Old 21st July 2006, 19:04   #1
meursault
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Question Getting NSIS Error

Hello,

I bought a new laptop yesterday. But when I try to install something new, I get a pop-up message like this :

NSIS Error
Error Launching Installer

Then I tried to install a new version of Microsoft Installer, but this time i got this:

Extraction Failed
The system cannot find the path specified.

And when I tried to install WinRAR, a message said that the exe file couldn't opened.

But the interesting thing is that I installed MSN Messenger without any problem.

I can't even install any version of the NSIS just because of the same problem.

So what do you say?

Thank you very much.
meursault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2006, 21:34   #2
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Sounds like your temp folder could be missing?
What happens if you put %TEMP% into Windows Explorer.

-Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2006, 21:50   #3
meursault
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Just an empty folder named Temp is getting opened.
meursault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2006, 23:47   #4
meursault
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
In addition, I discovered that when I run the setup files in Windows/Temp folder they are working.
meursault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2006, 07:10   #5
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
Try stopping any running anti-virus/anti-spyware/anti-* software running in the background.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 17:16   #6
ilgintr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
NSIS Error

i have exactly the same problem i stopped running anti-virus/anti-spyware but my problem didnt resolve.
what can i do?
ilgintr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 17:25   #7
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
See Why do I get NSIS Error from the FAQ. If you get a CRC error, the answer is there. If you get "Error Launching Installer", the answer is probably there as well, but the problem is different. If you get "Error Launching Installer", then the installer can't read itself.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2007, 13:40   #8
mrkimir
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Had the same problem,

discovered that there was a unicode letter (č) in the path. Putting the file somewhere else where no unicode characters are in the path solved the problem.

Best regards
mrkimir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2007, 22:47   #9
benwah1983
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
My 2 cents

I don't know if this might help others or not but here are my 2 cents.

I am using Chinese Windows, I downloaded Googletalk installer and it was not launching because the default language for non-unicode applications in Windows was set to Chinese, so I changed it to English, rebooted the computer and we
when launching Google talk installer after that, I was getting:

"NSIS error", "Error launching installer"

The problem as stated above was that the installer could not recognized the path which contained Chinese characters. Moving the installer to a location where the path did not contained Chinese characters fixed this. (C:\ in my case).

-Ben
benwah1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2008, 09:38   #10
Wizou
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 304
I just reproduced this problem with NSIS 2.34
Just use a character that is not mapped in the current codepage for non-Unicode apps configured for your system

On my French Windows, i just added an arabic character to the filename of the installer executable, and I get the "Error launching installer"

Is there an open bug about this ? or is there no solution ? (until the Unicode-NSIS initiative comes out)
Wizou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2008, 19:16   #11
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
There is no solution but Unicode.

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2008, 08:06   #12
Wizou
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 304
alright.. then maybe a more adequate error message could be displayed...
something like:
"Error launching installer. Make sure you only use basic characters in the file name and path"

(I tried to find a message everybody would understand, plus I don't think this error would popup for other cases like access denied or such, as the user was able to launch the process, it must have read access to it)
Wizou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump