Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th April 2013, 17:26   #201
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
DrO - are you stalking me? Maybe you have my Winamp bugged? That is the second waffly reply I typed and you get in your post before me...

I need beer. Need to sharpen up the psychic responses
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 17:28   #202
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
just a coincidence that's all, plus i'm typing less nowadays so i can get in first
DrO is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 17:35   #203
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
just a coincidence that's all, plus i'm typing less nowadays so i can get in first
I did notice the cheating by not using capitals and punctuation

Trouble is, my motto has always been "Why use one word when ten thousand will do just as well." Or did I get that quote wrong....

Right... now back to Beating the Beta to Batter it Betterer.
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 17:49   #204
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batter Pudding View Post
if someone like official would be kind enough to say which email address to post the reports to.... Maybe add it to the first post in this thread?
good idea, although maybe it was mentioned somewhere?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now  
Old 11th April 2013, 18:07   #205
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
good idea, although maybe it was mentioned somewhere?
All report emails should go to "I-Badly-Broke-The-Brilliant-Beta@winamp.com"... or maybe the real email address has been mentioned... I haven't had that type of crash yet so don't know what pops up on screen. Maybe the email address is on the Error Dialog? Or could be as that should be an easy add.

Beer beckons or I'd be searching the beta threads for it...
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 23:21   #206
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
It's bug@

But please don't advertise it to the sp@mbots

(might delete this post in a few minutes, lol)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 11th April 2013, 23:30   #207
Kado
Member
 
Kado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 99
hello!

I was trying beta 4 and noticed that is not possible to reorder tracks in a playlist on a portable device (iPod Nano 4th gen), stable winamp release allows this (v5.6.3).

Can anyone confirm?

Cheers!

Kado is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 01:30   #208
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Hi Egg.

(might delete this post in a few minutes, lol)

In which case you may want to look at this post too :

http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...58&postcount=2

(although it's been sitting there for 3 weeks now)

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 04:47   #209
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hello,

I just noticed something odd with the General Preferences Global Hotkeys option. I normally leave this and the 'default multimedia key support' option disabled (my keyboard's multimedia keys work fine controlling Winamp without this support).

I enabled it while trying to troubleshoot another user's strange problem with Windows 7 Volume Mixer (thread link below) and I'm not able to disable it within the GP dialog.

I can clear the option's checkbox, but when I switch to any other GP section and switch back to the Global Hotkeys section, it is enabled again. The only way I can get the Global Hotkeys option to stay disabled is to shutdown Winamp and edit the winamp.ini file.

Can anyone else duplicate this?



http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=359152

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 05:04   #210
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hi ujay.
Nah, it's ok. Was just my poor attempt at humour...

@Aminifu
Yes, I can reproduce the Hotkeys->Enabled problem.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 06:00   #211
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
the latest Beta crashes very often in Windows 8:
Attached Files
File Type: txt crash.txt (4.9 KB, 425 views)


Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 10:21   #212
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
@Aminifu
Yes, I can reproduce the Hotkeys->Enabled problem.
likewise, will try to find time today to fix it.
[edit] -> done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre.Ziegler View Post
the latest Beta crashes very often in Windows 8:
you're using an older build than the current one (you're using 3363 whereas current is 3364) though i'd prefer a set of the crash report files than what you've provided (against 3364 or a newer build if that comes out before you reply) as that makes it easier to debug.
DrO is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 11:38   #213
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
the latest Build also crashes.

Where can I upload crash the dumps?
Attached Files
File Type: txt WinAmp_crash.txt (21.7 KB, 381 views)


Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 11:46   #214
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you can attach the crash report.zip to a forum post. though that new one is indicating you're hitting an issue in ml_disc.dll which is known to be funky irrespective of the OS.

try removing it from your plug-ins folder and seeing if that improves things for you.

guess this means i need to have even less sleep to find the time to finish off the possible crash fix i had been working on for ml_disc.dll.
DrO is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 12:06   #215
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
I can't find a report.zip


Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 14:10   #216
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre.Ziegler View Post
I can't find a report.zip
It will only exist if Winamp's error reporter kicked in.
In some cases, the crash can be more severe and you'll just get the Windows error dialog instead.
If it was created, it will be in the %appdata%\winamp folder, or wherever is specified in: WInamp > Prefs > Error Feedback.

Please could you also let us know the exact steps to reproduce the crash.
What are you doing at the time? Are you trying to rip an audio CD?
If no, then which Media Library view is active?
Please provide as much details as possible.
Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 14:18   #217
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
I did nothing special. I opened Winamp and tried to listed to a web radio. After a few second Winamp crashed.

I created some dumps with WER service from Windows and uploaded them. I already send DrO a link. Do you also wan the link?


Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 14:26   #218
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've now got it though i'm not sure i'm going to be able to look through it properly today. have you tried the option of removing the ml_disc.dll ?
DrO is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 15:03   #219
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
yes, removing the DLL fixed it. I've listened now for 30 minutes and had no issues.


Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 12th April 2013, 19:41   #220
Andre.Ziegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
now I got a new crash while clicking on Open File.

this time I see string operation failures:

code:

ChildEBP RetAddr
0602e2bc 776cd6a8 KERNELBASE!MinSortChangeCase+0xb9
0602e2f4 776cd5f0 KERNELBASE!SortChangeCase+0xce
0602e328 776d4f68 KERNELBASE!LCMapStringEx+0x1b2
0602e364 00430a66 KERNELBASE!CharUpperBuffW+0x2b
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
0602e79c 00412c23 winamp+0x30a66
0602ed40 0046aa5f winamp+0x12c23
06035158 7722bd39 winamp+0x6aa5f
06035174 0ca8efa4 user32!CallWindowProcW+0x1c
06035258 772277d8 ml_playlists_ca80000!winampGetMediaLibraryPlugin+0xc618
06035284 772278cb user32!InternalCallWinProc+0x23
06035300 7722bd11 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x100
0603533c 7787fdd4 user32!CallWindowProcAorW+0xb1
060353e8 77227933 ntdll!RtlDeactivateActivationContextUnsafeFast+0x263
06035418 7722bd11 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x14f
06035450 7722bd39 user32!CallWindowProcAorW+0xb1
0603546c 7787fdd4 user32!CallWindowProcW+0x1c
06035518 77227933 ntdll!RtlDeactivateActivationContextUnsafeFast+0x263
06035548 7722bd11 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x14f
06035580 7722bd39 user32!CallWindowProcAorW+0xb1
0603559c 0ce32177 user32!CallWindowProcW+0x1c
06035808 772277d8 ml_history_ce30000!winampGetMediaLibraryPlugin+0xa44
06035834 772278cb user32!InternalCallWinProc+0x23
060358b0 7722bd11 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x100
060358ec 7787fdd4 user32!CallWindowProcAorW+0xb1
06035998 77227933 ntdll!RtlDeactivateActivationContextUnsafeFast+0x263
060359c8 7722bd11 user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x14f
06035a00 7722bd39 user32!CallWindowProcAorW+0xb1
06035a1c 0cea2076 user32!CallWindowProcW+0x1c
060365d8 772277d8 gen_tray_cea0000+0x2076
0603660c 772276f5 user32!InternalCallWinProc+0x23
06036614 77227933 user32!_EndUserApiHook+0xb
06036680 77227b6f user32!UserCallWinProcCheckWow+0x14f
772290fe 47ff33ff user32!DispatchClientMessage+0x15d



Andre.Ziegler is offline  
Old 13th April 2013, 08:32   #221
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Winamp stops Windows 8 from shutting down if its left unclosed before shut down.
Not sure if its just me.

Or could it be due to the MAIKO WASAPI plugin?
Maybe I should try it out with safe mode later when I want to shut down, if I remember :P

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 13th April 2013, 14:17   #222
Raj_09
Member
 
Raj_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by iron2000 View Post
Winamp stops Windows 8 from shutting down if its left unclosed before shut down.
Not sure if its just me.

Or could it be due to the MAIKO WASAPI plugin?
Maybe I should try it out with safe mode later when I want to shut down, if I remember :P
Hi iron2000,

I am also using Winamp beta with maiko wasapi(version 0.53 test 04) on Windows 8 64 bit and have not experienced slow shutdown with it. I did some modifications on the settings of Maiko wasapi and increased the buffer to 500 ms.

Try safe mode and disabling the other plugins. It always helps to make a clean install.
Raj_09 is offline  
Old 13th April 2013, 15:03   #223
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
@iron2000 and Raj_09

I'm using version 0.53 test 02 of Maiko because the UI for the matrix and balance screens are screwed up with test 04 on my system. How do they look (work) on yours?

The Maiko dev has not been heard from in over 3 months. Maybe test 04 is the end of the line. I truely hope not, this is the best output plug-in I've ever used with Winamp.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 13th April 2013, 18:29   #224
ravermeister
Senior Member
 
ravermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne
Posts: 198
Send a message via ICQ to ravermeister
@Amnifu this is exactly what I wanted to say.
I love the Maiko plugin, and have never had a better output plugin.
I hope the project isn't dead, I visit his site dayly with the hope to see s.th new

lastfm.rimkus.it - last.fm Youtube Radio (buy me)
www.rimkus.it - Contact Music & More
ravermeister is offline  
Old 13th April 2013, 22:29   #225
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
If anyone does manage to contact the Maiko Wasapi Output plugin author,
please bring this item from the Winamp 5.7 Beta 2, build 3323 to 3364 changelog to their attention:

- Added notification export for output plugins so they can remove ui hooks when no longer active
(will benefit e.g. the 3rd-party out_maiko wasapi plugin, if updated to use it)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 05:01   #226
Raj_09
Member
 
Raj_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 84
@Aminifu
The matrix and balance screens are also messed up on my system. But I don't use them that much as I mostly use headphones.

@Ravermeister, Aminifu, DJ Egg

I also hope the project is not dead. Maiko wasapi is one of the best output plugins I have used on Winamp too. I sent him an email on the changes in Winamp beta and hopefully we can hear from him. I visit his site daily too to check on the new versions of the plugins.
Raj_09 is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 09:46   #227
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
@Aminifu
Yup, all the the Maiko pref pages have a certain degree of screwed UI.
Mixer and Balance fared worst.

About my issue back in post 221, problem should be Maiko as the shut down proceeds when Winamp is in safe mode.

Thanx
iron2000 is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 11:58   #228
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Not sure exactly what you guys are talking about, but sounds like you mean when you go to shut down your computer, and Winamp is still running, the maiko plugin stops your computer from shutting down.
I gave the plugin a shot yesterday, and my computer shut down no problem.
Even tried sleep and worked.
Only problem I found with the Maiko plugin, is that my ultrabook is hooked up to my TV threw HDMI, and it doesn't like it too much when you just unhook the plug with Winamp playing. Winamp stops playing and is hard to get back going again. Wheras normally, unplugging HDMI just switches to laptops speakers instantly.
And I did notice all the glitches in the ui also.
net-cruizer is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 12:22   #229
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by net-cruizer View Post
Only problem I found with the Maiko plugin, is that my ultrabook is hooked up to my TV threw HDMI, and it doesn't like it too much when you just unhook the plug with Winamp playing. Winamp stops playing and is hard to get back going again. Wheras normally, unplugging HDMI just switches to laptops speakers instantly.
And I did notice all the glitches in the ui also.
Interesting you say that... it is not just the Maiko bit that is fussy when HDMI is cut. It is Winamp in general.

Fresh, default install of Winamp. No 3rd party plugins (not even Essentials Pack). Brand new install of Win7 plus service packs. No other programs yet.

Playing Winamp last night from that PC, via HDMI, connected to AV Amp. AV Amp connects to big screen TV.

Milkdrop running full screen. After three hours the TV Screen fell asleep and powered off when I wasn't looking. Audio kept playing (after a small pause). I jumped up and turned screen back on.

Winamp had kept playing through the AV Amp, but as screen had fallen asleep, the OS had seen it "disconnect". So once I had woken everything back up, Winamp came with Milkdrop windowed instead of full screen.

Now I wasn't fully watching at this point, but I think the visualisations had stopped. Just black (or maybe they were playing in the window...). While the music kept running. Which meant that after 15mins the PC fell asleep this time. (Full screen Milkdrop stops the PC falling asleep, Windowed it sleeps according to OS rules)

And now the madness starts... I go and wake the PC back up. And I am now greeted with a locked Winamp. Attempts to Double Click and Full Screen milkdrop caused the Windows "Not Responding" message. I then had a few hassles in killing everything to restart it, but eventually recovered it.


tl:dr - Winamp connected via an Amp to big screen. Screen falls asleep due to the screen's power saving feature (not Windows). Winamp (or milkdrop) gets confused when it comes back. Not responding dialog appears.


I'll see if I can find a way of narrowing down the above. I get a feeling that as my screen powered down, it was like you pulling your HDMI lead out. I'm not sure how far the "hardware environment change" messages are getting through the system. When it happened to me last night I just blamed it on the Direct X side of Milkdrop getting in a flap due to the unexpected power off of the screen.
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 12:30   #230
ravermeister
Senior Member
 
ravermeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cologne
Posts: 198
Send a message via ICQ to ravermeister
I still use the stable version 0.53, and the ui there is "usable" means nothing is cutted off.
I use it, because I've got some (broken) mp3's which don't play in the test.02 and test.04 versions. I created a post about this in his forum: maiko problem

if someone like to have version 0.53 here it is: click

I also have older Versions here...



P.S Sorry was editing my post while another post arrived

lastfm.rimkus.it - last.fm Youtube Radio (buy me)
www.rimkus.it - Contact Music & More
ravermeister is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 13:41   #231
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Yeah I've experienced the screen turning off part too.
I've been a long time user of Winamp, but had been using WMP for quite some time, up until I heard about this Winamp Beta coming out, so I was curious and decided to go back to Winamp.
Well WMP has the option in it's preferences to not have the screen turn off as long as it's running, which of course with me listning to music 24/7, my TV never turns off. So once I switched to Winamp, I too would be listening to music, Milkdrop running full screen, then nothing, after so many hours. My amp/speaker are hooked to my TV using optical, so when the TV goes off, so does my sound. But when the TV goes on, the soundbar turns on automaticly. But Ive never had any problems resuming with Winamp and Milkdrop. I ended up just disabling the TV from ever turning off.
As for unplugging HDMI cable, Winamp is fine for me, just starts playing threw my Ultrabooks speakers, no probs there, just the same as when I used WMP. It's important to me that way, cuz at any time, I may just up and go, and I just unplug, and I'd prefer things to just keep working, lol.
net-cruizer is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 15:52   #232
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by net-cruizer View Post
Not sure exactly what you guys are talking about, but sounds like you mean when you go to shut down your computer, and Winamp is still running, the maiko plugin stops your computer from shutting down.
I gave the plugin a shot yesterday, and my computer shut down no problem.
Even tried sleep and worked.
Just to be clear, iron2000 and Raj_09 are running Windows 8. Are you also?

Also, in post #228 you said unhooking the HDMI cable caused a problem, then in post #231 you said it didn't.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 15:58   #233
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Sorry. Wasn't clear enough there. When Milkdrop is running in full screen it stops all the power saving of Windows. The PC is kept fully alive - screen, hard disks, audio, the lot. Perfect. (I have had it running all day like this.)

When Milkdrop is running in a window, then the PC starts to fall asleep according to the rules of the OS. Screen drops out first, then the whole machine will go into sleep mode.

What happened to me last night was 100% out of the control of Winamp. My screen is a TV. A Panasonic Plasma (TX-P50ST50B). And these TV Sets have a power saving feature where it turns off the TV set after 3 hours. (I assume in case you fall asleep on the sofa). Nothing to do with Windows. Not the normal OS controlled monitor sleep commands. Winamp could not control that in any way.

In fact, the first Winamp would have known about it would have been a hardware plug and play message to say that someone had removed the monitor.

In this setup, the Win7 PC is connected via HDMI to the AV Amp. And then an HDMI lead runs from AV Amp to TV set. When the Panasonic Power Saving kicked in and turned off the TV set, the amp carried on playing the audio from Winamp.

I am getting a different reaction to your laptop as this PC has only the one screen and speakers set - which is connected via HDMI.
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 16:12   #234
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batter Pudding View Post
I am getting a different reaction to your laptop as this PC has only the one screen and speakers set - which is connected via HDMI.
That comment is also not clear (different reaction?).

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 16:36   #235
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
That comment is also not clear (different reaction?).
Different issue to the Maiko one. And this is possible an issue which pre-dates the beta. It has only occurred for me due to a combination of hardware.

This PC is running on one screen, connected via HDMI through an AV Amp.

The reason I posted the comment about it locking up is because net-cruizer was talking about having his laptop connected via HDMI to a secondary screen. And noted what happened when he pulled the HDMI cable and how he saw troubles. I just wanted to post my comments to note I got troubles from plain vanilla Winamp when doing something similar with yanking HDMI cables out.

NOT anything directly Maiko related. More me trying to point out that net-cruizer's issue could be the same as what I saw last night without Maiko installed. (Instead I think I just confused everyone)
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 16:46   #236
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batter Pudding View Post
NOT anything directly Maiko related. More me trying to point out that net-cruizer's issue could be the same as what I saw last night without Maiko installed. (Instead I think I just confused everyone)
But net-cruizer contradicted himself, first he said pulling the cable caused a problem, then he said it didn't. I'm confused.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 16:51   #237
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
But net-cruizer contradicted himself, first he said pulling the cable caused a problem, then he said it didn't. I'm confused.
Hahah... I confused everyone with too many words. net-cruzier confused people with too few.

Ignore me for now. I'll be back with a refined error report another day. This one was only reported today to stop net-cruzier thinking his crash of Maiko related as I doubt it was.
Batter Pudding is offline  
Old 14th April 2013, 17:00   #238
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
I said with the Maiko plugin installed, if I pull out my HDMI cable, Winamp stops playing and I have a hard time getting it to play again. I get a DirectX Output Error box.
Whereas normally, with any player, when you pull out an HDMI cable, the sound automatically starts playing out the laptop speakers.
Also I stated I didn't experience the problems people were originally talking about. When I shut down my computer with Winamp running, and the Maiko plugin being used, my computer shut down fine. Even when I pushed the power button and selected SLEEP, for instantOn, it shut down fine, and started fine.

Oh, I see where the contradiction comes from. Another post.
I guess I forgot to mention that I uninstalled that Maiko plugin befor the reply I made about not having problems with unplugging the HDMI cable.
Like I said in this post, I only had the problem when I had the Maiko plugin running.
I originally decided to try the plugin cuz someone said it was really good.
After installing the plugin, selecting it as the output, Winamp didn't play, so I went back to the plugin's preferences, noticed the part about Buffer, and remembered someone mentioning putting a value of 500 there, so I did, then Winamp played fine.
When I unplugged my HDMI cable later on, and Winamp stopped playing, in order to get it to play again, I had to go back to the Maiko preferences and enter the 500 value for buffer cuz it had set it self back to 0.
net-cruizer is offline  
Old 15th April 2013, 02:50   #239
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
If Winamp is not responding to an OS message to shutdown, in a timely manner, then that is a problem. I have not seen that with Windows 7.

It should also be noted that Maiko has a feature that can cause Winamp to become non-responsive for several seconds (depending on hardware).

If the "finest samplerate converter" is enabled and the encoded sample rate changes between consecutive songs being played, then Maiko has to make an internal adjustment.

The option in Maiko says the delay can be up to 12 seconds. On my system it can take up to 70 seconds. Monitoring Winamp with the Windows Task Manager during this delay, I see Winamp listed as non-responsive.

There are no pop-up messages indicating this unless I try to get Winamp to do something else during this delay. Then I can either shutdown Winamp or wait for it to become responsive again. If I select wait, Maiko finishes whatever it is doing and Winamp starts working as normal (including acting on whatever it was I told it to do). If I select shutdown, then Winamp is forced closed and I lose whatever the latest state of things were (just like in a crash).

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 15th April 2013, 15:12   #240
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by net-cruizer View Post
Also I stated I didn't experience the problems people were originally talking about. When I shut down my computer with Winamp running, and the Maiko plugin being used, my computer shut down fine. Even when I pushed the power button and selected SLEEP, for instantOn, it shut down fine, and started fine.
Are you using Windows 7 or 8?

In any case, it is probably safer to shutdown Winamp before shutting down the computer (power shutdown, not sleep or hibernation), especially if delayed writes are enabled to boost drive performance. This ensures time for data to be written to the hard drive when Winamp exits. At least 5 official files are updated and additional files are updated depending on the 3rd party plug-ins installed.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump