Old 24th August 2003, 02:43   #41
LAZY-I
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 3
IMHO AVS doesn't look very good full screen and the frame rate sucks
LAZY-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 11:18   #42
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Yes AVS sucks at Vj:ing. It's more for personal enjoyment

Why it sucks for Vj:ing?

1) It crashes often (i guess it would be pretty humiliating if the screen suddenly disappears...)

2) It's slow!

3) Slow

4) Did i mention slowness?

5) The beat detection blows and is unable to detect the beat from a live feed (if i remember right, avs calculates the beats and then makes a "intelligent" guess for the bpm of the whole song and since live feed is basicly a endless song, you know what that means...).

6) Most presets don't work in highres, because they weren't designed for highres'es (doh )

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 11:50   #43
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
1. it nearly never crashed, even when running for hours!

2. + 3. + 4. its ok when using lowres + overlay to output

5. therefore we have a readapt button (and remote readapting in hotlist 2.3)
you could also turn to standard (no prediction)

6. meh...


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 12:00   #44
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
1) clearly you don't run the ever-so-cool and complex presets of UnConeD, Jheriko, Skupers, Zevensoft... You're, or should i say your crowd is missing out a lot...

2) Might look better with a projector since you gain some "extra smoothness" to the image.

5) Who uses that?

6) blaah...

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2003, 20:35   #45
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
some mud throwing in my Vj topic

1. Nearly never is not good enough

2. I use a P3-m 866mhz with a ATi Mobility m6 16MB DDR for the visuals @800x600 which I output to my videomixer at s-video (768x576@25fps) MD reaches 40-60fps woich is overkill

5. I use beat detection!

6. see 2

but I'm in the process of learning Flash for my real VJ app so I think I won't have time to even look at AVS and MD is more than sufficient for what I use it for.

I just recieved a a nice email with the message that I won a VJ contest for a set in the "Waakzaamheid" The Netherlands on a nice hardhouse event www.in2beats.com
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 00:58   #46
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
Quote:
Originally posted by Morninglight

2. I use a P3-m 866mhz with a ATi Mobility m6 16MB DDR for the visuals @800x600 which I output to my videomixer at s-video (768x576@25fps) MD reaches 40-60fps woich is overkill
[/url]
Yeah always above 40-60fps with text and sprites?! as well ??! with a 1024x1024 texture size and maximum mesh on?? The horrible matrox 16MB G450 I am using at the moment as not at my machine runs like a pig. My 128mb G4200 runs some of the more complicated ones and some transitions at slightly slower speeds with these settings.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 08:22   #47
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Well unlike many... well ALL milkdrop users like milkdrop is because it DOES use the gfx card, but i don't like it because it does use the gfx card

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 10:22   #48
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Although i have to admit that you may do neat things with the new superscopes.

I give a shit wheter a program uses this or that hardware. All that counts is what you could do with it.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2003, 10:27   #49
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Well my gfx card sucks as hell so it does matter AVS probably works faster for me than milkdrop

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2003, 09:13   #50
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
LoL@Tugg's Voodoo I §D Addon Card


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2003, 10:25   #51
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
Quote:
Originally posted by Rovastar
Yeah always above 40-60fps with text and sprites?! as well ??! with a 1024x1024 texture size and maximum mesh on?? The horrible matrox 16MB G450 I am using at the moment as not at my machine runs like a pig. My 128mb G4200 runs some of the more complicated ones and some transitions at slightly slower speeds with these settings.
I never use any sprites or text in MD anymore because I can mix flash/video with my Panasonic videomixer

but, face it... my laptops ATi Mobility Radeon m6 16MB DDR is faster that your PC's G450 16MB (NON-DDR!)
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2003, 10:40   #52
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
True you have a quicker card then the g450 but not quicker than my gf4ti

Don't use text and sprites dear me. That would be find if they didn't have the 'burn' feature but MilKkrop does and that is the key. It is by far the most impressive part about the sprites and text.

No mixer in the world can do that.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2003, 11:33   #53
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
LoL@Tugg's Voodoo I §D Addon Card

Bah, not voodoo...

It's some sucky S3 - Savage 4 card... Overheats when running 3D on top of all the slowness & suckyness

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2003, 16:23   #54
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
My VJ career is ramping up.. I just got a monthly residency at a 1K ppl rave in my hometown and a monthly residency at a club nearby

it's time to start looking abroad
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2003, 07:59   #55
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally posted by Morninglight
My VJ career is ramping up..
Mine too! Just got bookings for 18.11. and 31.12. in Double D - Club!

(i hope that i got my new A64 then and H2.3 is done by the time)


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2003, 13:07   #56
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
Quote:
Originally posted by Magic.X
Mine too! Just got bookings for 18.11. and 31.12. in Double D - Club!

(i hope that i got my new A64 then and H2.3 is done by the time)
nice

a64 and H2.3 what are those?

you have a website where you show your stuff? I still have to get some good pics of my current show, still have old stuff on my own site
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2003, 06:49   #57
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
a64= a 64 bit Athlon Processor
H2.3= Hotlist 2.3 , a tool to view&organize AVS presets in any way you want

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2003, 13:36   #58
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Thanx for decrypting my speech Tug

I actually have 2 Websites, one made for publishing Hotlist (as the plugins section sucks pretty much) the other one for our loacal party crew (german only). I do have few pics up, but most of them are rather old. I already collected them and posted links here some time ago. Just search for the topic.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2003, 00:33   #59
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
do you have a direct link to the gallery?

My first weekend is coming with 2 gigs (friday and sunday).. sunday is the first with 2 beamers in parrallel hope to get that workin goff my Panasonic AVE5 videomixer...

whish me luck
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2003, 13:38   #60
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Good luck!

I posted most of my pictures here:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....light=pictures

Most of them are not very good after all.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2003, 08:00   #61
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
Quote:
Originally posted by Magic.X
Good luck!

I posted most of my pictures here:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....light=pictures

Most of them are not very good after all.
It's very hard to take good pics of the fast moving stuff, you need a very light sensitive camera like the Sony F717 and do some photoshoppin with levels afterwards to get it right.

I'll post some pics of my shows later this week

Got an extra 4 bookings for the coming 2 months and another bookingsagency that interested in me
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2003, 12:15   #62
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Pictures? I want to see some pictures!

I use to make pictures by screenshoting camcorder streams. This results in better light captureing.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2003, 11:53   #63
Morninglight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Send a message via ICQ to Morninglight
www.morninglight.nl -> Vj Pics

I update that regularly with new pics... all pics of last weekends gig were blurry cause there was more light just in front of the DJ with the screen just behind the DJ..
Morninglight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump