Old 13th March 2010, 22:15   #1
stupidcrap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
folder dragging...............

I know this is simple and has got me frustrated. I somehow disabled Winamp as my default player(vista.) I backed up my computer 2 days to reset my settings and now, Winamp has been re-associated as my player but won't allow me to drag entire folders of music into the playlist. This is generally how I put a list together, either dragging single mp3's or folders from a single music folder I've established. I feel dumb but am at a boiling point about it. It's how it always worked before.
stupidcrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 15:45   #2
ZeroZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 13
I experience the same, no more music dragging from Windows Explorer into the Winamp playlist in 5.57 possible. This sucks!! Where can I download 5.56.

I use Windows 7 64bit.
ZeroZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 15:48   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it sounds like Explorer and Winamp are runing at different access levels (as you've mentioned Windows 7 then it sounds likely) and due to that there's often a block (by the OS on such things). Best to check that Winamp isn't being run under any elevated privilege (is normally the case if used after an install or via the WinampAgent also from just after an install).

Close Winamp.
Right-click winamp icon or winamp.exe -> Properties -> Compatibility tab:
Uncheck everything, including 'Run as admin'.
Reopen Winamp.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 16:10   #4
ZeroZero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
Close Winamp.
Right-click winamp icon or winamp.exe -> Properties -> Compatibility tab:
Uncheck everything, including 'Run as admin'.
Reopen Winamp.
-daz
Thx, it was all set ok but still no dragging possible. However rebooting the PC helped!
ZeroZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 16:28   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it has been talked about in trying to get Winamp/WinampAgent to run as a normal user once the setup process has completed but i don't know if that has gotten any further than being talked about.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump