit BDE is not supported.
cchian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2003, 23:03   #43
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Are you able to add an alias to that file using delphi or some other programming language. If so could you post a sample of code and I'll try to add that functionality to the plugin.

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2003, 01:59   #44
cchian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 73
Thanks for the offer. The 16-bit BDE Re-distributable can be downloaded from this page (see bottom of page):
http://info.borland.com/devsupport/bde/oldver.html

We use BDE 2.51 although 2.52 is more current. The info gets saved in c:\idapi\idapi.cfg. Everytime you make a change, a backup copy of the idapi.cfg file is created. The installer also adds the following lines in win.ini inside the Windows directory:

[IDAPI]
DLLPATH=C:\IDAPI
CONFIGFILE01=C:\IDAPI\IDAPI.CFG
[Borland Language Drivers]
LDPath=C:\IDAPI\LANGDRV

I wouldn't spend too much on this as probably not that many people uses it. We only use this internally in very few PC's and the developers tell me to do it manually because of the risk of corrupting idapi.cfg which could also break other programs that may use it.

Carlos
cchian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 22:06   #45
franbenz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to franbenz
I'm trying to use the BDEAlias plugin to add a BDE alias for a remote interbase database(192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb)
I've used this line to do it(and many variations of the parameters):

BDEAlias::AddAlias 'TAPE' '/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb' 'INTRBASE' "SERVER NAME:192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb;USER NAME:test;SQLQRYMODE:SERVER;SQLPASSTHRU MODE:SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"

The example(found here: http://nsis.sourceforge.net/archive/...instances=0,32) didn't seem to work either:
BDEAlias::AddAlias 'NSIS' 'V:\' 'PARADOX'

Is there any documentation for BDEAlias::AddAlias? or even the source code?

Thanks.
franbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2004, 22:59   #46
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Have you tried this code: BDEAlias::AddAlias 'TAPE' '/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb' 'INTRBASE' 'SERVER NAME:"192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";USER NAME:"test";SQLQRYMODE:"SERVER";SQLPASSTHRU MODE:"SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"'

Does it produce any errors?

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 12:02   #47
franbenz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to franbenz
I've tried
BDEAlias::AddAlias 'TAPE' '/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb' 'INTRBASE' 'SERVER NAME:"192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";USER NAME:"test";SQLQRYMODE:"SERVER";SQLPASSTHRU MODE:"SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"'
pop $9
MessageBox MB_OK $9

and in the messagebox appears this string:
DATABASE NAME:"/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";SERVER NAME:"192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";USER NAME:"test";SQLQRYMODE:"SERVER";SQLPASSTHRU MODE:"SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"

but the file idapi32.cfg(where I think the aliases are saved) is not modified. The BDEAdmin doesn't show any new alias after the installation.

No error is produced during the installation. Is there a way I can check for errors?
franbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 12:24   #48
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Are you sure that you have the latest version of the BDE Alias plugin, previous versions did not support extra parameters which is what your version appears to do.

You should also try the dumpstate plugin to help diagnose the problem. CAll it before the call to the plugin and again after the message box command and if the stack is not the same then there is something wrong with the call to the plugin, e.g. wrong version.

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 12:59   #49
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Try downloading again, there was a problem which caused an old version to be delivered instead of the new one. Sorry.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 13:29   #50
franbenz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to franbenz
I'm using BDEAlias-0.3(date: December 18, 2003).
The dumpstate plugin prints(before AddAlias):
$0:
$1:
$2:
$3:
$4:
$5:
$6:
$7:
$8:
$9:
$R0: Linux
$R1: 192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb
$R2:
$R3:
$R4:
$R5:
$R6:
$R7:
$R8:
$R9:
$CMDLINE: "C:\Archivos de programa\NSIS\Copia de Examples\ConfiguradorTape.exe"
$INSTDIR:
$OUTDIR:
$EXEDIR: C:\Archivos de programa\NSIS\Copia de Examples
$LANGUAGE: 1033

after AddAlias:

$0:
$1:
$2:
$3:
$4:
$5:
$6:
$7:
$8:
$9: DATABASE NAME:"/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";SERVER NAME:"192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";USER NAME:"test";SQLQRYMODE:"SERVER";SQLPASSTHRU MODE:"SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"
$R0: Linux
$R1: 192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb
$R2:
$R3:
$R4:
$R5:
$R6:
$R7:
$R8:
$R9:
$CMDLINE: "C:\Archivos de programa\NSIS\Copia de Examples\ConfiguradorTape.exe"
$INSTDIR:
$OUTDIR:
$EXEDIR: C:\Archivos de programa\NSIS\Copia de Examples
$LANGUAGE: 1033

Which BDE version do you use?

Francisco.
franbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 21:13   #51
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Yes, version 0.3 is the right version. Just in case could you download it again as kichik said.

With the results from dumpstate, was there a change in the bottom windows, the nsis stack?

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 21:38   #52
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Two things, firstly I have found the problem and I don't think its related to the plugin rather its a fault with nsis? This code works:
code:
push 'NSIS'
push 'V:'
push 'PARADOX'
BDEAlias::AddAlias
pop $9
MessageBox MB_OK $9

where as this code does not:
code:
BDEAlias::AddAlias 'NSIS' 'V:' 'PARADOX'
pop $9
MessageBox MB_OK $9

Secondly I'm attaching a new build of the plugin as I had posted the version I used for debugging, it was not pushing 'OK' on sucsess but reather the paramater list.

Vytautas
Attached Files
File Type: zip bdealias-0.3.zip (35.3 KB, 316 views)
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 21:43   #53
franbenz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to franbenz
Is this the correct url?
http://www.qedsystems.com.au/~vytaut...EAlias-0.3.zip
I've used it again and didn't work.

The stack panel appears empty before and after calling the plugin

Francisco.
franbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 21:51   #54
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Yes that the right link, also you can use the files posted above and I'm sure kichik or some other admin will update the archive download page with it soon.

Have you tried the first method shown in my previous post?

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2004, 22:02   #55
eccles
NSIS Dev
 
eccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 193
No, this is not a fault in NSIS.
code:
mydll::function A B C
is the same as
code:
Push C
Push B
Push A
mydll::function

The parameters are pushed right-to-left so the first parameter popped by the DLL is the first parameter.

You can lead a man to knowledge, but you can't make him think!
eccles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 01:02   #56
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
New Version of BDEAlias Plugin.

No longer nessesary to specify the arguments in a specific order.

Please note that now you have to specify a special flag infromt of all arguments. *A* before alias, *D* before driver, *P* before path, *O* before any other parameters.

Example:

BDEAlias::AddAlias '*D*INTRBASE' '*A* TAPE' '*P*/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb' '*O*SERVER NAME:"192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb";USER NAME:"test";SQLQRYMODE:"SERVER";SQLPASSTHRU MODE:"SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"'

Also added to this release are debug versions of the plugin functions which display the data as it is poped into the plugin.

Vytautas

PS: I will update my archive page later today.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bdealias-0.4.zip (36.4 KB, 273 views)
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 12:53   #57
franbenz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to franbenz
Sorry for not posting this before. This is how it finally worked with the bdealias.dll version 0.3(the one that outputs the correct message, not the parameters):

push "USER NAME:test;SQLQRYMODE:SERVER;SQLPASSTHRU MODE:SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"
push 'ALIAS1'
push "192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb"
push 'INTRBASE'
BDEAlias::AddAlias

or

BDEAlias::AddAlias 'INTRBASE' "192.168.16.250:/opt/interbase/data/tape.gdb" 'ALIAS2' "USER NAME:test;SQLQRYMODE:SERVER;SQLPASSTHRU MODE:SHARED NOAUTOCOMMIT"

The only thing I needed was to know the correct order of the parameters.

Thanks to Vytautas(for the plugin) and eccles(for the pushing-to-the-stack comment).

BTW: how do you get that very cool 'Senior member' status?

Francisco.
franbenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2004, 13:48   #58
Vytautas
Major Dude
 
Vytautas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via ICQ to Vytautas
Thanks, now you can use the updated version with the prefixes and you can push the info in any order.

The senior member status is achieved when you post over 100 posts, if I remember right.

Vytautas
Vytautas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2004, 13:33   #59
guest123
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
bde installation

Hi,
this is my way how to install bde using bdeinst.dll:

File "D:\1\BdeInst.dll"
WriteRegStr HKLM "Software\Borland\Database Engine" "DLLPATH" "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Borland Shared\BDE"
ExecWait '"$SYSDIR\regsvr32.exe" "$INSTDIR\BdeInst.dll"'
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2004, 13:39   #60
guest123
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
er

sorry, it should goes here: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=141472
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2008, 11:50   #61
laszlo.grad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Budpest, Hungary
Posts: 1
uninstall bde

Hi,

Does anyone has a script that uninstalls BDE?

Greets,
Laszlo
laszlo.grad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump